We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Night Stay in Hunstville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econolodge Huntsville
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 21 August 2017

My wife and I arrived on 14 August 2017, about 2:30 PM. We had to wait about 5 minutes for the front desk attendant to show up but he quickly found our reservation and checked us in. The foyer was tidy but there was an old water heater and a few other items sitting around at one end of the parking lot.
The room was on the 1st floor on the back side of the hotel facing a treed, steep bank, so it was quiet and had no parking lot lights shining on our window at night. It appeared that the hallway and room had been recently refurbished. The carpet was fairly clean although there were a couple of small stains near the bathroom door. We used the small fridge to cool beverages but didn't use the microwave. The air conditioning and WIFI worked well. There was a flat screen TV mounted on the wall. The queen size bed was comfortable and we slept well. The shower worked well but there was no fan to extract the humidity. The alarm clock did not work properly. The room served us well for 3 nights, however the masking agent in the air had irritated our sinuses by the morning of 17 August.
The buffet breakfast is very basic and there are not many tables to eat at. Coffee from the machine did help get us going in the morning. The parking lot could use a little more space. Again, at checkout I had to wait about 5 minutes for the attendant to show up. This Econolodge provided basic, economical accommodation. If we return to Huntsville we may stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side are more quiet and darker at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rcp148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Pros:
-We liked having our dog with us for just $10. extra a night.
-Given a room near back entrance so easy to take her in and out
-Location is pretty good, although likely to far a walk on too busy a road to safely walk to downtown Huntsville
-Clean washroom w soap, iron and ironing board, shampoo and conditioner.
-Comfortable beds
-recycling cans in room, not just garbage
-Nice to have fridge and micro in the room
-Not a great breakfast (see Cons, below) but better than nothing. A nice tough/try.

Cons:
-Dark, poor ventilated hallway - makes it feel cheap, dingy and dirty even though it may not be.
-Rooms were also poorly ventilated - air freshener is not the 'freshness' we were going for.
-Our room was at the end by the stairs and it's Loud and Shaky when people go up and down the stairs - can this be addressed/fixed? If not, this is the last room you should book. (room 114)
-Strongly suggest revamping the breakfast area somehow - much too small and poorly laid out with people falling over each other in such a tight space.
-Some fresh fruit at breakfast was lacking - how about some bananas, apples or oranges?
-Re-use-able plates and cutlery should be used too. It's 2017 and we know our environment is in trouble - at Least have recycling bins in there as well as just a garbage can!
-Poor lighting in rooms and is there a fan in the bathroom??

Overall, it's overpriced for this level of hotel. Although, the whole area is. We may stay again if we couldn't find anything nicer for this price point as it did offer a bit of breakfast and we could have our dog with us.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FCDCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

At check-in the front desk clerk did not have the accurate information and the reservation was inaccurately listed on their records compared to what we provided from the internet. They also did not have the reservation for two nights.
There was problems with hot water and they did not tell us until the middle of the night. They did not compensate what so ever. We needed to move to another hotel for the second night which was just as bad or worse than this hotel. It was a hotel owned by a family member and the same poor customer service was evident.
I would not recommend this hotel. I contacted the hotel about some kind of refund since we were so inconvenienced with no hotel water and needed to change hotels. They said the manager would contact me. I left my name, email and phone number and they still did not respond. Two weeks later I followed up again with a phone call and still nothing.
Although the rooms were new, there was a musty smell in the unit and the bedding was not clean.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

It's bad enough to have to pay $203 for a hotel room (w. tax). But you expect it to be clean, and the beds to be comfortable. Yes, the room looked fairly clean....but a urine smell kept getting stronger and stronger.....so bad that it seeped into the lungs. And the beds were lumpy. Never again!

On the plus side: it was quiet. Probably fairly good sound proofing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryTheRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

I have one common criteria for any hotel that I stay in. I expect it to be very clean. This hotel was ok although many corners including the bathroom vanity were dirty. Top of bathroom doors, ledges, lamps were all very dusty.
The one item that upset me was when I pulled down the bed and the sheet were previously slept in. There were also a couple of long dark hairs in it. I was disgusted. The other bed had also been slept in! It was late in the evening and everything else was booked up so we had to settle for clean sheets to be delivered. The proprietor seemed concerned and offered to make the beds for us.

I will not stay there again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank DakotaBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during Family day weekend.
Rooms are clean and pretty big.
Each room has fridge + microwave.
No coffee maker as you can get coffee downstairs from machine any time.
Continental breakfast is included. The variety of choice is not big but it is fine to satisfy morning hunger. There are 2 choices of juices ( apple or orange) , 2 choices of cereals, waffles /bagel/ bread to prepare fresh toast ( jam, peanut butter) , and muffins.
What I want to mention that parking is limited and there is a sign to park strictly in line. During our visit there were people who parked car using 2 parking spots. As a result we did not have parking. The stuff tried to fix it pretty fast. That was the only inconvenience what we had at this hotel.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We were amazed by the fact that an on duty member of the staff immediately knew who we were when entering the lobby. It's amazing, itsnt it? It's about after 7pm, probably we were the last few people to check in that evening, I guess, still not believing. The location was quite good, the breakfast was good, the room was pretty spacious, the bed was pretty comfortable too, what most important thing was friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Every room looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcLiu1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
203 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Knights Inn - Huntsville
Knights Inn - Huntsville
#7 of 18 in Huntsville
158 reviews
2.5 km away
Motel 6 Huntsville
Motel 6 Huntsville
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
182 reviews
2 km away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#8 of 18 in Huntsville
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Huntsville

Address: 117 Main St W, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1W8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range: $60 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge Huntsville 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Econo Lodge® hotel is conveniently located across from Avery Beach. This hotel is also close to downtown, the Algonquin Theatre and Muskoka Heritage Place and summit centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econolodge Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Huntsville
Huntsville Econo Lodge
Econolodge Huntsville Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing