We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outdated Hotel: Old Furnishings & No WiFi In Rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pembroke
Toronto, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outdated Hotel: Old Furnishings & No WiFi In Rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a very disappointing experience. I'm traveling on business and I needed a place to stay for the evening. I typically perfer Best Western, and I have a rewards card with the chain. As a reward member I even paid an extra ten dollars over Travelodge to earn points towards a free nights stay.

I booked the room online where it listed high speed internet as an amenity in the rooms. THERE IS NO WIFI IN THE ROOMS, when I called the front desk I mentioned I wasn't receiving a wifi signal. I was informed that wifi is only available in the lobby, and internet service is only provided in the room through an ethernet cable by the phone. I have a phone and tablet with me, neither of which have an ethernet connection.

For the previous two evenings I was in Nepean (Ottawa area), where I also stayed with Best Western, the room & furnature was nice with a good size tv with a great selection and wifi service in the rooms. I was paying much less to stay in Nepean and it was by far superior to the Pembroke location, which is inconviently located on the outskirts of town.

Overall this is really a disappointing experience. I will not stay to this location again. I might pay less and stay at the Travelodge where there's in room wifi and sounds like a great tv selection.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaret_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    90
    39
    20
    15
See reviews for
61
71
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We arrived there late in the evening after a long road.
The accommodation is pretty good: spacious, big swimming pool, comfy, clean.
But the front desk lady was very rude, we found the price she stated very high and asked if there was no cheaper room. She answered very sharply "no" and obviously didn't care.
The dinner was of poor quality (we both got sick afterwards) but the staff there was ok.
The breakfast that was included in the room price was really limited: just scrumbled eggs and a toast.
We mentioned it to the front desk at the check-out, again she was very rude, keeping busy with her own business, mumbling it was the first time she heard that. She didn't even offer to take note of it.
Despite the quality of the room, we would avoid returning there, just because of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I have been to this hotel a few times now in my travels and I have to say it is the best in the area.

The staff are always friendly and egar to help if there is an issue. The pool and work out roomk is always clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allie-gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We travel to Elliot Lake from the states (philadelphia) in Febuary every year, when we come out on to the 17 from 41 , we always stop and stay here!!!!!! after the long drive, we enjoy the restaraunt, and if up to a swim in the pool, always feel welcome, the workers do a bang up job, we we go to bed, it feels like i a m home at least for the one night here thank you

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

After my wife and I looked around at the other hotels in the area this seemed to be the newest and cleanest. We were welcomed with a smile at the desk and immediately told that there was a hockey tournament in town and there were 6 hockey teams staying in the hotel as well. We appretiated this information being given to us up front rather than learning about it later on.

We were given a choice of a King room or a King Suite with a jacuzzi tub. I figured that we'd go with the Suite as my wife would have enjoyed the tub.

What we got was a regular king room - the "Suite" part consisted of an extra chair and a mini-fridge. The jacuzi tub was a smaller than regular tub with two jets in it.

The room was clean but older and smelled of stale cigarettle smoke. The flat screen TV lacked HD (fine) but the images were often blurry as a result.

Even though I didn't use the arcade games I found it interesting that they were all old and had signs saying "Play at Your Own Risk".....if they aren't working well enough to be trusted then why are they in the building?

For $200 for the night (more expensive than our stay at the Mariott in Ottawa the day before) the room was not up to par. Up the road in Petawawa there's a new Quality Inn and Suites which was cheaper we found out the next day and only 10minutes up the road.

Did we get a good sleep - Yes, but it wasn't worth the price.

Room Tip: Don't expect a Suite - ask for a room that never allowed smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorryann, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
I am sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. It sounds like there was some confusion on the descriptions of the various king rooms available. I thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we will retrain the front desk on our various suites, as we have several to choose from, all with some differences. As noted, you were here during a hockey tournament, the games are in good working order, but we find it necessary to put up extra signs during these times. We are 100% non smoking, and we do try to eliminate smoking in the rooms the best we can, we do not "allow" smoking, but unfortunately we cannot control what happens inside the room, we can only hope all our guests follow our policy. Thank you for comments, and hope you will visit us again, and treat your wife to our "Tropical Breezes Room", which offers a king bed with a canopy, two person jetted tub, a private entrance to pool area and many other upgraded amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

It was our third stay at this hotel. The room was clean and quiet. The food and service in the restaurant were good. The rooms are getting a bit expensive, but this is a growing trend among other Best Westerns and other chain hotels. Stil, we would stay here again if we were to visit the Pembroke area in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

If you are travelling around this part of Canada there are very few decent hotels. especially if you are touring and only want one or two nights.

This BW is very shabby and reminds me of a local leisure centre that's ripe for refurbishment. There are other chain hotels in Pembroke that have fewer facilities but are more modern, so try them!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorryann, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
"We are very surprised with this traveler's comment about our hotel, and we wonder if they have us mixed up with some other city. There are several very good hotels in the Ottawa Valley, the Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre being one of them. We continue to be rated very high with Best Western International's strict quality and design inspections and we do receive many positive comments about the quality and comfort of our hotel.

We further checked, and we did not have any guests from London in August as this implies, and we question how this traveler would know about "other chain hotels in Pembroke".

In conclusion, there must be a mix up with hotels. If the writer should wish to contact us about this, please call and ask for the General Manager."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.7 km away
Econo Lodge Pembroke
Econo Lodge Pembroke
#5 of 10 in Pembroke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Petawawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
5.4 km away
Colonial Fireside Inn
Colonial Fireside Inn
#6 of 10 in Pembroke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
17.4 km away
Petawawa River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 1 International Dr | ( just off the TransCanada Hwy # 17 ), Pembroke, Ontario K8A 6W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ottawa Valley’s largest "All Indoor Recreational Hotel" and Conference Centre….with controlled & monitored indoor corridors, indoor tropical pool with whirlpool, 6000 Sq. Ft. Fitness Centre (free to hotel guests), dining and lounge, huge fireplace Lobby, and Conference Centre for 400 persons – all under one roof. The modern guest rooms are bright & spacious with most comfortable seating and beds, with many extra amenities including 32” LCD TVs. Room types include Leisure, Poolside, Fireplace, Executive suites, and full one bedroom suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre Ontario
Pembroke Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing