We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
190
30
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
30
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolaisland queenfrench toastsusanpooletrestlerailway
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 221 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a fantastic venue ! We planned to be in Parry Sound for a bit of vacation and to do some float plane flying and stumbled into 40 Bay on the internet when we were looking for a place to stay. Susan being the perfect hostess was totally accommodating from the beginning in setting us up in the Retreat Room to treating us to afternoon tea and insights on the area. We ended up being rained out and spent most of the time lounging but returned six weeks later to a few more days of her delicious breakfasts and wonderful hospitality on a warm summer weekend.

It is a total pleasure sharing breakfasts with very interesting people who happen to be staying there and Susan more than accommodated our early arrival requirements.

Susan recommended some fantastic places for dinner (Glenburnie Lodge is a winner) and the visit could not have been better.

Room Tip: The retreat room is absolutely perfect however it faces the railway trestle and regular (long) trains. We grew to love the rumble (no horns blaring) and chose the room the second time because of it !
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were in town for a concert at the Stockey Centre, which is just a short five minute (literally) walk from the B&B. We stayed in the Garden Room, which was comfortable, scrupulously clean and has an immaculate ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful and Susan made us feel right at home.

We discovered that the B&B hostess, Susan, offers a "pillow library" which means I can leave my 'sculpted' pillow at home the next time I visit.

We loved the stay at 40 Bay!

Room Tip: The Garden Room was quiet, comfortable, and restful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuben555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We'd planned to see Georgian Bay for years. After researching on-line, we chose 40 Bay Street as a perfect destination to enjoy the area. It met all expectations. The meals, the table setting, so lovely. Susan is a delight and adds immensely to any stay. We also met very interesting guests, whom we vowed to keep in touch with. Highly recommend the Island Queen boat cruise.

Room Tip: The Garden Room offers a balcony over the perinnial garden - perfect. It's roomier as well.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneLarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Susan delivers all that is promised on 40 Bay's website with friendly and professional service and excellent breakfasts. My motorcycle was parked securely, off-street, accessible from the nicely private deck of the Garden Room. The place was spotlessly clean.

The B&B offers great viewing of the CPR trestle that crosses the bay, a magnificent structure that was built in 1907. Guests can relax on the deck or in their room watching mainline action as CP, CN and VIA head northbound. The trains are not too obtrusive for other guests as there are no whistled crossings in the immediate vicinity. Rail photographers will also find lots of good spots within a short drive to the CPR Parry Sound and CN Bala subs.

It was nice to park and relax. Several restaurants and local attractions are within walking distance. A return to 40 Bay is planned for our annual Fall colour road trip. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just got back from our stay with Susan at the Bay Street B&B and had 10+ stay. She was very accommodating & helped me execute a surprise 65th birthday trip for my husband - she even went so far as to hide away any literature regarding the tours I wanted kept secret from him!
Parry Sound was an excellent choice for a quick getaway from the city & there were plenty of exciting things to do there. Our room, the Retreat was really nice, the king bed was very comfy & the sheets & towels were top notch.
There are some nice sitting areas to enjoy the view of the marina & we watched boats coming & going along with the Georgian Air float planes taking off. Delicious & relaxing breakfasts, every detail for our enjoyment was taken care of. One of the best run B&B's we've stayed at.
Thanks Susan, we really had great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews