We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Grant S

Walleye Fishing Trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 10, 2022
My family and I went up for a 4 day fishing trip and had an ABSOLUTE blast!! Jordan, Christina and the rest of the staff were monumental in making our experience amazing.
We did the American plan and highly recommend it because it took the food prep out of our hands and let us focus on our main goal; catching fish! Might I add, all of the food was delicious and nothing can beat Shore lunch.
We will for sure be coming back because of how much fun we had and because of the great hospitality offered by Big Narrows.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordon Christie, General Manager at Big Narrows Resort, responded to this review
Responded Nov 26, 2022
It was super great to meet you guys, you are our type of people! Happy, fun, and always so very thankful, it was truly a pleasure to host you this year! We would love to see you guys again next year and hope you can make it happen! Have a great winter eh!

Jordon, Cristina and the BNR Crew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$243
  • Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    C$243
  • Hotels.com
28.3 km from Big Narrows Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
29.1 km from Big Narrows Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$227
C$215
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$215
29.0 km from Big Narrows Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Room With Two Double Bed
C$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$120
27.3 km from Big Narrows Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    C$229
  • Hotels.com
29.1 km from Big Narrows Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$251
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
25.7 km from Big Narrows Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    C$270
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$267
  • Hotels.com
28.5 km from Big Narrows Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Double Queen Lakeview Room
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    C$199
  • Expedia.com
    C$269
25.8 km from Big Narrows Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge & Sydney's Outpost
    181.7 km from Big Narrows Resort
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    Single Room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      C$155
    27.7 km from Big Narrows Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kenora
    Reviews (49)
    Filter reviews
    49 results
    Traveller rating
    38
    6
    0
    0
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    38
    6
    0
    0
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews american plan walleye fish great canadian cristina jordon sham muskie shore cabin woods lake docks goal smallies boat supper
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 49 reviews
    Reviewed August 30, 2022

    Just returned from our 4th visit to Big Narrows Resort. The reasons my son and I keep returning to BNR are fantastic fishing, beautiful scenery and phenomenal levels of service provided by Jordon, Cristina, Cheryl, Sham and the rest. We highly recommend the American plan for fine dining in the great Canadian wilderness to make the trip more enjoyable. The attentive service of the BNR crew is greatly appreciated and we are sure to be back again next year for visit number 5!

    Date of stay: August 2022
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank K1264RFfrankw
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jordon Christie, General Manager at Big Narrows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2022

    Thanks again for the continued support! We appreciate it so very much, then on top of that we leave us wonderful reviews, on top of that you bring Daniela amazing presents! Which she loves so much and is using here while we are in Ecuador.
    Looking forward to seeing you guys next year, I hear maybe you'll be adding to the group so that's super exciting. Have a safe winter!

    Jordon, Cristina and the BNR Crew.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 28, 2022

    Our group (husbands & wives) was looking for a Canadian fishing experience where our diverse fishing group (experienced to novice) could find an enjoyable vacation and…. BNR was a Bullseye! First, I want to say thanks to Jordon, Cristina, Bill, Sham, Clara, Katarina, and Jordan’s Mom (Sorry, I didn’t catch your name but will be coming back for more brownies!). This staff works hard to make sure your stay is a good one but also has fun…. Even during a flood!
    To simplify the review… I’m booked again for next summer! As long as Jordon and staff are there I know our week will be enjoyable.
    The fishing… my wife didn’t care to fish sun-up to sun-down but hauled in her share of smallies, walleye, and a few pike. I was fortunate enough to catch my first Muskie and had a follow by one even bigger.
    The food… Hats off to those in the kitchen for making all those great meals. It was nice to sit around the table with our group and chat about the day. My wife happened to have a bday while at BNR and the staff was so nice to help celebrate. I will just say the staff went above and beyond for the bday dinner and especially the brownies! Thanks again for making it very memorable.
    To summarize, if you are looking for a large and glitzy fishing camp with a sterile corporate feel and no character, don’t look at BNR. If you want a genuine experience, great food, wonderful scenery and timeless memories.... BNR is the ticket. My wife and I really enjoyed our week and are already thinking about our trip next summer. The week we are there in ‘23 will not fall on my wife’s bday but I’m still hoping for those brownies!!!

    Date of stay: July 2022
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Scott J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jordon Christie, General Manager at Big Narrows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2022

    Hola, buenos dias! Thank you for choosing Big Narrows this year for your fishing vacation, we are so glad you came this year, you guys are super great people. We are definitely looking forward to seeing you all next year. We really appreciate the time you took to write this amazing review. Hope you have a great winter eh! See you next year!
    P.S. Mom a.k.a.Cheryl a.k.a. Masterchef, said she would have some brownies ready upon arrival for you next year! haha

    Jordon, Cristina and the BNR Crew.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 20, 2022

    Jordon, Christina, and the staff were amazing! I cannot say enough about how great the staff is at BNR. They did everything in their power to make our vacation the best it could be. With water levels at extremely high levels, they made sure the docks and walkways were accessible. The food was outstanding, and the views from our cabins were second to none. The fishing was awesome and we never had to go far to reach good spots. We only wanted to do three things- Fish, relax, and eat. The team at Big Narrows made sure everything was taken care of so we could do just that!!

    Date of stay: July 2022
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank obedpatty
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jordon Christie, General Manager at Big Narrows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2022

    Well, we cannot say how much we appreciate the kind words and the amazing review! It was a pleasure to host you guys and we hope the same crew can all make it again in 2023!

    Thanks again!

    Jordon, Cristina and the BNR Crew.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 8, 2022

    Five of us spent a week at Big Narrows Resort on Lake of the Woods. We had a fantastic time. Jordan and his staff worked extremely hard to make our trip a huge success. We caught lots of Walleye and enjoyed a shore lunch every day. We saw 8 large Musky and were able to boat two. The boats, bait and fishing locations were superb. We ate breakfast and supper in the lodge and the meals were all 5 star. Our cabins were clean, solid and comfortable with great views. We are planning our next trip already.

    Date of stay: June 2022
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank S4293EDtimothym
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jordon Christie, General Manager at Big Narrows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2022

    Thank you very much for the great review, we truly appreciate the time taken to write it, can't wait to see you all next year! Have a great winter.

    Jordon, Cristina and the BNR Crew.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed June 25, 2022

    A truly beautiful setting on the western shore of the Lake of the Woods. Jordon, Christina, and the staff were great. The resort had everything we needed for fishing and the fishing was excellent. We caught lots of walleye, some northern and smallies, and even a few muskies. And out on the lake fishing we saw a baby moose, a bear, and lots of deer and bald eagles.

    Date of stay: June 2022
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Curiosity549143
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jordon Christie, General Manager at Big Narrows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2022

    Hi there, glad you guys had another great trip and was awesome to see you all again after two missed years.....
    Thank you for the super review, we are looking forward to seeing you all next year.

    Jordon, Cristina and the BNR Crew.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews