We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Lake Cottage Resort
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at Mill Cottage Resort and found it to be a fabulous experience. The property is immaculately kept in idyllic surroundings. The cottages seem to cater for all sorts and sizes of parties- ours comfortably slept 8 and had everything you could wish for- great designs and so picturesque. Mike and Jayne are as nice a couple as you could wish to meet, so hard working and caring. They ensured we had a fabulous time and we were so grateful for that. We came over from Australia and were really unsure what to expect- and we thought we lived in a bit of paradise!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently stayed with Mike and Jane at Mill Lake Cottages. Location 10/10, cottages perfect for a family, lovely hosts and a beautiful lake.

If we didn't live in Australia we would go back every year.

Would highly recommend to those looking for fun and relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross-Belinda-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just back from a fantastic vacation at this cottage resort. We stayed in the Timbre cottage, which like all the cottages there was well-appointed, with quality, tasteful furnishings and decor. Its cathedral ceilings gave it an open, spacious feel, while there was plenty of space for myself, a friend and my toddler twins. It had beautiful views of the lake, and the deck was superb. It also had comfy, quality patio furniture, a top-notch stainless steel BBQ and muskoka chairs. I was so "cottage proud"! As I'm writing this, I want to go back and sit on the deck, with a glass of pinot, and my happy twins.

Both the cottages and grounds are extremely well-maintained. Lovely pathways, landscaping and two beautiful sandy beaches, private to the five cottages at the resort. The swimming was devine - the lake was clear and warmer than Georgian Bay. It was so fun, at 40-something, to swim out to the slide (go down it!), sit on the dock, and paddle around the lake, taking in the beautiful cottages on the other side. Use of the kayaks, canoes and paddle boats are complimentary and all are in great condition, and there are plenty of life jackets to borrow, even for children.

My kids really enjoyed the playground on-site and playing with the owners' super friendly golden doodle, Jess, who comes around occasionally to say hello. Everyone staying there seemed to be having such a nice time - from families enjoying a bonfire at night, to young people playing catch and taking dips in the lake, to the guys out fishing in the morn (one caught a 16-lb pike!!), to little kids catching and releasing toads, to moms finally catching time to read a book, and there were the romantic strolls for some too.

The resort was simply top-notch, so pleasing to the eye and the senses. It was high-end Muskoka luxury at an affordable northern rate.

The owners made sure we had all we needed. Mike helped to install a baby gate at the top of the stairs to our deck. He came by to check in how we were and retrieve the recycling.

I am passing on that this place is a one-of-a-kind, not to be missed cottage experience for those looking for a unique blend of privacy and convenience. It was a short drive into Parry Sound for groceries and the daily paper. Really, I could go on!

I can't wait to go back next summer! Thanks for the wonderful stay! Jodie & Company (Toronto, Ontario)

Room Tip: All five cottages are nicely situated, with spacious decks, and wonderful views of the lake. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Had a great time at Mill Lake Resort…... Thanks Mike and Jayne the accommodations were perfect for the two of us. And the property was beautiful and well kept. Being the dog lover that I am I can’t tell you how awesome it was to get a daily visit from Jess the sweetest dog in the world. Lots of activities all inclusive and if you like water skiing and tubing it's there for a nominal fee. Mike the owner is awesome very helpful and went out of his way make sure we had everything we needed and Jayne was always busy making the resort picture perfect. And another bonus was being so close to town everything u could possibly need or run out of is there only 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Once again, we had a terrific time at Mill Lake. We stayed in the main cottage and will be returning again next year. Mike and Jane are terrific hosts and are always looking to ensure everyone is happy. Cottages are always clean and have all the necessary amenities (except Internet...which they are looking in to). Thanks for another great summer break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eeyore821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mill Lake for the first time on the weekend. We arrived very late on Friday night due to work. However, this was no problem for Mike and Jayne, they were still very welcoming. Mike was quite helpful and informative about the resort and area. I was extremely impressed with how clean the cottages were. They were also well decorated with your typical cottage decor which was quite nice. The cottage was well equipped with everything you need to cook. The best part of the trip was the view from our cottage (Shoreline). Eating dinner on our private deck overlooking the water was so beautiful. In addition, there are many games and activities available for your use at the resort (there’s even a sauna). Overall, we had a fantastic time and wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Shoreline for couples even though it sleeps 4. I think it has one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cris4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton,ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My mother and 6 sisters go away every year and have been doing this for about 20 years and we always stayed in Huntsville area. this year we decided on Mill lake and we loved it , very clean, up to date great lakeview and the amenities are wonderful. The MacLeans are great hosts, beautiful property they have and cant wait to go back. very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dori02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parry Sound
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
147 reviews
4.2 km away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#2 of 19 in Parry Sound
437 reviews
38.0 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#13 of 19 in Parry Sound
137 reviews
11.4 km away
Grand Tappattoo Resort
Grand Tappattoo Resort
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
76 reviews
2.7 km away
Harmony Outdoor Inn
Harmony Outdoor Inn
#2 of 11 in Parry Sound
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Lake Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Lake Cottage Resort

Property: Mill Lake Cottage Resort
Address: 56 Mill Lake Shores, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Parry Sound
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Lake Cottage Resort has a unique blend of proximity and privacy. You will settle into "holiday mode" as soon as you drive down the winding, scenic lane heading into the resort. The property is bordered by a large area of wilderness, so you will feel that you are in the heart of cottage country. Yet, you are only a short distance from the town of Parry Sound and Georgian Bay. Come and enjoy your vacation, whatever the season. All of our cottages offer exceptional views of Mill Lake and are on the shoreline - some practically touch the waters' edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Lake Cottage Resort Parry Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing