We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged but still good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariner Motor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overcharged but still good value”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Last time we were here we stayed at the Holiday Inn. Exceptional service, modern rooms, hearty breakfast, newspapers and nice lounge. But there was a charge to use a small fitness room and the rooms were very expensive. So this time we took the budget route. All hotels/motels look the same from the back of your eyelids and since most of what we do is sleep in these places, we didn't need modern rooms.

We checked in and the desk clerk seemed unfamiliar with the motel - subbing in for a friend perhaps. So when we pointed out there was a modest overcharge (approx $10), he couldn't correct it and nor did the primary desk person, whom he called to address the situation. Had that been addressed, I would have given a higher rating. The fellow, however, was very friendly and encouraged us to contact him if we needed anything at all. He showed us the beverage room where there is a microwave and teas, which is a nice touch.

Otherwise, the room appeared clean, water pressure was good, it was very quiet (could have been the time of year too) and for a budget motel, the little extras were a nice touch.
I have to wonder if the owners have been listening as there was an air conditioner in our room. Not professionally installed - just a hole cut into the wood to give it access to outside and then covered with packing tape to hold it in. We didn't try it. It's fall, so we didn't need it (we needed heat which was slow to come on but worked just fine).

Pros: Price, decent breakfast (7 types of bread/bagels, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee), access to a mircowave, fridges in the rooms. The Queen room is the smallest/simplest and ours had a fold out couch and desk as well. Free internet. 1 km from downtown Collingwood. Half a block to a nice walking/running trail.

Cons: Our room (#42) smelled of B.O. We should have but didn't ask for another room.

The Mariner had what we needed in a motel. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 42 (maybe smell the room first before accepting?) We stayed on the side on a quiet stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlateIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    14
    6
    15
See reviews for
17
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Hi,

I travel the province regularly & have stayed in several hotels around Ontario since March, 2011. The Mariner came up on my GPS; I had no prior experience with it & called. I checked in, and was delighted to learn of free unlimited continental breakfast every morning (eggs, milk, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, several kinds of fresh bread), this saved me lots of time, $$, and effort.

There is also full-time access to tea, coffee, a microwave, & ice machine. The A/C unit was effective & fairly quiet. the ceiling fan certainly helped as well in the summer heat. The fridge was large & well-placed, the desk was a little bit small but sufficient (my laptop is oversized).

The sink in the 3 piece washroom was a little bit outdated, but the rest of it was fine. Staff are very friendly, and available at all times. I met a few regulars who stay at the Mariner every time they visit, & loyal guests are the best indicator of great accommodation.

The convenience of ground floor lodging, and designated parking makes this very good accommodation for the price. The fast wireless internet & free unlimited 'help yourself' breakfast clinched the deal for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We are 15 years clients every Jul,y this year I had called the owner the day before to make sure the air was working as we knew the weather was going to be really hot.When we got there on the Thursday around 3.00, we noticed how hot it was in the entrance,booked in and asked if the air was on, he said yes, when we entered the room you can't imagine how hot it was , we turned it on and guess what hot air was coming in, that did it for me, I tried to talk to him but he was busy with the air conditioning guy on the roof, we decided to leave as I could not breath and did not want to take a chance staying. He put the charge on my card the day we left and charged us for 3 nights ( 471.00) He refuses to refund,even though he rented the room to someone else. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank celvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Collingwood hotels

Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we were 4 family stayed at motel for 2 nights.
the service was excellent, staff very friendly and supportive.
decent rooms.. competitive rates...
nice backyard to spend evening with family and friends.

this was our second trip to Collingwood and we stayed in same motel.. and we will for sure give first preference to this motel up on our next visit to collingwood

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krupesh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I foolishly booked a business trip here, sight unseen, last fall based on all of the glowing reviews, and the Mariner's proximity to the local hospital. The Mariner's website spoke of "European charm" and warm hospitality. I can honestly say it is one of the worst dumps I have ever stayed in, and that's saying something!

When I checked in around 9:00 pm, there were no staff members to be found. Someone finally appeared about 10 minutes later. My gut reaction was to cancel the reservation, but it was late, and I thought, "How bad can it be?" When I reached my room, I was sorry that I hadn't followed my initial instincts. Far from charming, the decor of the tiny room was tired and dated, with generous amounts of packing tape holding both the air conditioner, and some of the panelling, in place. The room was hardly oozing "European elegance", as stated on their website! Trust me, the Mariner is nostalgic only if you have a thing for prison movies. The bedspread appeared to be the original from opening day back in the 50's, and the linens were thread bare, at best. The place was dark, cold, and creepy. All it needed was Jack Nicholson, an axe, and a little, "Heeeere's Johnny!"

Early next morning, I found the restaurant section deserted, with nothing but a large sink full of dirty dishes to greet me. There was no sign of any free Continental breakfast, or any other guests for that matter. I understand that the management has changed recently, and the poor quality of the hotel reflects that. If you are looking for bargain basement accommodations, this is your place. If not, take some good advice, and stay somewhere else. The glory days of this disaster are long gone!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EndlessSummer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

So they changed the owners, and price is a little more than it was 2 years ago. But I wont complain, I'll just blame it on inflation. Rooms are still cheaper than the Holiday Inn and Days Inn by like $40 a night.

Still doesnt take away the fact that this hotel is centrally located. Close to Blue Mountain, Scandinavian Spa, the restaurants and cinema. Wife tells me we should go to Holiday Inn next time, but being thrifty, I like this place. lol.

Breakfast is ok, but not great.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyOfFour_YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I booked a room there online and when I got there there were new owners. I was quoted a price with the previous owners and when I got there the new owner charged us more.My husband and I were up all night because there was no A/C in the room. Then when we went for Breakfast the next moring we found some old bananas, a box of twinkies and open boxes of cereal which we were afraid to eat cause we didn't know how long they had been sitting there. We had no choice cause all the motels around were full and we were from out of the area but we were even afaid to sleep on the sheets cause we didn't know if they were ever changed or if the beds just got made up after each guest left.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jsoufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
2.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
310 reviews
2.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
4.8 km away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Relax Inn Collingwood
Relax Inn Collingwood
#9 of 11 in Collingwood
60 reviews
8.2 km away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
8.7 km away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motor Hotel

Property: Mariner Motor Hotel
Address: 305 Hume St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariner Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mariner Motor
Mariner Motor Collingwood
Mariner Motor Hotel Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing