We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
79
36
19
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
36
19
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee culture coffee station hotel is newly renovated historic hotel paper bag municipal lot front desk downtown kitchener stir sticks modern fixtures barber shop public parking cocktail lounge berlin restaurant parking validation handwritten note fresh milk
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 152 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2017

We recently returned this past weekend to the Walper, after being married there 10 years ago. From the time I booked the room, to check-in, to check-out, the experience was top notch. We've stayed at several boutique hotels in big cities, and the Walper gives them all a run for their money. The price was beyond reasonable, and the new renovations are nothing short of spectacular. When we arrived, the young lady working the front desk recommended we visit the cocktail lounge if we had the time. I'm so glad we did. The musician was great, and the cocktails were unbelievable! The bartender was really friendly and took great care of us! Upon arriving in our room, we had a beautiful handwritten note, as well as a nice dessert for two, thanks us for returning after all these years. The room was beautiful, bed was comfortable, and we didn't hear a peep all night. The shower was amazing, with really nice toiletries! The heated floors were an added bonus! We requested breakfast in our room the next morning (I requested this when I booked the room), and the order came right on time, piping hot, and was delicious. The coffee in the room was amazing as well! My only suggestion would be to leave creamers in the room-- we had to call down for these and they were sent up immediately. Every interaction we had with the staff (a special thanks to Darnell, who was beyond helpful and went above and beyond in helping me book this surprise for my husband!!!) was pleasant. All in all, the hotel far exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ericah223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Hello Erica H,

Congrats on your 10 year anniversary! Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your love story! We are so pleased to hear that we lived up to your expectations and that our staff provided the warm welcome you deserved and we strive for.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are in fact modifying our coffee system to include the necessary amenities in-room prior to a guest checking in to ensure convenience, thanks to feedback from awesome guests like yourself.

We look forward to hosting you again on your future big anniversaries, and any days in-between :)

Warm regards,

Domini Baldasaro
General Manager
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Was great to spend a night at the Walper Hotel after it's remodel. Rooms are fresh and modern witch was a nice touch with the historic hotel. TWS is a great restaurant to have a meal or just drinks with friends. The central location gives you access to many of the shop and night life.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ktowngalKitchener_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Hey ktowngalKitchener_ON,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Walper Hotel and for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed the location and our restaurant downstairs. We see that you graciously rated us 4-stars, which we are grateful for, but we'd love to make that a 5-star the next time you stay with us :)

We hope to host you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Domini Baldasaro
General Manager
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the night of our wedding and weren't disappointed. We are KW locals and we're so impressed with renovations! Beautiful. Love the hipster coffee set up in the rooms! We might take advantage of one of their 'KW locals' deal in the future for a staycation. Thanks to all the wonderful staff who made our stay so special.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank THtheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2016

It's great to finally have a real boutique hotel in KW. The quality of the rooms, cocktail bar and staff now finally match the beautiful exterior of the hotel. Have only had the opportunity to stay one night so far, but service was excellent, the room was great and cocktails delicious. Expect to be staying a lot more in 2017.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmlplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2016

Hi cmlplunkett,

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay at The Walper Hotel.

We love hearing feedback from our guests and are so pleased to offer our amazing Waterloo Region the high level of service its residents deserve in our boutique hotel.

We're especially glad to hear you are planning on visiting us more in 2017 -- we look forward to it!

Warm regards,

Domini Baldasaro
General Manager
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2016

On the plus side, beautiful hotel, quaint, with qualities you do not see at the chain hotels. I will definitely stay here again. The staff truly cared about the place and you could tell they had a lot of pride in their workplace. The bar and restaurant on the 2nd floor were excellent. Our crew spent a lot of time there.
Two items to work on. The HVAC in the rooms needs work, I could never get the heat right in the room. Too warm at night. And secondly, please please rethink the coffee thing. Please put it in the room. Even thought I signed up for delivery, it never showed up 2 of the 3 mornings, and for the 3rd I got it the night before. Nothing worse for a coffee lover to not be able to get a coffee when they wake up. And it really was a fair bit of work to make the coffee once you got it. That said, I have forgotten my stays at a lot of chains, but I won't forget the Walper.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2016

Hi Tim N,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for your review of The Walper Hotel. We truly value guest feedback such as yours.

We're really pleased you noticed how much our staff care about our hotel.

Your feedback about the coffee not showing up one morning as well as the delivery system itself has been noted. We are currently refining our system to make it as convenient (and fresh and delicious) as possible as it can be for our guests. Expect it to already be in your room ready to go the next time you choose to stay with us.

Again, your feedback is so valuable to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Warm regards,

Domini Baldasaro
General Manager
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews