We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but AC failure made it unbearable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, but AC failure made it unbearable”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I stayed here in July 2010 for business. It was a nice hotel, clean and tasteful, with free WiFi. I was going to stay a week, but after 1 day, I checked out and had to leave. The air conditioner was on, but it could not keep up with the 42 degree+ (celcius) temperature. The air conditioner would cycle on, but cycle off before the temperature was reduced enough to make it comfortable. I had a really bad sleep. Trail is a very hot place in the summer, and I think it's unacceptable to have weak air conditioners.

Rather than change rooms or take my chances with another night at the Best Western, I just moved to the Prestige Inn in Rossland. Less than 10 minutes away up the mountain, it was a much nicer hotel. Better view, more reasonable temperature.

I can't really fault the Best Western for being in a hot area in summer, but the lack of dependable A.C. drove me off. I'm sure in a less hot season it would be fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toondawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewRogersGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
Dear Guest:
I am disappointed that our property failed to meet your expectations. I can assure you that we take all of our guest comments to heart and use them to make continuous improvements. Next time you are in Trail, I would like to invite you back to the hotel. We look forward to meeting all of your expectations. Again, thank-you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    87
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
48
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Stayed for just one night but had a fabulous stay. Very clean hotel and quiet!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0rna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Traveled to Trail for a wedding, Hotel was nicely updated, free wifi. quiet for the most part. We asked for recomondations for breakfast in the morning and was told there was not much open except there attatched resturant. Food was very good at the resturant but over priced and service in the resturant was painfully slow, even thou there was only my wife and I and another couple in the resturant. My wife asked for a half order of Oatmeal and received that, but we were charged the full price on the bill. Coffee was see thru
Recomend the Greenwood resturant for breakfast. Older style motel and resturant but food was awesome. The resturant was packed.

Overall the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpfull. Will stay there again when in Trail

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbey_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This was surely the most average hotel room I have ever stayed in. There was nothing wrong with it but it felt like it had been designed by a 1980s computer programme. I literally could have been anywhere. Aside from the room the staff were friendly and the breakfast and food in general quite good. The town itself is tiny but there is one good restaurant that the hotel staff will recommend.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Blankko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Valley, B. C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Best Western Terra Nova is a very nice hotel in Trail, which honestly does not have much in terms of accomodation. Comfortable, clean with a small but good workout room.
Hotel restaurant is good.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EastKootenayVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This will have been at least my 4th stay at this hotel that I can remember right now. This hotel is great. You really can't go wrong staying here. There are other options around town. There is another one downtown, but its not as safe feeling or nice looking. A couple up the hill. Overall, nothing majorly wrong here. Minor things come up, as with any other hotel. Each place has its own set of quarks if you really think about it. They will promptly fix any issues you may have. They even upgraded the TV's since I last stayed and they mounted them on the way. I was way super impressed! So they are slowly working on the place and making it better. The bed was clean, soft and comfy. Even got 4 pillows! When I arrived, they lowered my stay by $20 a night. I was extremely impressed and happy with that. They deserve the Best of the Best BW rating I think.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2010

If you are travelling through trail, I would highly recommend this Hotel. The rooms were sparkling clean, food was excellent and the staff friendly. A nice, quiet place to stay if you are travelling on business. The bedding was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barney686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trail
2.4 km away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
6.8 km away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
22.6 km away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#3 of 8 in Castlegar
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
7.7 km away
Casa Alpina
Casa Alpina
#4 of 4 in Rossland
51 reviews
1.4 km away
Ray Lyn Motel
Ray Lyn Motel
#3 of 3 in Trail
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
Address: 1001 Rossland Ave, Trail, British Columbia V1R 3N7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Trail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the mighty Columbia River in the West Kootenay region of British Columbia, Trail is a special place of international sport and civic pride, of natural beauty and industry. You will find our award winning boutique hotel downtown in the heart of Trail's business district - your own personal oasis and a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trail
Trail Best Western
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Trail, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing