We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice but pricey compared to other hotels in area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Nice upgraded suite with Jacuzzi, separate living room apart from bedroom and quite spacious. The ground floor room was a little daunting at first but its OK. This was a stopover for an early morning meeting the next day. Great location as you have swiss chalet across the street , coffee shops, and if you even feel for a movie, its a 2 minute drive from the hotel. Room clean and nice. No noise. Front desk staff was great , no issues at all. I take it the breakfast you can pass it but its free so I wont knock it. Hotel not worth anything over $100 though for area and other hotels close by.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spencertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

I had problems from the start with management and securing a set rate; the customer service is terrible from that aspect. I forgot an item in the room and it disappeared....so the staff that had access to the room didn't put it in lost and found. I then got the runaround from management in trying to track it down......never got it back and they don't care.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrobin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel recently while attending a family get together. The hotel is conveniently located just off of Highway 401 at Brock Street, exit #410.

The room was, on first appearance, spotlessly clean. However, on further inspection we found an obvious stain on the cushion and one arm of the easy chair. Flipping the cushion over, made no difference, as the other side was just as bad.

The front desk staff could be of no assistance as there was “no maintenance staff on weekends” however, we were offered a clean bed sheet to cover the chair. We were offered the option of changing rooms, but since we had already unpacked, the hour was late, and we were ready for bed, we accepted the offer of a bed sheet. This was a help in containing the urine smell.

The rest of the room was spotless, and other than the problem with the easy chair, we enjoyed our stay.

The free continental breakfast the next morning was a reasonable selection of hot & cold food – standard fare of scrambled eggs, waffles, cereals, etc.

Upon check-out, we were offered an unsolicited 25% discount for our “inconvenience” with the easy chair. A very “professional” approach, which the front desk staff should be commended on !

When visiting family in the area again, we will definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RescueTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Excellent affordable and comfortable stop on the 401.
Rooms were big
Beds are comfortable so are the pillows
Breakfast was delicious (eggs,sausage, toast cereal, bagels...)
Free parking
Amazing service, and with a smile, even at 1AM
Plenty of restaurants , within 5km
Great Blue Heron Charity Casino is about 30min drive

The only bad thing is we went during the renovations, and we can still smell the paint fumes, only in the hallway NOT in the room, I was hoping that the renovations were over by the time we got there, but there were still going in on. We stayed there for one night but will definately be back if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

On a drive from Toronto to Cornwall, this was handy, with a choice of eateries across the road and very good hot buffet breakfast included (bacon, sausage, eggs, plus all the continental breakfast delicacies). Being Express, it's no-frills, though it did have an exercise room. The beds were comfortable and as mentioned earlier renovations were recent; there was still a slight smell of paint but that just indicates renovation and newness. Very pleasant, professional staff, unlike the place we stayed in St. Catharines which was owned and operated by their competitor. I'm sticking with the IC brand from now on. We'll likely use it again when we're in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Brutal, upon arrival on Friday at 4pm, all we could hear outside our room was sanding. Yes contractors had removed the industrial wall paper and were sanding the walls. next morning, they started to prime/piant. The fumes were absolutely brutal. no fans, no ventialtion. We finally asked to switch floors. Who does renovations on Fridat night/saturday morning of a long weekend....Never stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradcana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This hotel is a Holiday Inn Exress at the side of the 401 highway in Whitby, Ontario. You get pretty much what you expect of Holiday Inn Express' - a clean hotel, friendly staff but not a great deal of frills.

The location is convenient with several resturants in the plaza across the road and not far from the VIA rail and GO Train stations.

The hotel offers a continental breakfast in the morning with mostly cold items that is served in a clean, well lit sitting area.

Priority club memebrs get a bag of snacks at every check in.

Some people may mind the noise from the highway if they are given a room on the south side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
261 reviews
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa

Address: 180 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N 9S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: $127 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an Award-Winning Whitby Hotel near Toronto You're invited to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Whitby Hotel. We're the closest IHG brand hotel to the General Motors plant in Oshawa, and our location offers easy access to Hwy 401 and area attractions. Are you a leisure traveler looking for hotels near Toronto? Our Whitby hotel's location is near many attractions, including the Class Act Dinner Theatre, Iroquois Park and Lynde Shores Conservation Area. Visit the nearby Whitby History Museum & Children's Centre to explore artifacts and exhibitions, or explore the R. S. McLaughlin Estate, which is just 12 km away.If you're a savvy business traveler, our Whitby hotel near Toronto is the place for you. Not only are we the closest IHG hotel to General Motors headquarters and plant, but we're also close to BMW Canada and only 10 km from the Oshawa airport. As one of the best Whitby hotels, we offer our guests a 100% smoke-free hotel with excellent amenities like free high-speed Internet access and we're the only hotel in the region with suites with a Jacuzzi. You'll enjoy the added value of a complimentary hot breakfast buffet to start your day. You can relieve stress with a workout in the well-equipped Fitness Centre. Few Whitby hotels can match our rooms with large flat screen TVs, a microwave and a fridge. For the finest in hospitality, let our outstanding staff make your next stay memorable by choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa Hotel Whitby
Holiday Inn Whitby
Whitby Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing