We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Willow Bend Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$92
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$83
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Tatamagouche)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
217
86
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
86
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastheated poolcomfortable bedshard boiled eggswould definitely stay here againbreakfast areabusy streetplace to stayroad tripup to datefridge and microwavehighly recommend this placecoffee makerexcellent staythe main highwayyogurtcape breton
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 325 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed for 4 days in August. Large 2 queen bed room with kitchenette, very tastefully decorated.. Loved the pool and deck area. Everything very clean. Courteous staff. Would recommend to friends. Will be back. Gloria S. , Arundel,Qc

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired2004_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Our stay at the Willow Bend was a pleasure from start to finish. The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. It is evident that this family owned motel is looked after as if it is their home away from home, right down to the high quality sheets and comforters! I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone in need of a comfortable, well priced place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were looking for a place around Truro and came across Willow Bend. The room was huge! In addition to the sleeping area, there was a large sitting area. I was joking that all we needed was a kitchenette and lo and behold, it was around the corner. Breakfast was good in very pleasant surroundings and the staff were very accomodating. Easy access to the highway, shopping, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luvocean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a fantastic little motel! We stayed only one night on our way from Cape Breton to Moncton, but made good use of the pool and the room ammenities while there. The pool is very clean and was heated, with a great deck area with comfy chairs and tables/umbrellas, so our kids could enjoy the pool until after dusk while we sat around chatting. The room was large, and had a very hotel-like feel, nicely appointed and very clean and tidy, with a fridge, sink, microwave, and coffee maker in a kitchette area with cabinets, etc. The bathroom was fitted with hotel-like fixtures, whirlpool tub, etc. This is the nicest "motel" I've stayed in and except for the fact that my room door led to the the parking lot and not a hallway, I would have thought I was in a decent hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast (included) was decent - no hot food or fresh fruit though. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranniesFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Room looked tidy when we first opened the door but it didn't take much to discover that two of the 3 lamps in the room didn't work, the carpet was dirty and bunched up like it had no padding under it and it had installed a long time ago, the bathroom floor was dirty, the shower grout showed significant mildew, and the toilet didn't flush completely even when the tank was full. In fairness, the pool was nice and appeared to be clean. The breakfast room was nice enough, though the breakfast offerings were marginal. Parking was fine.
This is clearly an old motel that needs a serious renovation. In the short run, it needs a housekeeping staff that gives a damn and checks that the lights and plumbing fixtures work, the floor is clean, and the mildew problem is addressed.
This property was rated with 3.5 stars in the tourist visitors' center book and the one current review in Trip Advisor was favorable too. That's how we ended up here. Our experience says these ratings are flat out wrong. We sure wouldn't stay here again!

Room Tip: tell them to ask for a room that has been renovated in the past year. That might get them a better room than we had.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MabRwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnTruro, Owner at Willow Bend Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

We very surprised to read this review. As a second generation family run business we have pride in our property, as noted in the many very positive current reviews, however we respect your opinion. We always encourage our guests to bring any and all issues to management and we will correct them immediately.

As owners we check rooms on a daily basis to ensure cleanliness which can be verified by the many positive reviews. We do understand mistakes happen and every employee is not perfect and we will use your review as a teaching tool for our staff.

Thank you for you comments and do wish if you are back in the Truro area we encourage you to give us a try and we will guarantee you a very positive and comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews