We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious large room”
Review of Willow Bend Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Willow Bend Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Virden, Mb.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Luxurious large room”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Chanced upon this hotel in the rain to find the best overnight accommodation during our 16 night holiday. Suite had everything for a long-stay. Wonderful beds, television, sitting area. Excellent breakfast,congenial management.

Room Tip: Large suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sikevirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    75
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
86
107
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arundel,Qc.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed for 4 days in August. Large 2 queen bed room with kitchenette, very tastefully decorated.. Loved the pool and deck area. Everything very clean. Courteous staff. Would recommend to friends. Will be back. Gloria S. , Arundel,Qc

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired2004_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our stay at the Willow Bend was a pleasure from start to finish. The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. It is evident that this family owned motel is looked after as if it is their home away from home, right down to the high quality sheets and comforters! I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone in need of a comfortable, well priced place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We were looking for a place around Truro and came across Willow Bend. The room was huge! In addition to the sleeping area, there was a large sitting area. I was joking that all we needed was a kitchenette and lo and behold, it was around the corner. Breakfast was good in very pleasant surroundings and the staff were very accomodating. Easy access to the highway, shopping, and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvocean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbonear, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a fantastic little motel! We stayed only one night on our way from Cape Breton to Moncton, but made good use of the pool and the room ammenities while there. The pool is very clean and was heated, with a great deck area with comfy chairs and tables/umbrellas, so our kids could enjoy the pool until after dusk while we sat around chatting. The room was large, and had a very hotel-like feel, nicely appointed and very clean and tidy, with a fridge, sink, microwave, and coffee maker in a kitchette area with cabinets, etc. The bathroom was fitted with hotel-like fixtures, whirlpool tub, etc. This is the nicest "motel" I've stayed in and except for the fact that my room door led to the the parking lot and not a hallway, I would have thought I was in a decent hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast (included) was decent - no hot food or fresh fruit though. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranniesFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crisfield, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Room looked tidy when we first opened the door but it didn't take much to discover that two of the 3 lamps in the room didn't work, the carpet was dirty and bunched up like it had no padding under it and it had installed a long time ago, the bathroom floor was dirty, the shower grout showed significant mildew, and the toilet didn't flush completely even when the tank was full. In fairness, the pool was nice and appeared to be clean. The breakfast room was nice enough, though the breakfast offerings were marginal. Parking was fine.
This is clearly an old motel that needs a serious renovation. In the short run, it needs a housekeeping staff that gives a damn and checks that the lights and plumbing fixtures work, the floor is clean, and the mildew problem is addressed.
This property was rated with 3.5 stars in the tourist visitors' center book and the one current review in Trip Advisor was favorable too. That's how we ended up here. Our experience says these ratings are flat out wrong. We sure wouldn't stay here again!

Room Tip: tell them to ask for a room that has been renovated in the past year. That might get them a better r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnTruro, Owner at Willow Bend Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
We very surprised to read this review. As a second generation family run business we have pride in our property, as noted in the many very positive current reviews, however we respect your opinion. We always encourage our guests to bring any and all issues to management and we will correct them immediately.

As owners we check rooms on a daily basis to ensure cleanliness which can be verified by the many positive reviews. We do understand mistakes happen and every employee is not perfect and we will use your review as a teaching tool for our staff.

Thank you for you comments and do wish if you are back in the Truro area we encourage you to give us a try and we will guarantee you a very positive and comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were staying for 3 nights and got a room upgrade without asking. The room was neat and tidy and included an air-jet tub. It had high sides so might prove difficult for anybody that was not fully mobile.
Breakfast is served at the reception building and is quite adequate and well stocked.
The rooms were serviced each day and the motel is handy to the interstate and the town centre. Plenty of parking provided on site. We used the cable provided for the internet (free) access.
All the staff were friendly and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yourpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#4 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
3.0 km away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.2 km away
Berry's Motel
Berry's Motel
#7 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Bend Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Bend Motel

Property: Willow Bend Motel
Address: 277 Willow St | Highway 102, Exit 13, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Willow Bend Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Willow Bend Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Bend Hotel
Willow Bend Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing