We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent presentation of an important early settler in Berlin (now Kitchener)”

Schneider Haus National Historic Site
Ranked #7 of 54 things to do in Kitchener
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A local landmark and one of Kitchener's oldest dwellings. Schneider Haus National Historic Site features hands-on activities, special events, and more for the whole family! History comes to life as costumed staff demonstrate traditional tasks through the seasons. Also features a modern interpretation wing that hosts gallery exhibits, workshops and lectures. The heart of the complex is an 1816 Georgian-frame farmhouse that was built by and was home to the area's earliest non-Aboriginal settlers, Joseph and wife Barbara Schneider, who were Pennsylvania-German Mennonites.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

The Schneider Haus greatly exceeded our expectations. Not only was the house impressive and the artifacts interesting but the staff were "over the top" enthusiastic, knowledgeable, helpful and patient. Our 10 year old granddaughter was particularly impressed; not an easy feat.

1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations on your recent visit and especially that your 10 year old granddaughter enjoyed her time at Schneider Haus. Thank you for your comments about our staff. I'll be sure to let them know how much you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lots of history"
in 3 reviews
"historical treasure"
in 2 reviews
"learn something"
in 3 reviews
"victoria park"
in 5 reviews
"living history"
in 2 reviews
"pioneer village"
in 2 reviews
"joseph"
in 9 reviews
"settlers"
in 6 reviews
"school"
in 5 reviews
"pennsylvania"
in 2 reviews
"fabric"
in 2 reviews
"community"
in 3 reviews
"exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"kw"
in 3 reviews
"information"
in 3 reviews
"artists"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 64 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2017

Our Japanese student friend enjoyed his visit to Schneider House in July 2016. He learned about the Mennonite immigration from America to Canada and the frugal lifestyle that the people endured especially in Canadian winter.
Each time we bring a guest to Schneider House, we learn something new. It as an important historical treasure to have in our community.

Thank canadajapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

We're pleased your friend from Japan enjoyed visiting Schneider Haus in July. Thank you for continuing to bring your guests and sharing your positive experiences with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

The pieces of art that you will see in this fabric venue are amazing. They are submitted by artists across Canada. We easily spent 2 hours at this exhibit, savouring each piece and admiring the variety of materials used and the quilting that enhanced the work. We were three quilters with considerable experience and many of the pieces were mind blowing. They obviously took years to create. So much talent expressing itself in so many varied ways.

Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Thank you for your kind words about the exhibit "Oh! Canada" The Grand National Quilt Show. We're pleased you enjoyed it. The works are truly amazing. The exhibit is on until September 3, 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017

It was just dumb luck that got us there after a school tour, but we had the whole place to ourselves with two very friendly, helpful knowledgeable tour guides dressed in traditional 19th century Mennonite wear who showed us every inch of the place, and answered in great detail all of our questions. As an extra added bonus, the had a magnificent quilt display. But these weren't your grandmother's quilts! They resembled exquisite paintings and murals, and that alone was well worth the admission.

1  Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

I'm pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to Schneider Haus. The wonderful Oh! Canada quilt exhibit you mentioned is on until September 3, 2017. Thank you so much for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017

This is a great little find. Lots of history of the Mennonite settlement of the area and the migration from Pennsylvania. Costumed guides are well trained and have much above average historical knowledge.

At the time of my visit, the adjacent gallery had the national quilt show which was stunning

Thank PrisReck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you for sharing your great experience here at Schneider Haus. The Oh! Canada Grand National Quilt show is on until September 3, 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schneider Haus National Historic Site also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Schneider Haus National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing