We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
18
27
17
2
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
27
17
2
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi flat screen tv coffee maker comfortable bed family restaurant mini fridge pull out couch within walking distance motel mattresses accommodation carpet highway
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 74 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2016

Stayed overnight, super clean rooms although a little small. Lovely lady on reception. Inn is in the centre of town so really close to everything. Beds are comfortable, great free wifi, heating was running was the room was toasty warm when we arrived.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2016

We always stay at the Huntsville Inn when visiting Huntsville not just because of the location but also because the rooms are clean and the family that run it are very friendly and attentive.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for a Double room with 2 x queen beds as we found the single rooms too restricted.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jay9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2016

My significant other (Deborah) and I travel often in other parts of the world (Asia/South America), and we usually try and stay in the least expensive place we can find. Why spend a lot of money for a hotel if we are going to be outside for most of our time while there? Of course we want safety for our things in the hotel...and reasonable comfort. That being said, we were pleasantly surprised at just how good this small hotel is: as others have mentioned, the owner of the hotel manages the desk and will likely be the one who greets you...and he is 100% polite, outgoing and willing to do pretty much anything within reason to make sure you are pleased with your stay here. As for the room, we stayed on the second floor - internet was 100% perfect at all times...and fast, fast. Our room was clean, tidy and made up everyday. There was ample space for two of us and our gear (we are photographers/scientists so have a lot of equipment) in a room with a king-sized bed. We also had a small couch in the room. Each room has a coffee maker that will make two small cups of coffee (locally made coffee provided, free - and it is good); the microwave in the room will heat up tea or anything else - worked 100% fine...and the bathroom was clean; water pressure good; hot water was excellent and fine controls of the tap was perfect...no leaking faucets/taps...bathroom was 100% clean and no mold/dirt anywhere. In other words the room was great in terms of function and cleanliness. So if you read something otherwise from another reviewer, I don't know what he/she wanted - because this hotel gets all the basics right. In addition, the parking lot has a security camera on it - that being said, Huntsville is an upscale town and it does not seem like much break-in crime occurs here. The hotel is centrally located from a KFC across the street (overpriced and not very good food for a KFC...no grilled chicken for example); a MacDonald's about 100 meters away...and any number of restaurants along the main road there. More important to us was the supermarket around the corner (7 minute walk) with really fine selection and even better prices...You can get fresh salad here and other vegetables (but not a roasted chicken). Since we spent almost five full days here in Huntsville visiting the nearby (60 minute drive to visitors center) Algonquin Provincial Park (late January 2016), we needed lunch on the road and dinner too - at a good price...and the supermarket (FreshCo) around the corner was superb for that. (As an aside in the park, the visitors center has reasonably priced coffee seven days per week, but food was overpriced - so we brought our own lunch/apples etc.).

Of all the less expensive hotels we have stayed at in North America, the Huntsville Inn ranks at the top - it is well-run, inexpensive - and does internet, hot water and safety perfectly. Our only recommendations would be: (a) mattresses are great new and no problems with the mattress per se...but they are of the type that tend to swallow you up such that getting up from lying down takes some effort...I guess what I am trying to say is that I prefer a mattress that is more firm...but that is my preference only; and (b) as will all hotels in upstate NY and Canada where we have stayed, the heat comes from a wall air-con-heater combo...and the it is difficult to precisely control the temperature in the room. We had ample hot air from our room unit...we were overheated at times (especially when asleep and the heat had been running for several hrs) - if there was a way to have an LCD with numbers on it that I could just punch in say, 20C rather than a dial that one turns...in other words some way to exactly set a temperature - that would be better. But let me be clear - the heater worked great (room was warm/hot withing 10 minutes)...Also, with these heaters that blow hot air, the relative humidity in the room was low (dry) - if there was a way to keep humidity higher that would have helped "dry mouth" syndrome - and "itchy" skin needing moisturizer. But again, almost all hotels in the region have this issue (dry heat) so this is not a negative against this hotel that we enjoyed so much.

Finally, during the week (Sun night through Thu night) you could probably just turn up and get a room in winter...(I cannot comment on the busy summer/autumn seasons), but on Fri and especially Saturday night, the place was full - better book in advance for weekends. We called the hotel directly and got the best price compared to Agoda/Priceline, etc...about $62.15 directly and given the price of the dollar compared to the looney, we saved $5/night from the US prices posted on those booking sites.

100% recommended - Huntsville Inn - Namaskar!

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and was very happy. The Inn is nothing super fancy, but was a great spot to stay. Close to everything, checkin was easy and friendly, staff happy to help with anything.

We stayed in an upstairs room and had no issues with noise. We were very warm and slept well (though the beds are very much on the soft side).

Would recommend!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Motel, convenient for a quick stop over. Room small, but sufficient for our one night stay. Being located on the first floor, you could hear noise from room above. Ice only available from manager in office, which was an inconvenience. Noisy A/C

Room Tip: Budget motel
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews