We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schneider Haus National Historic Site
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Right in the heart of downtown

If you are out for a stroll or going to one of the many activities at Victoria Park, walk a few... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
browncondo2102
,
Kitchener, Canada
Home to the Area’s Earliest Non-Aboriginal Settlers

A local landmark, Schneider Haus is the oldest surviving Kitchener dwelling. It was built around... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
burr6013
,
Mississauga, Canada
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
44
22
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lots of history lancaster county historical treasure spring house victoria park learn something living history pioneer village joseph settlers attic refrigeration interpreter costumes fabric community stories
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 69 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2018

As my photos indicate, it's more than the primary house, with several ancient outbuildings so you almost feel like you are in a tiny village. It was closed the day I took these photos but we toured it previously. Do check their web sites to determine when it's open. (Reopens Feb. 17).

Parking: I strongly suggest parking at Victoria Park, easily found with a map or GPS. From the park, cross David St. and you'll see a trail leading directly to the Haus.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Peter_K_B_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

I planned on visiting this location, expecting it to be perhaps a 30 minute stay. We were there for maybe an hour and a half. We have a guided tour throughout the house and property by the most knowledgeable young man I have ever come across. I wish I could remember his name, but he defiantly made our visit one of the best parts of our trip in the area. I highly recommend a visit to this location, you will not be disappointed!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank richs194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

The Schneider Haus greatly exceeded our expectations. Not only was the house impressive and the artifacts interesting but the staff were "over the top" enthusiastic, knowledgeable, helpful and patient. Our 10 year old granddaughter was particularly impressed; not an easy feat.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations on your recent visit and especially that your 10 year old granddaughter enjoyed her time at Schneider Haus. Thank you for your comments about our staff. I'll be sure to let them know how much you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Our Japanese student friend enjoyed his visit to Schneider House in July 2016. He learned about the Mennonite immigration from America to Canada and the frugal lifestyle that the people endured especially in Canadian winter.
Each time we bring a guest to Schneider House, we learn something new. It as an important historical treasure to have in our community.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank canadajapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

We're pleased your friend from Japan enjoyed visiting Schneider Haus in July. Thank you for continuing to bring your guests and sharing your positive experiences with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

The pieces of art that you will see in this fabric venue are amazing. They are submitted by artists across Canada. We easily spent 2 hours at this exhibit, savouring each piece and admiring the variety of materials used and the quilting that enhanced the work. We were three quilters with considerable experience and many of the pieces were mind blowing. They obviously took years to create. So much talent expressing itself in so many varied ways.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Thank you for your kind words about the exhibit "Oh! Canada" The Grand National Quilt Show. We're pleased you enjoyed it. The works are truly amazing. The exhibit is on until September 3, 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews