We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous rooms and food”
Review of The Woodlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cobourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We stayed at this Inn on a mid-week special. The room we had was lovely but due to TV remote control issues we were upgraded to a suite - now that was fabulous! Dinner was excellent and the breakfast very good as well. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelSK8Mey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear travelSK8Mey,

Thanks for visiting us for a spontaneous, mid-week getaway. I’m glad that our staff took good care of you both with your guest room and in the dining room for dinner and breakfast. We would be very pleased to have you both back with us soon.

Take care,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2015

Beautiful, quaint and highly recommended. The room was pretty and clean. The staff were friendly and engaging. The breakfast was good as well. We stayed for one night, we were passing through on our way to Toronto.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Magda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear Magda O,

Thank you for leaving a review! Thanks for your recent visit on your way to Toronto. I am pleased that you both enjoyed your guest room and breakfast and we would be thrilled to have you return for a short visit while passing through Northumberland or for a longer stay were you could enjoy our beautiful area.

Sincerely,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

On walking distance from the lake. Very nice rooms, free wifi, very helpfull people.
Good breakfast and a nice bar to spent the evening.
Haven't had diner in the restaurant but the menu was looking good.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula56DenBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear Paula56DenBosch,

I’m glad that the two of you had an enjoyable visit to our inn recently. It sounds like you both had time to enjoy the town of Cobourg and our beautiful waterfront as well. Thank you for your comments about our guest rooms and wi-fi and the service provided by our staff. We look forward to having you back with us.

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We were at the Inn for dinner and ran into the Manager in the lobby. He was very gratious and made sure our meal and service were all good. How often do you receive such personal attention from the Manager of any restaurant? He gave me the impression that if there was anything I wasn't happy with that he would make it right.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank naturak819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Dear natrak819,

Thank for your recent visit and kind comments. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your evening out in the restaurant. Thanks for commenting on the personable service, it truly is a pleasure to make our guests feel welcome.

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Short stay but the staff was very nice! The hotel in general is a little tired and needs some updates! Guest rooms especially. Washrooms were clean and large! Great location! The outdoor area not very accessible for drinks or dining. Really reasonably priced.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank RaquelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear RaquelToronto,

Thanks for staying with us recently and leaving a review. I am glad that you enjoyed quick getaway with us. We appreciate the comments on updates and keeping up a contemporary presence. We have recently installed new carpeting, and a modern phone system and have many updates planned over the next few months. We would be happy to have you back with us again soon.

All the best,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

This little inn seemed just perfect for us. The decor just seemed right for our taste, staff were so friendly, room clean and fresh and we could just step out our door to sit and have a glass of wine before dinner. We booked the package, had an excellent dinner in the diningroom ... the best steak I've had for sometime. Hope we have the opportunity to be back in Coburg area and will revisit The Woodlawn Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank justme4844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear justme4844

Thanks for your recent review. Thanks for you kind words about your guest room and the friendly staff. I will be sure to tell the staff that you had a great time and enjoyed your dinner in the restaurant. We would be happy to have you return to the Woodlawn Inn the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed here for a couple of days to attend a wedding. It's cute enough at first glance but then you notice the need for extreme maintenance. Our room had a white powder substance that appeared to be coming from the air conditioner and our bathroom was full of some kind of fruit flies. When we told housekeeping about it they knew about the issues. But, they still rented us the room. We were too tired to complain so we just shut the bathroom door and most of the flies were gone by morning. Turns out there was a broken window in the bathroom and it could be shut.

The trouble with this kind of experience is that it puts you off on everything. The dining was good but because we had the flies on our mind you couldn't help but think about cleanliness.

Too bad - it's a nice set-up.

Room Tip: Take a close look at your room before accepting. We had friends stay there that loved the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JSLExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear JSLExplores,

Thanks for your review. All of our staff go over and above to give our guests superior service and thanks for pointing out that the bathroom window did not close all the way and let in the flies that you mentioned. We do our best to keep our 1835 inn in top shape and we will fix that window at once. Regretfully you did not mention the issue to a receptionist or innkeeper as we would have done our best to resolve the issue while you were here. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
109 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
14.3 km away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Twin Maples Bed and Breakfast
1.6 km away
Mackechnie House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 km away
Willowmere Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Inn

Address: 420 Division St | Ontario, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3R9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cobourg
Price Range: $184 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlawn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cobourg's Historic District and close to the waterfront, the historic Woodlawn Inn opened its doors in 1988 and today has twenty generously appointed guest rooms. The Woodlawn Inn is perfect for romantic retreats, girl’s getaways, small weddings and business meetings. The highly regarded Woodlawn Inn dining room is open to the public for intimate dinners or for large weddings of up to 100 guests. Within walking distance, there are day-spas, historic homes, shops and one of the most picturesque downtowns in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Woodlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Hotel Cobourg
The Woodlawn Inn Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing