We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it. The rooms are immaculate and clean, and hosts are lovely and helpful.”
Review of The Highland Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Highland Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We loved it. The rooms are immaculate and clean, and hosts are lovely and helpful.”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed for two nights and loved it. The house is decorated with lots of interesting antiques, and everything looks beautiful. The breakfasts were great: good coffee, and a healthy serving of fresh fruit and other good food. The area is great for hiking and our hosts were helpful in providing maps, tips and recommendations for places to see and restaurants to eat at. Our room was confortable, clean and private, with a nice breeze and a tempurpedic mattress that was really nice.

We would recommend this to any traveler who wants a quiet, comfortable night's sleep, and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryjane333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
127
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brockville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

very beautiful home, great hospitality, fantastic breakfast, helpful hosts. Couldn't have asked for anything more during out stay. Comfy bed and beautifully appointed room. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinoBrockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

What a fantastic two nights at the Highland Manor. Thank you Linda and Paul for your kindness. We felt immediately comfortable at this beautifully appointed inn-- from the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms to the genuine concern for our trip on the part of our hosts. Linda and Paul provided tips on where to go and what to see, including lending us a map for the day. Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile. I highly recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecjmmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A fabulous old house and good hosts. Linda greeted us like long lost relatives and showed us to our room following a short tour of the house and history.

Linda had helped us out with some dinner reservations ready for our stay and also helped us with a driving itinerary for the next day as (unfortunately) the weather was not kind to us. We were lent some local road maps, and sent off after an excellent baked egg breakfast.

We found our room to be large and comfortable, and our only negative finding was the lack of curtains at the bedroom windows. The house sits atop a hill and is not overlooked, but we still felt slightly exposed!

At the end of our stay, we were sent on our way with big hugs and again we felt like part of the Highland Manor family.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Bay, Manitoulin Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this elegant Owen Sound mansion, traveling back in time and imagining ourselves in the early part of the 19th century; enjoying the ambiance and the decorations that seemed to come from the same era. Our congenial hosts worked hard to make our stay even more enjoyable with charming tidbits of history about this fine old architectural triumph. We lingered over our breakfast that included delicious eggs, a warm croissant, fruit salad and freshly squeezed orange juice. We undoubtedly will return for another visit ! Petra and Bil Wall

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmenpetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at The Highland Manor. The house is stunning and beautifully decorated by Linda. Music lovers will appreciate the two pianos and Linda's memorabilia from her career as a concert pianist. The rooms were beautiful and impeccably clean. The breakfasts were delicious and Paul is a wonderful host who knows to keep the coffee cups full! Indeed, while the house is interesting from a historic aspect, this home is clearly a reflection of the wonderful owners, LInda and Paul. Having stayed at many B&B's over the years, we can confidently say that they rate at the top of owner/hosts we have met. If we lived closer, we would love to get together for a glass of wine and a chat! They could not have been more welcoming and provided many tips about what to see and maps to get there. Don't miss this wonderful inn if you are in the Owen Sound area. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabCatAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our weekend getaway to Owen Sound. The comfort and charm of the Highland Manor made our trip special. The hosts, Linda and Paul, were warm and natural right from the beginning. The facilities of the bed and breakfast were wonderful. The bed was very comnfortable. The private bath was spacious. The water was hot and the towels were fresh. The gardens are well kept and the veranda is a restful place to read. We enjoyed chocolates left in our room.

Linda made healthy, hearty and delicious breakfasts and Paul was generous with the coffee. They gave excellent recomendations and listened to our adventures at the end of the day. They had maps and brouchures to help guests plan thier time.

I left feeling pampered and refreshed. Thanks to Linda and Paul for all they did to make our two three days and two nights special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandSue49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.9 km away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
476 reviews
1.8 km away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
162 reviews
0.6 km away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
338 reviews
1.9 km away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
153 reviews
1.7 km away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#7 of 10 in Owen Sound
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Property: The Highland Manor
Address: 867 4th Ave a W, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highland Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Highland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing