We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schneider Haus National Historic Site
Open today: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Right in the heart of downtown

If you are out for a stroll or going to one of the many activities at Victoria Park, walk a few... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
browncondo2102
,
Kitchener, Canada
Home to the Area’s Earliest Non-Aboriginal Settlers

A local landmark, Schneider Haus is the oldest surviving Kitchener dwelling. It was built around... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
burr6013
,
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
44
22
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lots of history lancaster county historical treasure spring house learn something victoria park pioneer village joseph settlers attic life school refrigeration interpreter fabric community stories
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 69 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Our Japanese student friend enjoyed his visit to Schneider House in July 2016. He learned about the Mennonite immigration from America to Canada and the frugal lifestyle that the people endured especially in Canadian winter.
Each time we bring a guest to Schneider House, we learn something new. It as an important historical treasure to have in our community.

Thank canadajapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

We're pleased your friend from Japan enjoyed visiting Schneider Haus in July. Thank you for continuing to bring your guests and sharing your positive experiences with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

The pieces of art that you will see in this fabric venue are amazing. They are submitted by artists across Canada. We easily spent 2 hours at this exhibit, savouring each piece and admiring the variety of materials used and the quilting that enhanced the work. We were three quilters with considerable experience and many of the pieces were mind blowing. They obviously took years to create. So much talent expressing itself in so many varied ways.

Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Thank you for your kind words about the exhibit "Oh! Canada" The Grand National Quilt Show. We're pleased you enjoyed it. The works are truly amazing. The exhibit is on until September 3, 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017

It was just dumb luck that got us there after a school tour, but we had the whole place to ourselves with two very friendly, helpful knowledgeable tour guides dressed in traditional 19th century Mennonite wear who showed us every inch of the place, and answered in great detail all of our questions. As an extra added bonus, the had a magnificent quilt display. But these weren't your grandmother's quilts! They resembled exquisite paintings and murals, and that alone was well worth the admission.

1  Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

I'm pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to Schneider Haus. The wonderful Oh! Canada quilt exhibit you mentioned is on until September 3, 2017. Thank you so much for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

This is a great little find. Lots of history of the Mennonite settlement of the area and the migration from Pennsylvania. Costumed guides are well trained and have much above average historical knowledge.

At the time of my visit, the adjacent gallery had the national quilt show which was stunning

Thank PrisReck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you for sharing your great experience here at Schneider Haus. The Oh! Canada Grand National Quilt show is on until September 3, 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017

Take your family and friends to experience pioneer life of the Mennonite community. The Haus features exhibits along with
talks, workshops and information about the Joseph Schneider family. Lovely quilts displays and other craft exhibits. Also the gardens are interesting.

Thank billmarionm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thanks for the kind words! And for mentioning all the things to do and see here at Schneider Haus including visiting the gardens. We have a four square traditional Mennonite garden on site as well as a "schtick" garden across the street that contains some field crops.

Our website lists the current and upcoming events, activities, and exhibits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews