We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cobourg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakers on the Lake
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Pickering, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight Saturday in room Number 4 downstairs which had 2 beds., You could see the lake when you sat at the window having something to eat. The room had lots of dishes, a microwave, toaster, kettle , teapot and tea bags, sugar and a coffee pack. If you do not like whitener just bring a little bit of milk.

Had a bit of a problem working the TV so the lady from Reception came over right away to fix it.

Our room was ready early so we unpacked and went of a lovely walk along by the lake to the far end of the boardwalk. It took about 1/2 an hour. Lots of very nice condos near the Marina. Lots of neat little shops on the main street. Went to 5 pm Mass on Saturday night in the beautiful church called St Michaels which was only a few minutes drive from the Breakers.

We ate at the Ginger Thai resturant. Food was very good but it is not licenced yet. Lots of different kinds of teas.

On Sunday our group of Royal Marines layed a wreath at the Cenotaph in Victoria Park which is very close to the hotel. Lovely service in St Peter's Anglican church. Our group ate lunch at the Mill resturant. None of us were very impressed. Do not think that they are used to having a large group in at the same time.

Room Tip: Our group had an assortment of rooms. If you want a better view of the lake the upstairs room are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    33
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

we stayed there one night and had a blast!!! perfect location! Just eat anywhere but the oasis. Awful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at Breakers for 4 nights in September and were pleasantly surprised. I was unsure whether to book it as it had motel in the name but I was so glad I did. We stayed in Room 7 and it was a really nice upstairs corner room with a small balcony. Breakers is right on the lakefront and has it's own private beach - it was heavenly to sit in the sun in the garden next to the beach and people watch. The rooms are well priced and very comfortable. Reception were really helpful - we are looking to move to Cobourg and they gave us loads of useful info. The walk into town is less than 10 minutes so we didn't need to drive at all. We will be returning to Cobourg in the next few months and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Loved Breakers! We stayed 1 night. Reception was very friendly and helpful. We were in room #9-- a simple room with 2 double beds, a mini-fridge, and microwave. Everything was very clean. It had a great balony and it was maybe 30 steps to the beautiful Cobourg beach. Lots of families there but you can go off on your own if you need quiet time. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: For summer stays call and reserve well in advance. They also keep a waitlist in case of cancellation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mycrysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lovely location, great views and staff very helpful. Intend to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lonelyplanetnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed for a weekend in mid may, and although the weather was not great, we had a really good time. The rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced, and the location (right on the beach) is perfect. We were six adults, and four young children. We DEFINITELY plan on returning for a few days in the summer, when hopefully the weather will be a little warmer!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bcundari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovepug87
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We were 3 couples who rented a suite at the Breakers. What a great place to stay. The staff goes above and beyond to help steer guest on what to see and do while there. When the owner discovered we were traveling around Canada for 2 weeks, she spend time on the Internet looking for things to see. The spa bathtub was marvelous! The morning sitting out by the lake, taking in the beauty while eating breakfast was breath taking. It was a fabulous experience and I highly recommend The Breakers on Lake Ontario.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovepug87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
105 reviews
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
10.5 km away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Woodlawn Inn
The Woodlawn Inn
#1 of 7 in Cobourg
246 reviews
3.6 km away
The Cedarview Motel
The Cedarview Motel
#4 of 6 in Cobourg
10 reviews
0.2 km away
Willowmere Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers on the Lake

Property: Breakers on the Lake
Address: 94 Green St, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3W1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Lake Hotel Cobourg
Breakers On The Lake Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing