We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, perfect location, and top notch server.”

The Boathouse Eatery
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boathouse Eatery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 85 Restaurants in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Boathouse Eatery is located at the town Docks overlooking beautiful Georgian Bay. With numerous areas to sit from inside dining, outdoor patio, upstairs private dining, we're sure you will have a favourite section. Our upstairs dining room is great for private bookings of parties of up to 45 people. Open for lunch and dinner seven days a week and live entertainment every Friday & Saturday night. One of Georgian Bay's best waterfront restaurants.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We loved the Boathouse! The restaurant's location was beautiful - right at the marina, overlooking all of the boats. Our food was absolutely delicious. One of us had the beautifully arranged, fresh and delicious Boathouse salad. Probably one of the top salads I have ever had. Perfection! We also had the fish and chips. They were very nicely cooked and excellent as well. But perhaps the best thing in our visit was our server Heidi. She was so friendly and fun. She was also extremely fast in getting us our drinks and food, and asking if we needed anything throughout our meal. She made us feel right at home. The Boathouse is lucky to have such a bright and professional person as Heidi on their team. You would think I am a relative of Heidi's, by this review, but I am just a visitor from Florida who recognizes a truly nice person and truly great service. Don't miss the Boathouse if you are in Midland. You won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Footsox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy R, General Manager at The Boathouse Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you for noticing all of the hard work Heidi, as well as the rest of our staff here put in everyday! As for the Boathouse Salad, we agree, perfection!

Come back and visit Heidi, and the rest of us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 516 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Sat inside but there's a great patio outside, we had a great view of the marina , Cher our server was great , lots of choices on the menu , very fast service, we finished our appetizer and our main course was there , very large portions ! And WOW a must try for dessert is the caramel carrot cake / cheesecake !!!! AMAZING:)

Thank Sharlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy R, General Manager at The Boathouse Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

So happy you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Boathouse Eatery. Even more thrilled you were able to experience Cher and her 'room warming presence'!

Side note, the caramel carrot cake/cheesecake should be served with a disclaimer... 'Highly Addictive'!!!

See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Usually the food is quite good, but recently on Friday the 11th, my favourite; the boathouse burger, was tasteless, and still raw. My wife ordered the cheddar bacon burger, and the burger was burned black. The fried onions were missing on both

Thank Ventje-Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Booked a reservation for 10 ppl for a public school reunion and got a table outside. The service started off great but because we were waiting for people to show up between 5-6 the server started to get really pushy about ordered appetizers and drinks. I told him a few times that we were waiting for others and would let him know when we wanted something and in one ear and out the other. He came back 3 times!!! in 15 minutes trying to get us to orders appetizers so to make him go away we ordered a few plates. When the rest of the group showed up he would not let us just visit without asking over and over for us to order our main. One of the woman in the group wanted more time but he would not leave so she relented and just ordered a salad and another got chicken fingers. What a disappointing experience and something I have never before experienced in a restaurant.

Presentation of food was good but not substantial. I ate cajun catfish which lacked the cajun flavour.

And at the end of the evening (9:30) we rushed off the patio as the resident skunk they called "Cindy" was making its rounds of the patio to eat the leftovers. The servers did not seem concerned even though it apparently sprayed the evening before but that was the end to our night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevesview2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

I ordered the same burger on two different occasions the Cheddar Bacon Onion Burger - and both times the onion rings were missed - while they were brought over, I just don't get it. It was a great burger, but how do you 2 different times with 2 different waitress miss one of the items from the order? Wish the fries were steak cut (twice fried) would kick it over the ball park - other than thank can't complain ;)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy R, General Manager at The Boathouse Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Really sorry to hear we missed a crucial ingredient on the Cheddar Bacon Onion Burger... Twice!

I'd love to discuss this with you. Feel free to call me at the restaurant at your leisure.
705 527 7480 ask for me, Jeremy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Eatery also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing