We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Pool Showing Its Age and Needs Renovation”
Review of Cranberry Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranberry Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Cranberry Resort (the older section) is starting to show its age. The pool and hot tub could do with some renovation, there is no wheelchair accessibility. The change rooms are not as clean as they used to be.

Rooms are meticulously clean and beds are comfortable. Reception needs to be aware that when 2 adults and 2 children are checking in that you are not provided with a king suite; they were bery pleasant in making the change to 2 queen beds.

Area surroundings are beautiful and there are many restaurants on main street. Skip their brunch as it is high priced and not worth it.

Room Tip: Go to the newer resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAMAICANToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were suckered into this "2 Night Mini Vacation" deal that we stumbled upon at the recent Auto Show thinking it would be a nice getaway for a weekend. The catch was the "2-hour timeshare presentation" that we were required to attend. As we've never been to one before, we were curious but prepared for the "high-pressure" sales that I have been warned about.

Reading the past reviews, I was expecting a condo like room but I guess purchasing the "deal" doesn't include that. Check-in was fast and the front desk reps were very friendly and informative. We were provided an average hotel room - 1 room, 2 double beds, tv and a bathroom. Arriving to the room, we immediately got bored and decided to check out the town. The really nice rooms were at the "Cranberry Resort Waterfront Suites" which were across the street which we figured out at the timeshare presentation.

The timeshare presentation was horrible. Our salesman starts off extremely friendly and understands that "We know you're here for the deal and I know you'll be expecting a high-pressure sales..." but he tried to ensure us that it won't be. Well he lied, no matter how many times we tried to tell that that we will not be signing anything right on the spot and that we're the type of people that likes to research, he just didn't want to hear it. After the 2 hour mark, we just wanted to get out of there, once he knew we were no longer interested in the timeshare, he would not stop talking about his stories and personal life - which got a little too personal for our comfort. It was obvious he was desperate which made us question his professionalism. Finally an hour after the time the presentation was supposed to end and after 3 other sales people trying to pressure us in buying we were finally let go. My boyfriend was so emotionally drained from that experience we vowed never to attend any timeshare presenation ever again. Thankfully, our "deal" came with 2 passes to the "Scandanave Spa" which was a really nice place relax after the stressful 3 hour presentation.

The experience at Cranberry was so terrible that we ended up checking out a day early and did not even use our 2 coupons for a 2 for 1 Deal at the Memories Restaurant. We will definately NOT be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Odie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our stay in a 2bd condo began horribly with a 45 minute check in process when there was not even any line up. We booked through Expedia, and the hotel explained that although they had our name and our money they had no details of the reservation. But then the story became the unit we were to use had a maintenance issue and so they would have to move us after one night. The front deak staff was useless at resolving anythg and just kept disappearing for minutes at time. It took 40 minutes to get the attention of a manager who then was able to offer a sataisfactory solution, and we felt the situation had finally been handled properly.

The Fairway condo was spacious and clean, although not nearly as nice as the Waterfront condo we had the first night. It was a bit disconcerting to have people constantly wandering right by the windows picking up after their dogs in the shared common area.

Housekeeping was limited to replacing towels and taking out garbage. Requests for dish detergent went uncknowleged for at least 12 hours and required repeat calls.

The pool was very busy, lacked towels and was very dirty. There was lots of hair in both the pool and hot tub, debris all over the pool deck, and the water in the not tub was cloudy and full of scum. It may be because it was March break and the hotel was full - hopefully they will schedule more frequent cleaning during busy times.

Overall Cranberry is a decent hotel that is in a good location for enjoying Collingwood skiing or summer activities.

Room Tip: waterfront condos are much nicer than the older Fairway condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no_hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was the second time we stayed here and found the proximity to Blue Mountain very convenient. I like that the mountain is so close,but that we are in the town of Collingwood which keeps growing bigger and better with time. I enjoyed going into the town to shop in the stores. The condo had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths,living area and full kitchen. It was well stocked and had 2 jacuzzi tubs and a fireplace. The main building (where you check in ) was renovated and looks wonderful. There is a restaurant and bar inside as well as an indoor jacuzzi, game room and work out room (small). The beds are soooo comfortable! Would love to come back in the warmer weather to enjoy all the water activities Giorgian Bay has to offer.

Room Tip: The condos were spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongIslandGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Was invited to stay at the Cranberry as part of a sales initiative for a Vacation Planning.
Hotal located right near Collingwood on HWY 26 - can't miss it. close to the town and to Blue Mountain village (about 10 min. drive)
The room was clean, standard ameneties - nothing spectacular. Beds are a bit soft for my taste but clean and soft. Hotal has a pool and a hot tub with fresh supply of towels.
Does not include complimentary breakfast - the one that weas offered (for $13) included standard producst (bread, bagel, cereal, scambled aggs, bacon and french toast. Really - for $13 I could get a really nice breakfast at any of the cafes in the area...
Was also invited for Supper - $22.59 for "Pasta Bar" - two kinds of pasta that a chef cooks with vegatables of your choice. Did not even stick around to see. Went to town and got a great dinner for $22.00.
Would not choose this again as there are better alternatives for that same price...

Room Tip: Even number rooms face to teh golf corse while odd numbers face the road and teh parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan_2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We have used the Cranberry many times over the years, most recently for two Thursday nights prior to Friday ski days at Blue Mountain. Rooms are clean and serviceable, staff is very competent and the main bar and restaurant are quite well-appointed. At almost half the price of on-hill accommodations, they are a good deal. Breakfast is good and hot. Scrambled eggs do not have milk in them, and potatoes are delicious (important for lactose-intolerance). It's part of a larger condo development which has been there for years. Good deal for skiers, so don't be afraid when it's the only one left.

Room Tip: Try to get near one of the exits to speed loading and unloading. It's only 7 minutes to the ski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveCanadaKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
1.8 km away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
5.6 km away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
324 reviews
6 km away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
391 reviews
0.5 km away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Resort

Address: 19 Keith Ave | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range: $117 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranberry Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cranberry Resort, set against the panoramic backdrop of Blue Mountain and the beautiful waters of Georgian Bay, is a world-renowned, 750 acre year-round vacation destination. At the Cranberry Resort, you can experience an expansive 18-hole golf course, full-service marina, fine dining, a luxurious spa and a wide range of outdoor and indoor fun the whole family can take part in. Cranberry Resort is a 4-season vacation paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranberry Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hotel Collingwood
Cranberry Resort Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing