We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
82
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews andy and sue air hockey otter lake paddle boats rented cottage great owners play ping pong water shoes cottage experience hiking trails awesome stay bring your own beautiful lake propane bbq killbear provincial park rec dock
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 90 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We were in Cottage 3. Had a fabulous time, water is beautiful and I swam every day. We have been to other resorts but none of those compare with this resort. Spotless and roomy. Extremely pleasant Andy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lredden2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

lredden2017,
Thank you for your stay and for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Sue and I are pleased you enjoyed Cottage 3. This September the weather has been fantastic and we know you took full advantage of it. We hope to see you on another adventure.
Sincerely,
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We stayed for two nights in September and felt very at home.Very clean! Lots of free activities.Swimming,Paddle boats,Stand up boards,Kayaks etc.Very friendly Hosts with lots of suggestions for food etc.

Room Tip: Junior suites require walking up many steps but, other suites available on ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aussiepotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Aussiepotters,
Thanks so much for the kind review. We very much enjoyed our conversations with you. Sue and I hope to see you again on another adventure.
Sincerely,
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Watching the yard grow brighter as the sun rises in the sky, I can close my eyes and picture the mist hovering over beautiful and serene Otter Lake at Sunny Point Resort. Our family of 6 spent last week in this amazing setting, having a fantastic and very relaxing vacation, and we all miss the serenity tremendously! We rented Cottage 7 and found that we had over-packed, as the cottage really supplies everything that is needed. When we searched for an Ontario Cottage experience (having enjoyed such a vacation as a child and now wanting to give our kids this experience), we read online about many lakes where the mud or weeds affected the swimming, as well as the visitors' enjoyment. Perhaps a tad skeptical about the claims of Otter Lake's sandy and plant-free bottom and clarity for swimming, fishing, and boating, we packed six pairs of water shoes that never needed to make their way out of the bag. From the time we pulled into the spacious and uncrowded property and completed a quick and laid-back check in with host Andy, we found ourselves using the lake pretty much for the rest of the week. From jumping off our cottage's private dock, to taking the canoe out a dozen times, to enjoying the very reasonably priced motorboat that we rented for the week, we found the lake itself to be the real star of the show. If you have young children and are looking to vacation in a place with a loud and flashy arcade, this is not for you. We felt that the host-owners have struck a perfect balance of providing just enough amenities to allow guests to comfortably get back to nature and fill in the blanks. For example, our kids visited the recreation building a few times throughout the week to play ping pong and air hockey, but also quickly developed a form of "Quidditch" using the shuffleboard paraphernalia, entertaining themselves better than their handheld devices could possibly do. Being in a cottage setting like this opened up their imaginations and helped all of us to step outside of our comfort zone. We gamely enjoyed the couple-kilometers' long cross-country trail at Sunny Point, laughingly traversing the black mud puddles that filled every hollow, thanks to some rain early in the week. Watching our kids forge alternate paths and then pause to hold back branches for their old-fogey parents was a wonderful thing. Taking one-on-one canoe trips with each child first thing in the morning was better back-to-school preparation than all the shopping waiting for us in our hometown. We also appreciated host Andy's unobtrusive thoughtfulness throughout the week. For example, with kids ranging in age from 7 to 12, we had arranged for a couple of tubing excursions, with a 3-seater "sofa raft" pulled behind a powerboat. While we blissfully ignored the extended forecast, Andy kept an eye on things and tracked us down to reschedule for a day earlier, seeing a full day of rain forecast on our originally scheduled date. Everything about Otter Lake and Sunny Point proved to be the perfect combination of fun and relaxation. We are homesick for Sunny Point and Otter Lake but can't wait to return in another summer. To our fellow "Mid-Atlanticers", we suggest you leave those hot and crowded beaches behind and make the very worthwhile Drive to Sunny Point!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wotlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Anne and Andy,
Wow! This is among the most beautifully written posts that a guest has ever written. There is nothing more I can add to it but rather to thank you and hope we see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Andy (and Sue)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

This resort is perfect if you're looking for a peaceful northern getaway on a beautiful lake. I stayed in a cottage one week and a Queen Studio the next week. I really appreciated having all the essentials provided. Bring your clothes and food and that's all you need. The main sunning dock was especially lovely. Hosts Andy and Sue really go out of their way to make your stay spectacular.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Hi Kimberly,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and also for spending 2 weeks with us this year!! You certainly had the variety from 3 bdrm cottage to Junior Suite which are unique to themselves but, as you discovered, both nice experiences.
Sue and I hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Andy (and Sue)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

Very nice place to stay, exceptionally clean, very well maintained barbecues, beautiful lake and close to many golf courses. Seguin Valley Golf Course was amazing and close to Sunny Point. Stayed in a room and not at a cottage. Might like to try a cottage next time but there was only two of us.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Hi Clare,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about Sunny Point. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay despite some rainy weather. It was a pleasure having you and we also very much enjoy that we are a short drive to Seguin Valley Golf Course.
Sincerely,
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews