We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$190
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
No prepayment needed
Priceline
C$190
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
BestWestern.com
C$190
Exclusive member rates
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
CanuckTraveller07
Toronto, Canada

Peaceful

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 4, 2020
We recently enjoyed a three-night stay at the Best Western Inn On The Bay in Owen Sound. In our room there was lots of hot water with strong water pressure. The room was very clean and had a super comfortable bed. The WiFi had an extremely strong and solid signal. As a COVID safety measure, Housekeeping did not come to the room to make beds etc., but we were informed of this when we checked in. Housekeeping did, however, supply plenty of fresh towels when we were out of the room during the day.

The room we were in had been renovated at some recent point, as there were an abundance of electrical plugs and the room had a distinctly modern décor. Our room was very near the shore of Georgian Bay so it was peaceful and relaxing to leave the windows open at night and hear the rolling of the waves. In general, the hotel has a pretty and relaxing location and setting.

If you plan to eat in the hotel’s restaurant, “Bishop’s Landing”, in the evening, I highly recommend making reservations there for that evening. Currently, the restaurant fills up very quickly as they have reduced seating to comply with COVID-19 social distancing measures. There are no other restaurants anywhere in the area, so there are no quick and convenient food alternatives except for a Metro grocery store, a 20 minute walk away. We were not able to eat at the restaurant because we were never able to get in. I was able to place an order there, though, and return later to pick it up, returning to our room to eat. It would have been helpful if Reception had told us upon check-in that we would need to make reservations at the hotel’s restaurant.

The hotel is located in a peaceful spot away from any main streets. This is both a pro and a con – on the positive side it made the hotel a fairly quiet place to stay, but conversely, we found the hotel to be way, way too far out of the centre of town. It’s not so bad if you don’t mind driving everywhere to get the least little thing, but if you have no vehicle it’s a minimum 20-25 minute walk to get to other restaurants, stores, etc.

Other than those couple of drawbacks, though, this Best Western is a fine place to stay while in Owen Sound.
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Hemstock, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this review
Responded Dec 11, 2020
Hi CanuckTraveller07,

Thank you for providing such an insightful review of your experience at our hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed the clean, modern guest rooms as well as our beautiful setting on Georgian Bay. Unfortunately, the peaceful location does mean we are about a 20 minute+ walk to the downtown core of Owen Sound. We hope that you will choose us first if returning in the future. There is so much to see and do in this area and we would be happy to help you get the most out of your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$152
C$142
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$142
  • Priceline
    C$142
  • Expedia.com
    C$142
1.3 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$120
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$120
  • Expedia.com
    C$120
  • Priceline
    C$120
2.0 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
C$89
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$89
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$88
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$99
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$99
  • Hotels.com
    C$99
  • Agoda.com
    C$99
2.3 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
C$131
  • Priceline
    C$131
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$116
  • Expedia.com
    C$131
2.0 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$223
C$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$190
  • BestWestern.com
    C$190
  • Expedia.com
    C$190
0.0 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$106
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$106
16.9 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Booking.com
C$89
  • Priceline
    C$89
  • Expedia.com
    C$89
  • Hotels.com
    C$89
21.9 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$99
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$99
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$98
  • Hotels.com
    C$99
23.1 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
C$180
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$180
  • Vio.com
    C$180
  • Agoda.com
    C$180
23.5 km from Best Western Inn On The Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Owen Sound
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
528
238
75
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
528
238
75
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water view walking path clean rooms front desk staff nice room bed was comfortable in town parking lot bw arena wedding fireplace whirlpool attack patio sauble sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 903 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2020 via mobile

All I can say about this branch of Best Western Inn is about its clean rooms as well as impressive customer service. It’s located not too far from the downtown and it’s in walking distance from Metro and Tim Horton’s.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank PooryaKashani78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Hemstock, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2020

Hi PooryaKashani78,

Thank you for posting this review of your experience at our hotel. We take a lot of pride in the cleaning program (even before COVID-19) at this hotel and those same employees provide great service to top it all off. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2020

First , the front desk person ( Ken I think) was nice and quick. We checked in a few mins after 4 and all rooms were ready, plus all on the same floor as requested. When we checked in the rooms, we were impressed ( and I not the one that is easily impressed !) . Rooms were SPARKLING CLEAN AND FRESH. We got one of our rooms upgraded which was icing on the cake. The hotel was by the water, so beautiful. This is probably one of the most relaxing hotel stays we have had in Canada. The price was good as well which was a plus. Already planning our next trip back in the winter..

Room tip: Rooms with water view
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExploreYourWorld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Hemstock, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2020

Hi ExploreYourWorld1,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your experience at our hotel. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much! Cleanliness and safety are our top priorities in these times and it is nice to see that our guests notice these efforts. We are so fortunate to have such a great location on the water which is a nice bonus for our guests. We look forward to seeing you return this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2020 via mobile

We were very impressed with two things: the exceptionally clean washroom and the excellent service of the woman at the front desk. Great view of the bay from their restaurant, with the marina across the bay.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 793bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Hemstock, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2020

Hi 793bs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel. It is great to see that you noticed our attention to cleanliness and service while you stayed. Hopefully you will have the chance to return again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2020

This hotel follows all the guidelines for social distancing. The rooms are fogged after guests leave. Seen things being wiped down and all staff wearing masks. The tables in the restaurant were set far apart. They do an excellent job keeping everyone safe

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank fallsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Hemstock, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2020

Hi Fallsgirl,

Thank you for sharing your insight and experience with our safety protocols during COVID-19. We take every precaution to keep our guests and staff safe while providing clean, quiet accommodations. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and felt safe while staying with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2020

this hotel is in need of a major update and cleaning! it has been neglected! I would not stay at this hotel again and I would not recommend it! Current health and travel issues are not the excuse. Disappointed in Best Western!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank liz2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Hemstock, General Manager at Best Western Inn On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2020

Hi liz2293,

Please accept my apologies for not being able to provide you with the experience you were expecting at our hotel. I am not sure what you found to be dirty during your stay, but I want to assure you that this is not a common experience here. You can see from almost all of our other reviews that "clean" is a priority for us and we get many compliments on it. We also continually make efforts to renovate and stay updated throughout the facility. Last year alone we replaced all of the case goods and showers in our guest rooms. We do take this feedback seriously and will give even more attention to cleaning as a result. Thank you for letting us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews