We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
L L
Sudbury, Canada

Dated, nonchalant management style, filled with abusive customers

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 16, 2020
This is not a new hotel. And there are some measured efforts that they are taking to improve the aesthetics, so that is easily forgivable.

A little less so is the lackadaisical response from the front desk with unruly customers. We were placed in a hallway with several loud teenagers shouting and making other noise, and flanked by a room playing loud rap music and another banging something against the wall incessantly. We were about 4 hours from home and wanted to just drive back but it was late and there was a snowstorm.

I approached the front desk and they provided an alternate room in the opposite corner of the hotel. It was adequate - the walls still paper thin and unruly guests making a whole lot of noise at all hours, but seeing as management will never address these situations/complaints everyone continues to do it knowing they full well with get away with it.

It completely ruined the guest experience. The small saving grace was the front desk's willingness and (thankfully) ability to reduce the inconvenience.

We will not stay again.
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MidlandOn, Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and it was unfortunate that you were disturbed by other guests in the hotel.
Hope to see you again on your next visit.
Best regards,
Aziz Abid
GM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$146
C$125
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$125
  • travelup.com
    C$128
  • StayForLong
    C$146
0.2 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$171
C$159
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Hotels.com
    C$158
  • Tripadvisor
    C$159
0.7 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$164
C$144
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$144
  • Hotels.com
    C$145
  • Tripadvisor
    C$144
0.7 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$174
  • Hampton
  • Booking.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$174
0.3 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$90
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$82
  • Hotels.com
    C$90
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$162
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$162
  • Algotels
    C$159
  • Expedia.com
    C$162
3.3 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$181
C$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$165
  • Agoda.com
    C$181
2.4 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
1875 A Charters Inn
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Free parking
Deluxe queen room
    2.5 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$175
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      C$175
    • Algotels
      C$148
    • Hotels.com
      C$175
    0.0 km from Quality Inn & Conference Centre
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Midland
    Reviews (513)
    Filter reviews
    513 results
    Traveller rating
    127
    156
    134
    66
    30
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    127
    156
    134
    66
    30
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 513 reviews
    Reviewed February 5, 2020 via mobile

    Nice place to stay for everybody, mainly children and teenagers, on the weekend.
    A good swimming pool, hot tub, a dry sauna, relaxing chairs and towels. A good entertainment.
    A spacious area for the breakfast. It had juices, coffee, cereals, scrambled and boiled eggs, sausage, French toast, etc.
    Very friendly front desk agents . Fast check in and check out.
    Room was spacious, with two queen beds. It had TV, mini fridge, coffee maker and an office desk. There's a make up area in front of the bathroom. Everything was very clean.
    Accustic isolation of the room is not so good. The window air conditioning was an old model.
    It's a good place to enjoy the weekend.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Claudia-Azemar
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    MidlandOn, Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback and positive comments.
    We appreciate you taking the time and pointing out and appreciating all the amenities we offer.
    Thank you once again and look forward to welcome you on your next visit.
    Aziz Abid
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed February 2, 2020

    I can imagine that at one time, this was a top hotel. It is aged and badly in need of renos. My daughter and grandkids came up to visit and I booked them into a suite. This consisted of two queen beds and a pullout couch. My grandson found bottles of shampoo under the bed (guess they didn't vacuum that area). Fingerprints were evident on the furniture & some kind of food residue on the couch. There was a hockey tournament in town, so the pool area was swarming with young kids. The hot tub was not hot & full of children. The restaurant in the hotel is high end, so if you do not wanna drop a couple of hundred dollars for dinner for four, I suggest you dine elsewhere.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    1  Thank Kate W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    MidlandOn, Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2020

    Thank you for your response and comments.
    We are undergoing renovations and upgrades to give our guests a better experience.
    Best Regards,
    Aziz Abid
    GM

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 20, 2019

    Outdated rooms, grungy we stayed in the motel outbuilding could be better in the main building? Hot breakfast truly repulsive....paper plates and plastic cutlery no recycling shameful. Front desk was helpful after a ridiculous booking experience through the central call centre.

    Plus side bed was comfortable and we were able to bring our 🐕.

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank OnAir454976
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    MidlandOn, Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback and comments which will help us improve our services.
    Happy to hear you found our bed comfortable and front desk helpful.
    Thank you,
    Aziz Abid
    GM

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 8, 2019 via mobile

    Our first room smelled of cigarettes so we moved and staff were very helpful. Basic decor, our shower handle was rough - pulled off when trying to figure out how to make the water run. Comfortable beds. The included breakfast was lacking - lukewarm eggs, no fresh fruit or yogurt, and a LOT of non recyclable waste. That needs some immediate improvement.

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Susan S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    MidlandOn, Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback and happy to hear that our staff was able to help you with your room to your satisfaction.
    Hope to welcome you again soon.
    Aziz Abid
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed September 14, 2019

    Decent place to stay. Room was clean and a good size for our family (2 adults, 2 small children). Staff was friendly and courteous. Pool and breakfast buffet were a nice touch. Typical hotel, but lots of attention to details (extra pillows, laundry services available).

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Hillfam4
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    MidlandOn, Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback and positive comments.
    I see that you found our staff friendly and courteous and liked our pool and breakfast.
    Look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
    Aziz Abid
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews