We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schneider Haus National Historic Site
Ranked #6 of 31 things to do in Kitchener
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A local landmark and one of Kitchener's oldest dwellings. Schneider Haus National Historic Site features hands-on activities, special events, and more for the whole family! History comes to life as costumed staff demonstrate traditional tasks through the seasons. Also features a modern interpretation wing that hosts gallery exhibits, workshops and lectures. The heart of the complex is an 1816 Georgian-frame farmhouse that was built by and was home to the area's earliest non-Aboriginal settlers, Joseph and wife Barbara Schneider, who were Pennsylvania-German Mennonites.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

If you are bored, going to his house is definitely a fun time filler. Lots of fun events to go to and a lot of fun for the young ones!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Jazminepalmer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lots of history"
in 3 reviews
"lancaster county"
in 2 reviews
"historical treasure"
in 2 reviews
"spring house"
in 2 reviews
"victoria park"
in 7 reviews
"learn something"
in 3 reviews
"living history"
in 2 reviews
"pioneer village"
in 2 reviews
"joseph"
in 10 reviews
"settlers"
in 7 reviews
"attic"
in 4 reviews
"refrigeration"
in 2 reviews
"interpreter"
in 2 reviews
"costumes"
in 4 reviews
"fabric"
in 2 reviews
"community"
in 3 reviews
"stories"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2018

Learn how a family prepared for winter or conducted everyday tasks such as cooking, cleaning or preserving food in early Kitchener.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank rhino20004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

As my photos indicate, it's more than the primary house, with several ancient outbuildings so you almost feel like you are in a tiny village. It was closed the day I took these photos but we toured it previously. Do check their web sites to determine when it's open. (Reopens Feb. 17).

Parking: I strongly suggest parking at Victoria Park, easily found with a map or GPS. From the park, cross David St. and you'll see a trail leading directly to the Haus.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Peter_K_B_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

I planned on visiting this location, expecting it to be perhaps a 30 minute stay. We were there for maybe an hour and a half. We have a guided tour throughout the house and property by the most knowledgeable young man I have ever come across. I wish I could remember his name, but he defiantly made our visit one of the best parts of our trip in the area. I highly recommend a visit to this location, you will not be disappointed!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank richs194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2017

The Schneider Haus greatly exceeded our expectations. Not only was the house impressive and the artifacts interesting but the staff were "over the top" enthusiastic, knowledgeable, helpful and patient. Our 10 year old granddaughter was particularly impressed; not an easy feat.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B, Historic Sites Supervisor at Schneider Haus National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations on your recent visit and especially that your 10 year old granddaughter enjoyed her time at Schneider Haus. Thank you for your comments about our staff. I'll be sure to let them know how much you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schneider Haus National Historic Site also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Schneider Haus National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing