We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
James B
Vernon Hills, Illinois

Good Budget Hotel - close to downtown

Review of Lucien Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 25, 2019
This is a small Mom-n-Pop motel, with just 8 rooms, close to downtown Whitby. My room was a clean, bed comfortable, but there was no desk. I had to use the dressing area counter to sit at. This may have been because there was a 1/2 size second bed, and the room was small. A single-bed room might be better, but was the last room available. Parking is tight, the lot is small. But overall a good room at a budget price.
Date of stay: August 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$331
C$314
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$331
  • Expedia.com
    C$313
  • Hotels.com
    C$314
1.8 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$257
C$215
  • HIExpress.com
    C$215
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
  • Hotels.com
    C$256
1.7 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$249
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$249
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$209
  • Hotels.com
    C$249
4.0 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
exterior
C$165
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$166
  • Hotels.com
    C$165
  • Priceline
    C$165
1.9 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$250
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$302
  • Destinia.com
    C$218
  • Hotels.com
    C$300
5.4 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$218
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$218
  • Algotels
    C$184
  • Priceline
    C$219
5.4 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$253
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$251
  • Hotels.com
    C$251
  • Priceline
    C$251
5.7 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$233
  • HIExpress.com
    C$233
  • Expedia.com
    C$233
  • Hotels.com
    C$233
6.7 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$317
C$229
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$229
  • Expedia.com
    C$271
  • Hotels.com
    C$269
6.9 km from Lucien Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whitby
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
4
14
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
14
6
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

The motel is old school. You park in front of your room and the door to the room opens directly outside. That made me very nervous (I guess I watch too many police shows). The room was very clean but absolutely nothing but a bed, a hard wooden chair, a fake leather retro chair, a mini fridge that wasn't very cold and small tv (maybe 28") mounted on the wall. All you really need for an overnight if you aren't going to be hanging out in the room much. BUT - the bed was HORRIBLE! My partner and I both were up hours earlier than normal, and got out of there as quickly as possible.

If you have back issues or any musculoskeletal pain go somewhere else!! We both can hardly move today.

A very friendly guy checked is in, it is quiet, easy to find and very clean BUT the mattresses are horrible!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 389barbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

We stay here regularly when visiting friends in Whitby. Very clean, great location - just one block from the main street. The LCBO, convenience store, and an Italian grocery are a few minutes away, and I can recommend the lingerie store (J'adore) just over the road (make of that what you will). It is an older motel, but kept immaculately clean - much more character than the impersonal chains.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alasdaircharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We were looking for a place in Whitby to stay for one night while we were visiting friends . We were not looking for anything posh. We just needed a motel room that was clean, quiet and handy. Lucien Motel delivered. It is just a little motel with maybe 8 rooms - - It is a simple little motel. Our room was very clean -the room amenities were all in very good shape and the street location was surprisingly quiet. The manager at the desk was very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely book this motel in the future. We did not need additional service for anything but I feel confident they would be very helpful if needed.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracysZ4989WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Located not far from Whitby´s small center, next to a silent street. Room is ok, clean, bed comfortable. Air-con is very noisy, difficult to sleep when on. Windows can not be opened, so we felt a bit lack of air during the night. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. This motel was just ok for us, for a night stay on our way toward Ottawa. Free wifi and parking.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KrisztaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

My son and I stayed lastnight for a ball tournament. Being the rating and low price I wasn't expecting much. After a very friendly check-in, I was pleasantly surprised when we entered a nice clean room. You can tell they have put some money into some upgrades lately. Bathrooms were clean, microwave, coffee maker and fridge in the room! Check out was as friendly as check-in. Will definately stay again!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tattyy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews