We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class trip to the Museum”
Review of THEMUSEUM

THEMUSEUM
Ranked #11 of 54 things to do in Kitchener
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are THEMUSEUM - oneword, UPPERCASE. We are a new kind of museum - one of ideas and experiences. No dusty objects, no collections, and no velvet ropes here. We are dedicated to presenting fresh, relevant cultural content from around the globe in unique and interactive ways that intersect art, science, culture and technology. We are a premier cultural destination and a hub for creative thinking and inspired play. From Andy Warhol to Jane Goodall to Titanic to Yoko Ono, THEMUSEUM is the only museum around that is bold enough to feature such a wide range of cultural content under one roof. We offer a diverse array of exhibitions, programs, and events for children, youth, families and adults guaranteed to awe, inspire and enlighten all audiences. Featuring five floors and 55,000 square feet of interactive exhibitions, THEMUSEUM has a little bit of everything...and a whole lot of imagination, education, and good ol' fashion family fun. The public hours for THEMUSEUM are subject to change. Please visit our website for updates.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Last year I went with my son on a class trip to the Museum...it was a great learning experience and lots of fun! They especially enjoyed the artwork upstairs

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna v, Public Relations Manager at THEMUSEUM, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here!

Best,

Jenna van Klaveren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water table"
in 10 reviews
"second floor"
in 12 reviews
"interactive activities"
in 11 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"four floors"
in 5 reviews
"admission price"
in 5 reviews
"sensory room"
in 3 reviews
"on wednesdays"
in 3 reviews
"on display"
in 7 reviews
"bus routes"
in 2 reviews
"bottom floor"
in 2 reviews
"parking garage"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 10 reviews
"t rex"
in 3 reviews
"social media"
in 4 reviews
"a great place to spend"
in 3 reviews
"an art gallery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2017

we came here without planning as we had a bit of extra time. although there were a few interesting exhibits, it was quite small. even with young children it was a stretch to spend more than an hour here.
if you have toddlers, there is a neat snoozelen room on the main floor.

Thank swk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Nice for both adults and kids. They always have a few floors of events and attractions! My nephews love the place, especially the interactive activities!

Thank Anestis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna v, Public Relations Manager at THEMUSEUM, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here!

Best,

Jenna van Klaveren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

This museum is housed in a former department store in downtown Kitchener, and the history of that place and how it became a museum would've been an interesting display. But they didn't do that. The museum seemed to be more geared for children than adults. The displays, such has the carnival artwork and artifact display and the indigenous painting exhibit were interesting, but quite small. We usually spend close to anentire day at a museum, but we were finished with this place in about an hour.

2  Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 10, 2017

Hi Paul,

Thank you for your review.

We will definitely keep this in mind as we plan future exhibitions.

Best,

Jenna van Klaveren
Brand Manager
THEMUSEUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

Attended a wedding in Kitchener this weekend so went to the museum to kill some time before the wedding. We had two small kids (ages 4 and 2) and they LOVED the kids area (adults did too!) beyond that the museum was small and the other exhibits were not very interesting. A tour guide was arguing politics with a patron (very rudely) which was off putting.

1  Thank raseitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed THEMUSEUM also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to THEMUSEUM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing