We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$162
Fully refundable before Thu, Mar 14
CrownePlaza.com
C$162
Fully refundable before Thu, Mar 14
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
Algotels
C$140
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
133
129
61
28
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
133
129
61
28
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley aqua restaurant breakfast buffet sauna concert vanity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 393 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Stayed at this hotel for an event. Front desk did a great job at dealing with a number of individuals from the group who were making frequent and unusual requests.

Rooms are clean and modern, but there are some functional issues. HVAC system is really loud and makes it difficult to sleep properly - wear earplugs! Bathrooms are too small though, without a locking door, and barely any space to put things or hang things. Overly modern glass partition for the shower (without a curtain or enough space) means water easily sprays outside of the shower. The idea is ok, but it seems no one tested out a concept room before renovating all of the rooms this way. The bathrooms could easily have been made bigger without compromising the space in the rooms.

Gym and pool are decent, as are food offerings within the hotel.

Parking lots should have clear signs to indicate accessible routes (level access or elevators) for getting into the hotel. Lots of stairs which can be difficult to navigate. Light rail construction on Charles St. made accessing the lot a bit more challenging, but there are clear signs on the streets near the hotel indicating where to go. I experienced no delays as a result.

Would consider again if in the area.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy D, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Thank you for your positive review. Your feedback is important to us. We will bring up the issues you mentioned at our next management meeting, especially the signs in the parking lot. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

We had to stay at the Crowne Plaza due to a house fire. We were in shock and not able to think clearly. All the staff has been very helpful in making sure we have everything we need. They have accommodated us with both our pets as well. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. First night here on August 19th, we had a new staff member (only his 4th day of working here) at front desk I think his name is Derek, he made sure any issues were straightened out before we went to sleep that night so that we could rest easy. We have been enjoying our stay very much and this will be home for at least a week.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy D, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Dear Sandy H,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and 5 star review. I am happy that we were able to meet your expectations and needs during a stressful time for you and your family.

I have shared your comments with our staff so they too can celebrate their successes.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Plush, clean, comfortable room, too bad the door seemed to be made with cardboard as one could hear every little thing that went on in the corridor. I would have said a 5 star if the room had been a lot quieter. Unfortunately the Wi-Fi was down for the first 18(?) hours, perhaps due to the construction going on around the hotel. Something I would imagine that was beyond the hotels control.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from party goers & wedding parties!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy D, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Dear philindy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you found our room decor to be plush, clean and comfortable. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the noise on your floor and our internet being down. We were working as hard as we could with our vendor to get our internet service back up as quickly as possible so as to avoid any inconveniences to our guests such as yourself.

I do hope that you would choose to stay with us again in the future so we can provide you with the 5 star stay that you should have experienced.

Sincerely yours,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We were in town for our son's wedding and family members booked here as it was close to venue. Getting back to our room at 2 am we were looking forward to longer sleep in than we got. In the room next door the people went out and left their dog. It barked yelped whined non stop from about 7:30 till we checked out.
We called the desk around 8ish and they said they would call. But no one answered.
However they did not go and knock on the door or we would have heard them.
I went down to get a luggage cart -which they did not have and they offered to move us into another room? Huh really? I said no we are leaving, but did you go to the room yet? No they just kept calling the room and said the people must be sleeping, I said no way they are not there or the dog would not be acting like that.
They did make an adjustment to our bill 10% but I feel it should have been complementary or they could have offered us a free stay- that costs them nothing.
My review could cost them much more overall.
I think they only have 1 luggage cart as none of us could get one.
It will affect my choice in the future as there are a lot of hotels to choose from.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyRunner464
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy D, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Dear HappyRunner464,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay. On behalf of our entire hotel staff, we sincerely apologize that your stay was inconvenienced by the barking dog in the next room. We definitely are not happy with the way the situation was handled and I assure you that I will be following up with my front desk staff about your experience to ensure that this does not happen in the future. We do have more than one luggage cart available, however, they could have been in use when you were looking to utilize them. Again please accept our apologies.

I do hope that you will reconsider to stay with us again in the future and that you contact me directly to make your reservation.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Hotel access brutal due to construction. Can't be helped it's city construction not hotel. The signs were good but still difficult.
We had friends come to hotel w baby. There is no easy way to get around with a stroller. We had to carry up an down stairs to get to the lobby. We asked about elevator, yes but we still had to do a flight of stairs. Totally unacceptable.
The pool an hot tub are awesome but the floor is extremely slippery. The set up is not great no washrooms readily available. You either have to find the fitness person to give u a code to get in or walk all the way down to front lobby. When u have kids NOT user friendly. The staff maintenance as we asked where washrooms were was very rude. Never could find the fitness recreation person. So we had to leave area to use washroom. Not happy at all.
The rooms were great clean comfy tidy.
They do have cool arcade an bowling alley an mini putt. Yet couldn't find a fitness rec person.
Looks like a kid friendly hotel. But really it's not the set up w pool an hot tub an washrooms all on different floors makes it difficult especially if u are a single parent travelling. Our night sleep was great so I was ready to forgive all until I made my coffee an the coffee maker wouldn't work correctly!! So would I stay here again absolutely not. For a Crowne Plaza I was very disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank pattyfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy D, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I am disappointed to hear about the challenges you met and that we were not able to meet your needs and expectations of what a Crowne Plaza stay should be. I will be forwarding your comments to our department managers so that we can ensure that the issues you faced during your stay are rectified and will not inconvenience other guests.

I do hope that you would reconsider staying with us again in the future so we can show you what the Crowne Plaza experience is all about. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to further discuss your stay.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews