We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Steve G
Stettler, Canada

Clean & quiet

Review of Ray Lyn Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 28, 2022via mobile
Stayed here on a motorcycle trip for one night when it was baking hot out.
Sunny at the front desk was very friendly at check-in and when we got to our rooms the a/c was running so that was already a plus.
Room 38 is huge, clean, and quiet even being just off the highway.
The beds are unbelievably comfortable, clean, and have new bedding.
We would stay here again and as a bonus there’s a pretty decent steakhouse/pub just across the road.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • BestWestern.com
    C$167
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Ray Lyn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$236
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Ray Lyn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$127
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Ray Lyn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fireside room with river view
Vio.com
    2.2 km from Ray Lyn Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Lol.travel
      9.0 km from Ray Lyn Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Front
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Vio.com
      • Lol.travel
      4.0 km from Ray Lyn Motel
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • eDreams
      • Vio.com
      9.1 km from Ray Lyn Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      1.9 km from Ray Lyn Motel
      Vio.com
        11.3 km from Ray Lyn Motel
        Expedia.com
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Booking.com
        • ZenHotels.com
          C$207
        • Hotels.com
        5.3 km from Ray Lyn Motel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Trail
        Reviews (33)
        Filter reviews
        33 results
        Traveller rating
        9
        12
        3
        4
        5
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        Traveller rating
        9
        12
        3
        4
        5
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        3 - 8 of 33 reviews
        Reviewed September 9, 2021 via mobile

        Nice accommodations with an excellent rate. Super friendly owners who care about their customers. We enjoyed our stay. The room was large, clean and well appointed. It has a restaurant across the street and is super close to the main part of town.

        I would stay here again for sure.

        Date of stay: September 2021
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank ghuizer
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

        The Ray Lyn is newly owned by a lovely couple. It is slowly being renovated. But it is VERY reasonably priced, VERY clean and quite. Owners are friendly and hard working. It’s older, been here since I can remember but will be our go to place to stay now!

        Date of stay: August 2019
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank 512deidrek
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed July 13, 2019

        Had seen this place on TripAdvisor but did not book ahead. I showed up without a reservation looking for a single for one night. No problem.

        The motel has a couple of sections - I was in the back, the part you cannot see from the road. There was parking right in front of the unit.

        The unit had been re-done - the room was not really large but was nicely decorated, a newer bathroom, flat screen TV, coffee maker and fridge. The bed was a bit soft for my likeing but not too bad.

        The room was quiet even though there were other guests in adjacent rooms.

        The price was OK, WIFI was reliable. No breakfast etc.

        The only down side was that there are not many restaurants close by. Other than the one right across the highway, you have to drive down hill into Trail or uphill into Winfield or Rossland. Both Trail and Rossland/Winfield are not walkable.

        Room tip: Rooms in the back section would have less road noise.
        Date of stay: June 2019
        • Trip type: Travelled solo
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank EdS172
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed July 11, 2018

        My husband and I recently had to cancel our four-night reservation at the Ray Lyn Hotel in Trail, because of a health problem. We cancelled after the deadline for free cancellation. The hotel kindly waived the one-night fee for a late cancellation, even though they had already had to turn other business away, because our booking had blocked others from coming to them. I certainly hope they were able to rebook our room, and I feel they acted in a kind and ethical manner in this case. I recommend them highly for this reason.

        Date of stay: July 2018
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank O953XMjulies
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed May 9, 2018

        we arrived via motorcycles. the reception was very friendly and accommodating. we got a decent room with our bikes parked right out side. it is a quiet setting despite being near a highway. it is across the street from the Benedicts Pub and Steakhouse - a good place to eat. the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. would definitely stay there again.

        Date of stay: April 2018
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Sleep Quality
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank kevin s
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews