We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad ”

Chongqing Liuyishou Hotpot
Ranked #101 of 427 Restaurants in Richmond Hill
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 12, 2020 via mobile

If you like Chinese hot pot , this is a choice. You like spicy then pick hot soup, if you don’t like spicy then pick chicken soup or something else, there are many choices.

Buffet restaurant, two hours limited lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank 20,130,124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2020

My best friend became a Canadian citizen and we went for dinner celebrations. She decided on what she was craving, which was Hotpot. She spent time reading reviews and settled on this place based on that.
Noy fancy inside, but clean and inviting.
The menu was extensive, with a fantastic selection of bases to choose from.
We decided on Pork bone broth, a chicken base and then something very spicy....all were incredible.
The selection of meats, seafood, veggies, noodle, tofu etc was extensive and we ate so much!
Loved the bar with snacks and an area to make your own dipping sauce.
It was delicious and the price was very good
Will definitely be back

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

My brother organized this month’s family dinner and as a family, we’ve never done hot pot together so wanted to give this a try. We had no wait as he had made a reservation (our family had 8 total). Note: the lobby was packed when we got there at 6pm.

Food: no complaints. AYCE and everything was fresh. Would rate the food excellent/5 stars.

We had lamb, beef, seafood (shrimp, fish and squid) meat and fish balls. Veggies: watercress, winter melon, lotus root. Carbs: udon noodles, instant noodles, homemade noodles and wontons. The broth: we tried 3 different broths: “silky fowl” - which uses a Silkie (ie, black) chicken, pork broth and their signature spicy broth. I liked all three. Extensive selection of condiments and everyone happy - kids sticking with soy sauce while the adults tried many of the spicier options.

Restaurant was spacious and clean. Our table was in a corner but still enough room for everyone.

My only quibbles are with pricing:

1. Most buffets charge a lower price for children and this is usually based on age. Chongqing Liuyishou charges based on height. If a child’s height is greater than 1.4 meters (or about 4ft 7inches) then that child is charged the adult rate. My daughter is 10 years old but close to 5ft tall so adult rate. So if your kids are tall or taller than average beware!

2. In addition to the AYCE buffet charge per person you are charged for the broth(s) you select. I am torn on this one as I realize the broths were good quality but one expects this would be included as the per person AYCE buffet charge is close to $30.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Aimster3372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Have tasted many hot pots in Western countries, here is cleaner and better ingredients than some of hot pot restaurants. Meat and seafood is also good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank aly_she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We were told it would be a 10 minute wait. Not seeing anyone leave in 5 minutes yet. It’s late and after 9pm already. This place better be good and worth it. At least they accept CC, unlike Chine, our first choice but nixed that idea when we saw on the door that they take cash only.
We were given some plum juice while we waited for our table. It took a little over 20 minutes.
Ordered the traditional Chongqing style spicy soup base, 3 spice levels, tofu, cilantro, potatoes, vermicelli, enoki mushroom, cabbage, king oyster mushrooms, matsutake mushrooms, lobster balls. Loving the smell of the hotpot base and it smells like what we make at home. We ate about 3 rounds before we had to hand in the towel. My husband wanted to graze and eat for the 2 hour maximum.
Our hotpot meal was delicious.
The tablets the waitstaff use to put in the food items are so efficient that the items come out almost immediately.
We would definitely come back here again the next time we are in Toronto.
Spelling out the breakdown of the cost, since we didn’t read it so carefully before first ordering. There is a one table one time charge of $21.95 for a large Chongqing hotpot base and then it was a $27.95/pp all you can eat buffet charge for the weekend, a total of $87.97 with tax included for 2 adults. It’s $2 less Monday-Thursdays. It was pretty pricey if you don’t eat for the full hours to feel you would get your money’s worth.
Make sure to come here hungry and ready to mow down some good chow! But be ware it will cost some dough if you don’t plan on eating an entire days worth or 3x that for your meal.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank NikaNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chongqing Liuyishou Hotpot also viewed

 

Been to Chongqing Liuyishou Hotpot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.