We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cranberry Resort stay was lovely - minus timeshare presentation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranberry Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranberry Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cranberry Resort stay was lovely - minus timeshare presentation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We recently returned from our stay at Cranberry Resort in Collingwood, Ontario. At a home show last fall, we purchased a 2-night get-away for $119.00 plus taxes. Included was an $80.00 in restaurant certificates. Of course, with this incredible price, we were obligated to attend a 2 hour timeshare presentation.

I must admit, I had little expectations of this resort due to the price that we paid. Upon arrival, we were greeted by courteous reception staff that swiftly checked us in and gave us all the paperwork that we needed. The reception area has a lovely fireplace and more rustic style decor.

Our room was on the main floor, not far from the pool, which we appreciated. The room was truly nothing special. All the basics were there, comfy bed, flat screen TV and a good sized, clean bathroom. It appeared like they may have recently renovated with a new paint-job and carpeting, but the room’s furniture could have used some updating. It looked dated and had some scuffs and marks. The bathroom was probably the nicest part of the room. It had decent lighting, good counter space and a shower/bath combo.

The pool and hot-tub were a good size. Although, the hot-tub was cleaned on the day that we arrived and we were warned that it would take some time to warm-up. Which it did! The pool water seemed clean, but the hot-tub had sand in the bottom of it. Not sure why exactly, but my husband thought that it may have something to do with the filtering system. On the second-day of our stay, we were in hot-tub at approximately 8:50am. The maintenance guy entered the pool area and proceeded to point at his watch and look at us with quite an attitude. Originally, I ignored him, but he curtly mentioned that the pool didn’t open until 9am. We were there a whole ten minutes before it opened! Please! Anyhow, we did offer to leave, but he didn’t accept and proceeded to check the water. I found his attitude to be poor and unprofessional, but not affect our stay!

I must say, by far, the food and service within the restaurants were the best part of our stay. During our first evening, we went to Lounge 27 which is the hotel’s dinner and cocktail lounge. The server, Tammi, was so knowledgeable and delightful to be served by. My husband had a chicken sandwich and I had a veggie pizza. The food was phenomenal. You could absolutely tell that they had a skilled chef working with the kitchen as the food was not only of high-quality, but was also attractively presented.

The second evening, we made a reservation at Memories Restaurant. It’s the hotel’s fine dining option. Again, we were served by Tammi and she was as efficient and pleasant as the previous evening! My husband and I both selected the 3-course option and had a beautiful “Cranberry Winter Salad”, chicken stuffed with apple/goat cheese and delectable chocolate cake for dessert. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal! It may have been the BEST meal that I have ever had! Plus, the restaurant’s decor is elegant and romantic. I highly recommend Memories restaurant as you will certainly leave with only a positive memory or your dining experience here!!!

Our timeshare presentation as scheduled on the final morning of our stay. We walked down the street to the presentation centre and arrive about 15 minutes prior. We were swiftly guided to the presentation a met our jovial sales representative. He greeted us with a big smile and ushered us into a large reception room where other reps were discussing timeshares with guests. For about an hour we heard all about how “inexpensive” the timeshare was and how “wonderful” it was. He also said that we should keep an “open mind” and that there was “no pressure to purchase”. We then saw a 10 minute movie and were provided with a tour of a hotel room. Yes, the hotel room was lovely. It was 2-storey and had all the necessities: full kitchen, large bathroom, dining room table, washer, dryer etc. I finally asked the representative, what the bottom line (price!) was. It took 2 hours before he finally presented us with a price. Honestly, you would be insane to spend your hard earned money on this. You sign a 50 year agreement with no way out unless you re-sell it yourself. My husband is quite savvy when it comes to business and noticed that simply the yearly maintenance related charges would be close to 50k over the agreement period. I finally told the rep that there was absolutely no way that we would agree to anything today. We are not the type to make hasty financial decisions. Especially, such expensive ones! Suddenly, his jovial attitude changed and he called over another rep to speak to us. They started playing the “sales game”. I know that game as I have been in sales and marketing for nearly 20 years. Basically, they acted like we were crazy to walk away from such a DEAL. My husband suggested that they leave the paperwork with us and that we would take a look at it and get back to them within a few business days. The one rep explained that he “he wouldn’t be waiting by the phone for our call”. By the way, they never gave us the paperwork. My husband and I are confident, intelligent people. We felt somewhat insulted by the tactics used at this presentation. Also, the change from a jovial rep to a big, old baby, was incredibly revolting. Because of this, we would NEVER recommend agreeing to this timeshare presentation to ANYONE. All in all, the entire presentation took-up approximately 3 hours – not the 2 hours as originally stated.

All in all, we enjoyed our little vacation to Cranberry Resort. We would definitely return, but would not agree to any timeshare presentation. Vacation time is simply too precious to waste.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Disneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    208
    207
    141
    182
See reviews for
337
358
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a relaxing get away for two days at this resort. It is a funny winter this year - no snow!! We are skiers! However my daughter and I decided to take a drive up to Cranberry Resort to stay for 2 nights. It is our first visit, we love it!! We stayed at the Club Cranberry adjacent to the inn, in a two bedroom condo, beautifully furnished, comfortable beds, clean, with a nice kitchen. We decided to shop at Loblaws. We cooked a beautiful roast. We asked for a roasting pan and a blender, and it was delivered in five mins. We had no direction as to where the garbage area is, Housekeeping ladies simply took the garbage from us. It turned out that my son joined us for dinner and he decided to stay for the evening. We had a marvellous time. We toured the property, it is beautiful the water, the Marina, the Waterfront Building and the Rec Center. The staff, the people, are very friendly and helpful. We would come back and this time we would request to stay for a week and would like to try the Spa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisalda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Seems this place has generated it's share of negative reviews in the past, but the more recent ones are positive. We're in the positive camp. Maybe there have been some staff changes or something, but we found the service was great. Rapid and pleasant response when we asked for a baking sheet for our unit and then again when we needed a lightbulb change. The unit was very large for a one bedroom. It wasn't a palace, but it wasn't run-down either, and was more than adequate for a family ski weekend. Kitchen was well-equipped and master bedroom was very spacious, as were the dining and living areas. There was a gas fireplace too, which was a nice touch. There were a lot of things to do onsite, including kids activities and cross-country ski trails and ski/snowshoe rentals, but we were skiing downhill at Blue so we didn't explore these. But the kids used the indoor pool and giant hottub. Also, there was a restaurant that looked nice, but we brought out own food and dined out with friends. Good value and comfortable stay. No noise at all - we all slept soundly. We''ll return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_Louer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow Ontaro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We Have been at cranberry celebrating my 30th bday we had guests in on the weekend it was a great time 12 in total and we were accomodated well lots of space amoungst both condos.Staff was accomodating with towels n bedding and we enjoyed the cooks jamming in the lobby after there shift.Pool and hot tub have been great arcade was fun for the little people and Our time spent has been cozy we return every year u can't beat the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincoln28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

When I got there my reservations I had made through Expedia.ca was not registered so that took a 20 minute check in. At the lounge I was ordering brown cows for a drink but the waitress kept making mistakes and kept making me white russians, no wonder the bill was so big! The room was very basic, and the complimentary hand lotion stinks! Our whole room smelt like "old man" Thank goodness I brought Febreze.

Room Tip: Ask for a main level room with a patio door. There is absolutely no smoking allowed and being a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed for a week in January with my family. Main purpose of the trip was snowboarding and relaxing. I stayed in the timeshare condos, Club Cranberry. These are in the main building. We had a good size 2-bedroom, 2 full bath unit with full kitchen. Master bedroom had King bed, 2nd bedroom had 2 doubles. Linens were clean, with removable white duvet covers. Looks and feels clean. Pillows were puffy. Sheets fit the bed. They didn't come untucked all week(one of my pet peeves).

Unit could use some updating which they have attempted with a cheap flat screen. Also came with a dvd and vcr combo unit. Bedrooms had old 20" tube tvs. Gas fireplace in living room. No stereo of any kind in the unit. The balcony overlooked the ski hills which was nice at night.

Exercise room is adequate with 2 treadmills, bikes, stair climber and a bowflex. Would have been nice to have some towels in there. They do have a water cooler though. Pool is a decent size and looked clean.

Bar in the lobby was nice. We had the Sunday brunch and were very disappointed. Weren't sure what the brown stuff was. Wish we had just gone for breakfast.

The town is only a km away - a 15-20min walk to the movies and restaurants. Great if you have restless teenagers.

Stayed at Georgian manor (on hwy 26, not to be confused with The Georgian in the village) back in November and promised I would compare the 2. I have to say that it really depends on the unit you are assigned. I'm sure both of them have updated and non-updated units. Cranberry would look much nicer if they updated and brightened their hallways. Both have restaurants with limited hours and okay food. Both have acceptable spas. Cranberry wins on the pool and the proximity to the town. Georgian is another couple of kilometers down the road. To be honest,you can't go wrong with either one. Georgian charges a $5/day energy surcharge. Cranberry free wifi was stable for everything except netflix. Georgian's wifi is atrocious. One thing they both do very well, is good customer service. Staff in both resorts were pleasant, friendly and helpful.

Whichever one you stay at, make a stop at the new Ashanti coffee house at 510 First St. Great soups, sandwiches, wraps, desserts and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MapleRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed on the timeshare section of the resort and it is actually not that bad. Yes, a little run down and could use some upgrading, definitely!. But our whole intention is to ski as much as we can, a place to sleep and rest is all we ever wanted. It might be a little different story if we come here in the summer.

Our check in was fast and painless. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Nobody came and bother us with presentation or anything, which was surprising. But we did get several calls from their activity center for some functions they were holding.

The ground unit that was assigned to us was big. Both bedrooms has 2 double beds. The unit can easily sleeps 10 people comfortably. You can easily overlook the fact that the dishes are mixed matched, not a lot of pots and pans and the main TV in the living room is still a rear projection one. The free WiFi is a real bonus as well. A little slow but any form of free internet is good any time.

The resort is close to a lot of amenities. Grocery stores, liquor stores, movie theater and the big obvious is Blue Mountain.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philcanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
1.8 km away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
6.0 km away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.5 km away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Resort

Property: Cranberry Resort
Address: 19 Keith Ave | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranberry Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cranberry Resort, set against the panoramic backdrop of Blue Mountain and the beautiful waters of Georgian Bay, is a world-renowned, 750 acre year-round vacation destination. At the Cranberry Resort, you can experience an expansive 18-hole golf course, full-service marina, fine dining, a luxurious spa and a wide range of outdoor and indoor fun the whole family can take part in. Cranberry Resort is a 4-season vacation paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cranberry Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hotel Collingwood
Cranberry Resort Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing