We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cottage resort!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Lake Cottage Resort
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage resort!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mill Lake for the first time on the weekend. We arrived very late on Friday night due to work. However, this was no problem for Mike and Jayne, they were still very welcoming. Mike was quite helpful and informative about the resort and area. I was extremely impressed with how clean the cottages were. They were also well decorated with your typical cottage decor which was quite nice. The cottage was well equipped with everything you need to cook. The best part of the trip was the view from our cottage (Shoreline). Eating dinner on our private deck overlooking the water was so beautiful. In addition, there are many games and activities available for your use at the resort (there’s even a sauna). Overall, we had a fantastic time and wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Shoreline for couples even though it sleeps 4. I think it has one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cris4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hamilton,ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My mother and 6 sisters go away every year and have been doing this for about 20 years and we always stayed in Huntsville area. this year we decided on Mill lake and we loved it , very clean, up to date great lakeview and the amenities are wonderful. The MacLeans are great hosts, beautiful property they have and cant wait to go back. very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dori02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I (we) have visited Millview Lake cottages starting in 2005 and I believe we are up to 8 or 9 stays.
Michael and Jayne are wonderful hosts and we have never once had an issue with any of the cottages or anything else for that matter in all these years.
The cottages are scrupulously clean and well maintained...just unpack your bags and enjoy!
Regards from Claudia, Keren and Pam

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife, daughter and I spent a weekend at Mill Lake Resort this past September (2012). We were attending a wedding at Ridge at Manitou Golf Club on the Saturday night and thought it'd be fun to stay somewhere on the water, somewhere that wasn't just a hotel. And since we hadn't been to Muskoka in a few years, so we figured we'd make a weekend of it and visit with some old friends.

The invitation to the wedding listed places where we could stay in order of proximity to the Ridge. Working our way down the list, looking at the hotel/resort websites, Mill Lake Resort seemed to be the obvious choice. The prices were reasonable and the website was very professional and informative with lots of current pictures. And speaking with the owner Mike McLean on the phone, he was very helpful and patient as our plans continued to change.

We arrived mid-afternoon on the Friday. Mike greeted us and gave us a tour. Wow! The property is amazing! It looked just like the website had depicted, which in my experience is rarely the case. The view of Mill Lake is incredible from all the cottages and although they have a semi-rustic look, they're quite modern on the inside. We rented the Timber, a 2-bedroom partway up the hill. It was spotless inside with a fridge, hot plate, satellite TV, gas fireplace and drinkable/potable water. The bathroom was immaculate, complete with handsoap and towels. The Timber also has a huge, new deck with a working barbecue, patio furniture and Muskoka chairs.

When we first got there we informed Mike that we had some guests stopping by for dinner, another couple and their two young children, friends we hadn't seen in a long time. I was half expecting non-paying guests to be an issue (recalling my younger days when sneaking extra guests into a campground or cottage was common practice), but Mike had zero problem and replied with a simple "great, I hope you have a nice visit."

Most of our stay was consumed by the wedding, so we didn't get to enjoy the property as much as we would have liked to. We did find time to walk around though, and for our daughter to play in the kids' playground (little clubhouse, swings, slide, etc.). And I took a photo of our view of Mill Lake from the deck... it's now the laptop wallpaper and Twitter background that'll get me through the winter!

Both my wife and I were very impressed by Mill Lake Resort. You can tell that the owners take pride in the cottage atmosphere they're providing. The property is very well-kept and each of the cottages seems to have its own personality and unique upgrades. And Mike McLean was a great host, very helpful, friendly and professional.

We would not hesitate to return to or recommend Mill Lake Resort. In fact, I hope we can return next season for a slower-paced long weekend.

Room Tip: The Timber cottage is an awesome 2-bedroom option with a great view and huge deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boldstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockstadt am Main, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My family & I enjoyed a relaxing week in August at Mill Lake Resort. Our 'Shoreline' cottage was what i would describe as 'modern rustical'---the charm of an older wood cabin, with the luxury of a fully modernized kitchen and bath.
Our hosts, Mike & Jane were both friendly and accommodating. The resort grounds and individual clean and well maintained. For an accurate overall impression take the time to review their photo gallery on their web-site. It 'really' does look like that!!
Whether taking a peaceful paddle with a canoe,or waterskiing/tubing out on the lake, there was something for everyone. I, myself enjoyed the serenity of our surroundings in one of the many large Muskoka chairs scattered throughout the complex---a good book and a glass of wine, or cup of coffee... To each there own...
All I'd like to add is, I'm sure you'd not be disappointed by your choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic vacation. Our cottage was very spacious and comfortable. The property and amenities were excellent and everything was clean. Mike and Jane were superb hosts and were pleased to provide whatever we needed to ensure we and the other guests were happy. I would definitely recommend the property and we plan on returning.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I loved our cottage.... so clean and homey, with a wonderful deck where we enjoyed many of our meals and viewed the Loons on the lake. Parry Sound is only 10 minutes away for some fun activities..... we liked the Island Queen boat ride and the ice cream parlor there. A very relaxing vacation and Mike & Jayne were fine hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
147 reviews
4.2 km away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
437 reviews
38.0 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#13 of 19 in Parry Sound
137 reviews
11.4 km away
Grand Tappattoo Resort
Grand Tappattoo Resort
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
76 reviews
2.7 km away
Harmony Outdoor Inn
Harmony Outdoor Inn
#2 of 11 in Parry Sound
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Lake Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Lake Cottage Resort

Property: Mill Lake Cottage Resort
Address: 56 Mill Lake Shores, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Parry Sound
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Lake Cottage Resort has a unique blend of proximity and privacy. You will settle into "holiday mode" as soon as you drive down the winding, scenic lane heading into the resort. The property is bordered by a large area of wilderness, so you will feel that you are in the heart of cottage country. Yet, you are only a short distance from the town of Parry Sound and Georgian Bay. Come and enjoy your vacation, whatever the season. All of our cottages offer exceptional views of Mill Lake and are on the shoreline - some practically touch the waters' edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Lake Cottage Resort Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing