We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful but closed

This past weekend I was in Huntsville with a friend and saw a picture of the bend in the river at... read more

Reviewed October 17, 2018
Tracy W
via mobile
Lots of walking trails!

We stayed at the park in July 2018. We had a great site and it looked like there were alot of... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
Kamie D
,
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Read all 625 reviews
  
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
375
182
40
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
182
40
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skating trail stubbs falls ice skating cross country skiing east river big bend roe comfort station winter activities flush toilets great camping hiking trails dog beach tiki torch bring your own running water great trails
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 625 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018

We enjoyed the Stubbs Falls trail - lovely falls. We tried another hike but were getting too many bug bites so we left.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank swtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Camping trip mid-August, nice park, well maintained. Campsites are a little bit uneven so you have to be mindful where you put your tent in case of flooding. Washrooms were clean, however, there was no hot water at the end of the day, but if you take a shower at 9 am you find hot water. But is not important at the end of the day you are camping, who cares about hot water!
Great place to go, nice activities by the lake, shallow water for kids.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Flia. V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

We stayed for a week in the East River Campground on site 296. The site was level, large and super private. The park was at capacity while we were there and you could not tell.

We hiked all of the trails that were open and they offered a great view and experience for our little guys. Some were easier than others but they all had tons of mosquitoes when you hit the boggy areas (we were also treated to a ton of rain).

The beach was awesome with clear water and the ability to walk out a good distance.

Fishing was not great, smaller bass available this time of year, went hunting for their parents but were unsuccessful. If you are a deep water mid summer trout fisherman I bet you could have a hay-day at this park!

Staff was good and the bathrooms were decent. They were power-washed every other day with water, no chemicals to clean them so they were not spotless but they did the trick!

We went into town as well on this trip, nice and close to downtown Huntsville, maybe a 10 minute drive down the road, what a cool place to check out if you havent been!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

I was surprised with my first visit here. There is a beautiful water fall, that you can actually walk along and take photos. The other outstanding feature is a glacial ridge with a lower river formation that looks like a circle. Terrific place to take photos. Best time to go is in the fall. Not so many campers and the foliage colours jump out.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank allyismydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

It's a very beautiful place for both camping and day use. The water at the two beaches are very clean and the Stubb Falls and the Big Bend Lookout are great photo spots. The new Park Store is very beautiful and overall, the park is very clean.

A few things not so favorable are:
There is one comfort station per campground. For the one we have at Lumby South, the water temperature varies greatly among the 5 stalls and it's CRAZY! The first one on the right can be boiling hot and runs for 20 mins non-stop (long enough for you to get done/dressed and leave, and the next camper undresses and can continue to use it. Imagine the steam it when one opens the door!), while the one on the left has pretty cold water and one press of the button can only last a short stream of water. Seems like the one on the right takes all the hot water which is mostly wasted :-(

Canoe rental - $15/2 hrs which is very affordable, $21/4 hrs & only $33 for a full day. Many campers wanted to rent them but for the whole Sunday many couldn't get one, despite there were >12 on the rack for the whole day, why? Because some campers paid $33 and held them there and many of us couldn't use them. I'd recommend that the price for a full day to be increased to make more sense (and more revenue for the park) or set a limit of number of canoes which can be rented for full day, or even more fair (and more income for the park), no full day rental at all, otherwise, it's too easy for selfish campers to pay a bit more but hold up almost all of them there and tens of disappointed campers have no chance to enjoy them.

Firewood - We've been to numerous camp sites and this is the most confusing park. When we tried to buy wood from the office (where a shed filled with firewood was close by and a poster saying "We sell fire wood", they directed us to go to the designated place to get them. So this firewood place is a huge storage with a stand-alone ~200sf air-conditioned office where you can pay for the firewood (why using so much resources for 1 single function?). The next day we went there to buy wood again but it was closed. Went back to the gate/office and they said we could get wood there. So whey didn't they just sell at the gate/office? Even the staff said it's weird.

We went onto the Homesteader's Trail and regretted about it, there was nothing but mosquitoes! Made me ponder if others knew about it so there was no one else using this trail (unlike other trails there were plenty other campers hiking). The trail was 1.5 hrs long and we couldn't bear anymore and left after 1 hr's walk (plus, in 1 hour we only saw a few rocks with a sign saying "stoned milk house".

Also, some people ignored the "no pets" sign and let their dogs play and swim at the beach. What can the other campers do? Don't want to start a quarrel and ruin the mood.

Despite these few things the place is beautiful and it's worthwhile to go camping there.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank NutritionistJenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews