We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation/updating needed shabby at best. Wouldn't stay here again!”
Review of Willow Bend Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Willow Bend Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Room looked tidy when we first opened the door but it didn't take much to discover that two of the 3 lamps in the room didn't work, the carpet was dirty and bunched up like it had no padding under it and it had installed a long time ago, the bathroom floor was dirty, the shower grout showed significant mildew, and the toilet didn't flush completely even when the tank was full. In fairness, the pool was nice and appeared to be clean. The breakfast room was nice enough, though the breakfast offerings were marginal. Parking was fine.
This is clearly an old motel that needs a serious renovation. In the short run, it needs a housekeeping staff that gives a damn and checks that the lights and plumbing fixtures work, the floor is clean, and the mildew problem is addressed.
This property was rated with 3.5 stars in the tourist visitors' center book and the one current review in Trip Advisor was favorable too. That's how we ended up here. Our experience says these ratings are flat out wrong. We sure wouldn't stay here again!

Room Tip: tell them to ask for a room that has been renovated in the past year. That might get them a better r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MabRwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnTruro, Owner at Willow Bend Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

We very surprised to read this review. As a second generation family run business we have pride in our property, as noted in the many very positive current reviews, however we respect your opinion. We always encourage our guests to bring any and all issues to management and we will correct them immediately.

As owners we check rooms on a daily basis to ensure cleanliness which can be verified by the many positive reviews. We do understand mistakes happen and every employee is not perfect and we will use your review as a teaching tool for our staff.

Thank you for you comments and do wish if you are back in the Truro area we encourage you to give us a try and we will guarantee you a very positive and comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were staying for 3 nights and got a room upgrade without asking. The room was neat and tidy and included an air-jet tub. It had high sides so might prove difficult for anybody that was not fully mobile.
Breakfast is served at the reception building and is quite adequate and well stocked.
The rooms were serviced each day and the motel is handy to the interstate and the town centre. Plenty of parking provided on site. We used the cable provided for the internet (free) access.
All the staff were friendly and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yourpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

In a town with lots of hotels/motels that seem to be overpriced, the Willow Bend was a great find. We had stayed here many years ago, but the rooms have been updated very nicely and were clean. The bed was very comfortable. Continental breakfast was included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K.C.NovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Although the rooms are small, they are very comfortable and the motel is spotless. Well done to the cleaning crew that work there
I did find the bed a little firmer than what I would like and the pillows need to be replaced but the cleanliness of this motel makes up for any of those small details.
I will most definitely stay again and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Truro.
Handy to the main road and the staff are excellent.

I can understand why it is #1 with trip advisor.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjejermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We needed a commercial center to regroup during a long Nova Scotia trip and to raft the Shubenacadie Tidal Bore. Having stayed in places all over the world, there wasn't a single thing we needed that wasn't provided. We had a very big room with microwave, fridge, dishes, pans, utensils, good-choices TV, wireless, excellent bed. Everything was spotlessly clean and smartly updated, hosts were eagerly helpful, breakfast much better-than-expected continental. Thought our room backed up to the busy street, we hardly heard traffic.

Truro is a good town. Raft the Shubenacadie, walk the downtown, hike in spectacular Victoria Park. Stay at Willow Bend Motel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoingGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I cannot say enough about this motel. The woman at the front desk was very informative and sent us to a great italian restaurant right down the street!! Room was immaculate, beds comfy. Continental breakfast was plentiful and served in a beautiful room. No need to leave this breakfast hungry! One of the best hotels we have stayed in. The pool and jacuzzi are great after a long day of travel. One other plus to the motel is the fact that they are pet friendly:) Great job Willow Bend!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank dhlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The staff at Willow Bend were all very courteous. Our room had been updated. King bed was better than the one we have at home. Bathroom was nicely remodeled with tile, great shower head & there was a jetted tub. Nice, powerful hair dryer was provided. Room also had a small refrigerator, a microwave, and a sink, along with plates and utensils. Room was clean and very comfortable. Enjoyed the outdoor pool. Not much to do or see in Truro but hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oclola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
341 reviews
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
125 reviews
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
3.0 km away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
284 reviews
2.7 km away
Tidal Bore Inn
Tidal Bore Inn
#6 of 8 in Truro
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Bend Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Bend Motel

Address: 277 Willow St | Highway 102, Exit 13, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: $111 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Willow Bend Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Willow Bend Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Bend Hotel
Willow Bend Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing