We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth and seamless”
Review of BC Ferries

BC Ferries
Book In Advance
More Info
US$163.90*
and up
Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour from Vancouver
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BC Ferries provides passenger and vehicle ferry services to 45 ports of call across coastal BC, with sailings to and from Metro Vancouver, Vancouver Island, the Sunshine Coast, the Gulf Islands, and Northern BC. BC Ferries Vacations also offers over 100 travel packages, including return ferry and accommodation. When on board BC Ferries, there are plenty of options for food and shopping, along with great wildlife and sightseeing opportunities.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We really enjoyed to take the BC ferry from and to Vancouver from Victoria. Easy booking, short waiting time and nice on-board amenities. The journey lead us nearby islands and Canadian scenery. Included the mandatory horn-blow, which blew my ears.....by the way. Very professional!

Thank ThomasRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to review our service.

I am glad that you have been impressed with our efficiency when it comes to loading and unloading of the vessel. It is great to hear that you were able to see the beautiful west coast scenery!

We look forward to welcoming you and your dog aboard again in the future!

Kind regards,
Amanda - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,108 - 2,112 of 3,423 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

An essential service that's trying to be a cruise ship and gift shop. Over bloated management has cause prices to jump 300% over the last 6 years.

2  Thank truckogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Truckogre,

I am sorry to hear that you have this perception of our company.

In regards to fares, as BC Ferries is contracted by the Province of British Columbia, our fares are regulated by the BC Ferry Commission. For more information and details about our fares and the structure of BC Ferries, I would recommend looking at the BC Ferry Commission website.

Kind regards,
Amanda - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

If you are travelling with a pet, be prepared to have the most uncomfortable experience.
You are not allowed to be on the passenger deck so they put you in this little tiny room downstairs on the vehicle deck. The room smelled so disgusting I couldn't even breath!
You don't have a view of anything except the vehicles downstairs and
The wifi didn't connect.
We are paying the same amount of money as everybody else but have to travel in way more discomfort and can't use any of the activities upstairs!
BC Ferries should really think of making it more comfortable and nicer for those travelling with pets especially for the price that we are paying.

2  Thank Valentinata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Valentinata,

I am sorry to hear that you have this perception of our company.

Please know that we value customer feedback and take your comments seriously. If there is a specific experience that you would like us to further review, please email customercare@bcferries.com so that we can follow-up.

We hope that your next experience with us is a more positive one.

Kind regards,
Amanda – Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

I took the ferry to Pender Island and found it very efficient. The ferry left on time at both ends of the two islands.
It was a very comfortable ride. One could look out and see the gulf islands in the distance.
The staff were friendly.

Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Penny,

Thank you for taking the time to review our service.

It is great to hear that you were pleased with the comfort and efficiency of our vessel. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the beautiful west coast views, including the Southern Gulf Islands. We certainly appreciate your kind words in regards to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you onboard again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda – Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Stranded in Vancouver international airport, due to fog. Instead of waiting for the plane, I rented a car and drove to the ferry. The ferry was clean and the staff were friendly. Seats were very comfortable.

Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Philip,

Thank you for writing a review of our service.

I am glad that you were able to travel with us under the unforeseen circumstances. It is great to hear that you were impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of our vessel.

We look forward to welcoming you onboard again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda – Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BC Ferries also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Port Hardy, Vancouver Island
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to BC Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing