We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$108
PricelineUS$108
Agoda.comUS$108
TripadvisorUS$108
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
34
18
17
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
34
18
17
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay pet friendly room sydney amenities mines ferry laundry stopover supper
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 88 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

It was great having a place to stay while visiting family in the area of Sydney Mines and Little Pond. We stayed for 3 days and eat our breakfast and supper there, excellent food.
The motel was dated and require to be renovated to have a more modern look.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KeithC1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, General Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are currently updating some of our rooms, and are always working on new renovations. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your meals. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area visiting family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

We have stayed here twice a year for 7 years.. pet friendly room... excellent staff, the rooms are spotless and quiet..beds are comfortable and the price is right.. don't waste your time on other motels. Close to the Ferry as well...highly recommend this place

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mountainbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, General Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2019

Thank you for all your kind words, we always appreciate hearing from our guests especially when they are happy with their stay, and we are so pleased that you were happy. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Check in was easy and friendly. Receptionist moved our rooms to be closer to our friends without us requesting this - a real nice touch. Rooms were clean, well appointed with flat screen TV, fridge and coffee maker. Two queen beds were very comfortable.
View out over the lake to die for and on-site restaurant perfect for supper and breakfast.
Traffic noise from the highway could be loud at times but as night wore on this reduced considerably. Great place to stay about 10km before Baddeck.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, Front Office Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Thank you for writing us such a lovely review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you are ever back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

Disgusting
Over priced
Dirty
Outdated

While going to have a shower I first turned on the water to get the temperature right and noticed the water was slow going ..... big mistake trying to find out why

Cables and wire running everywhere

Floating floor uneven , coming apart and dirty

Freezing cold and could not warm up

Stains on chair and bathroom floor

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Flip882008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2019

Thank you for all your comments we take all reviews seriously. We have sent your concerns to housekeeping. I am so sorry that we let you down and I assure you that our expectation is equal to yours. I can assure you that your concerns have not fallen on deaf ears and that we will address them accordingly.
We are in the process of replacing the flooring in the rooms one at a time as the lament didn't hold up as well as we expected.
There is a setting in the rooms that controls the heat pump versus the baseboard heat, maintenance is checking to make sure all rooms are set on baseboard heat as that is our best source of heat in the winter.
Could you please give us a call at 1-800-565-2668 to further discuss your water issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2019

I stayed at the Clansman last week when I couldn't get a room in Sydney because the Scotties Tournament was in town. I'll be staying at the Clansman on all my trips to the Sydney area from now on. The room was clean and very comfortable. The food in their restaurant was great and very reasonably priced and their staff are exceptional. It's everything I look for in a motel, plus they have the restaurant. Very convenient.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarksmith2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra A, General Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We always appreciate hearing back from our customers. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you will be back! That's the greatest compliment. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews