We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like staying in a beautiful cottage on the beach.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cobourg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakers on the Lake
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's like staying in a beautiful cottage on the beach.”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Loved Breakers! We stayed 1 night. Reception was very friendly and helpful. We were in room #9-- a simple room with 2 double beds, a mini-fridge, and microwave. Everything was very clean. It had a great balony and it was maybe 30 steps to the beautiful Cobourg beach. Lots of families there but you can go off on your own if you need quiet time. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: For summer stays call and reserve well in advance. They also keep a waitlist in case of cancellation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mycrysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lovely location, great views and staff very helpful. Intend to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lonelyplanetnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed for a weekend in mid may, and although the weather was not great, we had a really good time. The rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced, and the location (right on the beach) is perfect. We were six adults, and four young children. We DEFINITELY plan on returning for a few days in the summer, when hopefully the weather will be a little warmer!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bcundari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovepug87
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We were 3 couples who rented a suite at the Breakers. What a great place to stay. The staff goes above and beyond to help steer guest on what to see and do while there. When the owner discovered we were traveling around Canada for 2 weeks, she spend time on the Internet looking for things to see. The spa bathtub was marvelous! The morning sitting out by the lake, taking in the beauty while eating breakfast was breath taking. It was a fabulous experience and I highly recommend The Breakers on Lake Ontario.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovepug87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatesville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

What a pleasant experience at The Breakers on Lake Ontario. We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 story unit for 6 persons (all couples) in mid June. There was plenty of room with the bedrooms and 2 sleeper sofas in separate living rooms (one upstairs and one downstairs) plus the full kitchen. Our unit was very clean. The manager was extremely helpful in describing in detail (and even printing out pages of tourist info from her computer) what to see and do in the area & our future destinations of Montreal and Quebec. And the nightly cost was well within our budget.
From our unit we could see the lake front which was literally one block away beyond the main house. The town of Cobourg is quaint with many places to eat, buy groceries and enjoy the tea biscuits or pastries from the local bakery.
Our most memorable moment was the morning we sat in chairs along the large beach watching the geese frollick, joggers going by, the sunrise and enjoying our breakfast and coffee. We would recommend this small resort to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My girlfriend and selected this as overnight accommodation, as we came from Kitchener to see a blues act at the Northside Grill. The act could not get across the border, but we stayed in town anyways...and loved it. We asked if they had a room for the next night, and they accommodated...we loved it. We asked again for the possibility of a room for a third night, and there was indeed a cancellation. We stayed a 3rd night. Awesome staff, awesome rooms (1, 6 and 7 are highly recommended) and Weber BBQ's available to grill your own dinners - charcoal and lighter fluid supplied. Clean beach with lots of chairs available. This is a great Ontario weekend getaway!!!! Tim & Sue.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poopoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our family discovered the breakers 4 yrs ago and have been fortunate enough
to visit every August for a week. We love the simplicity of the motel while at the same time
having the shops and restaurants a mere stroll away. On a warm summer's night with all
the volleyball nets set up and the sun setting you feel as though you are somewhere down south. It's a family tradition that the children wait in anticipation of every year. We've truly fallen in love with Cobourg after all these years of staying at the breakers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runner02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
103 reviews
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
10.5 km away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Woodlawn Inn
The Woodlawn Inn
#1 of 7 in Cobourg
237 reviews
2.0 km away
Mackechnie House Bed and Breakfast
3.2 km away
The Cedarview Motel
The Cedarview Motel
#4 of 6 in Cobourg
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers on the Lake

Property: Breakers on the Lake
Address: 94 Green St, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3W1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Lake Hotel Cobourg
Breakers On The Lake Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing