We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway spot!”
Review of Beild House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collingwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beild House Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Collingwood B&B and Inns
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great getaway spot!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Beild House is a great spot for a short getaway. The inn is ideal if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Blue Mountain, but still be able to enjoy what Collingwood has to offer. It's steps from downtown and a short drive to the mountain where you can enjoy many activities. We enjoyed the Cupid's Package, which includes a visit to the relaxing and tranquil Scandinave Baths (beautiful at sunset) as well as a guided tasting of great wines paired with great food, at the Georgian Hills Vineyards. These small touches (and others too) made the weekend very romantic.

The staff is very accommodating. When we visited, the inn was actually short-staffed (due to illness and injury) but it never showed. The fill-in staff were great! They never missed a beat!

The offer of afternoon tea and treats as well as pre-dinner hors d'oeuvres are wonderful ways to chat with the other guests. Dinner is comparable to five star dining without the pretentious atmosphere. Although seating was arranged, there was never a moment when we felt like it was too formal of a dinner. The dishes created by Chef Eric are to die for and he is even gracious enough to share how he prepares the dishes...all you have to do is ask!

We stayed in the room called "Images of the Past" and were very happy with it. Located on the 3rd floor of the inn, it offers privacy and is recommended for couples.

My boyfriend and I recommend the Beild House for a romantic getaway. We walked in with high expectations and throughout our weekend, every level of expectation was exceeded. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephB_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    33
    11
    6
    14
See reviews for
15
73
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Tired building. Rooms could use refurbish. Sales pitch when you phone in would have you think you will experience Cordon Bleu cuisine. The afternoon tea pitch of the "best desserts in the world" will disappoint. Dinner was good, not as amazing as you were told on the phone. Too expensive for the quality of accomodation. Have a plan and don't let Stephanie tell you what to do. Sorry.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadWeary2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I was xc skiing this past Thursday as a solo getaway and decided to stay over locally to ski the next day and found this Inn through references.
This is one of the best finds I've made traveling. What an unexpected PLEASURE!
Super friendly staff (especially Paris and chef!)
Room was super cozy and warm.
Tea and sweets was an lovely touch and great after a cold day of xc skiing.
They went overboard to insure I went to a nice place for dinner even though I was going out and opted out for dinner at the Inn (which I hear from guests was excellent!).
The list of free amenities (wifi, beverages, cork fee, books, games, dvd's, etc etc) was fantastic.
And the breakfast, salmon benny, was one of the best I've ever had!
They even threw in a few other extras and really really made me feel welcome and at ease.
I can't wait to go back. And I will. Definitely!
Highly recommended Inn in Collingwood. Wouldn't think of going anywhere else now.
Great value!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dravafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

house. The food was spectacular. It toped two high end restaurants we had gone too and enjoyed the previous two nights. I had not thought that was possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My boyfriend booked a romantic weekend for us and came down with an infected tooth. We called the Bield House three days prior to advise that we need to cancel the reservation. Stephanie the owner started yelling at me on the phone stating she wouldn't be able to find another reservation and refused to provide a refund. We went through VISA Insurance thankfully and received our money back. The total bill includes gratuity on services/items/food you haven't even consumed yet. We had medical back up and she still would not honour the cancellation. We will be reporting this to the BBB and the Bed and Breakfast Complaint Board of Ontario. Watch out for the disclaimer on her website and do not put anything on your credit card for the Bield House.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dee12345_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madoc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

My friend and I recently stayed two nights at the Beildhouse Inn. Arrived on Friday afternoon to be greeted with such a warm welcome. So helpful - gave us ideas for shopping and dinner. Ended up making dinner reservations for us while we sat and relaxed with a drink.
Saturday morning after a delicious breakfast we were off to the spa baths. A definite must when visiting this area. Such a relaxing place. We returned to the Inn later in the afternoon for our masages which we thoroughly enjoyed. So nice just to return to your room for a short nap after a massage before dinner. My reservation form stated a gourmet dinner for Saturday. Wow was it right. Excellent food!
Thank you Stephanie, Bill and all staff for a great time. We will be back.
Connie Robinson, Madoc, Ontario

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2011

My girlfriend and I spent an evening at the Beild House in January and had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely accommodating as were the owners, who made themselves very approachable and willing to do whatever was needed to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The room was cozy and full of character, had a nice fireplace and a very comfy bed.

We thoroughly enjoyed the communal-style dinner as it gave us an opportunity to meet some new people and converse in a casual environment. Dinner was delicious as was desert, and we stayed up long into the evening, enjoying the company of the guests we met (as well as several bottles of wine). In the morning we were brought an lovely breakfast in bed (part of the "Romance" package) which was really the icing on the cake.

I would highly recommend The Beild House for anyone looking for a romantic getaway or just a weekend with friends. Great place, and we will return!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boooourns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
1.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
310 reviews
4.0 km away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
359 reviews
5.4 km away
Craigleith Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 km away
The Findlay House
The Findlay House
#5 of 9 in Collingwood
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beild House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beild House Inn

Property: Beild House Inn
Address: 64 Third Street | (Entrance is on Pine St.), Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1K5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Beild House Hotel Collingwood
Beild House Inn Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing