We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sidney
from US$101.00
More Info
from US$256.70
More Info
from US$426.60
More Info
Reviews (3,972)
Filter reviews
3,671 results
Traveller rating
1,705
1,185
443
147
191
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,705
1,185
443
147
191
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swartz bay vancouver island prince rupert white spot inside passage ferry system mini cruise sunshine coast powell river ferry service ferry trip loading and unloading active pass pacific buffet salt spring island comfortable seating smooth ride
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,671 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Just finished our return trip to Victoria on BC ferries. Found the food on the ferry to be hot and tasty, limited, but good coffee. Love to sit and watch the water and the islands go by, so peaceful.

1  Thank marianandlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi marianandlloyd,

Thanks for your review!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the crossing to and from Victoria. As we strive to serve a variety of high-quality meals on board our vessels, I'm glad to know you enjoyed the food! I agree--watching the views go by is so relaxing and peaceful.

We look forward to welcoming you aboard again soon.

Sincerely,
Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The views are breathtaking. You can relax and enjoy. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The crew told us when there were whales surfacing so we could all enjoy. The hostess in the cafeteria was warm and friendly and took our orders individually . The shop on board had a unique selection of gifts.

Thank twindates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi twindates,

Thank you for sharing your kind review.

Personally, the fantastic scenery and vast coastal landscapes never cease to amaze me. Staff are always excited to be able to announce wildlife sightings such as whales or dolphins; passengers are always more than thrilled with the outcome! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the service provided on board in the Coastal Cafe and that you were able to check out the unique selection of gifts available for purchase in the Passages Gift Shop.

Looking forward to welcoming you aboard soon!

Kind regards,
Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

When you live on an island the ferry is very important. I always enjoy the ferry, unless there is a big delay. Reservations make it much easier to plan trips. I especially like an occasional free senior day, BC senior only. I find the food fairly good. The ice cream is delicious! I also like the gift shop. As often I am a foot passenger I do wish there was a better system for the Blue Bus ie West Vancouver Bus. Overall great service on the ferry.

1  Thank 255Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi 255Barbara,

Thank you for taking time to share your review of our services.

I can relate as I also live on Vancouver Island-- reserving travel, especially during the summer or holidays, is an excellent idea in order to avoid potential sailing waits. It's super easy travelling as a foot passenger, though, and reserving travel in advance is not necessary.

My all-time favourite snack has to be the soft-serve ice-cream as well-- it's just so good! The Passages Gift Shop sells wonderful gifts that are suited for all family and friends, and it's great to be able to browse BC books during the crossing too.

We look forward to sailing with you next time.

Best,
Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

We have travelled to Vancouver Island a number of times. The way we get there is The Ferry. We left Tsawwassen a few minutes late. No big deal. The food on the Ferry is okay. We ate The Clam Chowder. It was good. We find the food prices expensive. They even charge for the packets of crackers. I found this a bit of a gouge.

Thank Naj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Naj M,

Thank you for your review!

It's simple and efficient to travel to Vancouver Island from Tsawwassen (South Vancouver) as there are two arrival destinations: Duke Point in Nanaimo and Swartz Bay in Victoria! As we strive to provide delicious and high quality meals on board each and every sailing, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the clam chowder (a fan favourite!).

We look forward to sailing with you again soon.

Kind regards,
Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

You really need to know how to search ferry schedules to find your way around. There are through fares and some priority boarding for connections. It is often difficult to find out how/where to buy a ticket, i.e. if you transfer from Salt Spring to the mainland you need to buy one ticket ON the Fulford ferry where you normally don't buy any tickets... From Long Harbour you should always reserve since they tae 100% bookings and it is free.

Thank Margriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Margriet R,

Thank you for your review.

Another great way to travel from the mainland to the Southern Gulf Islands is by travelling via Swartz Bay (Victoria), also known as a Thrufare. This route aims to give customers another option for extra travel times and can work wonders if the route directly to/from Tsawwassen is very busy. If you're having troubles understanding the schedules and what times are best, you are welcome to contact our Customer Service Center and an agent will be more than happy to assist. As well, if there's any confusion when travelling, a staff member is able to help. As you mention, the route between the Gulf Islands and Tsawwassen are 100% reservable, however, there are no extra costs when making reservations!

We look forward to welcoming you aboard again soon!

Warm regards,
Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best way to travel to get to Victoria. Excellent ships with great facilities, food and seating. The views during the sailing are spectacular.

Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Christine B,

Thank you for your five star review!

Travelling from Tsawwassen (Vancouver) to Swartz Bay (Victoria) is super simple and quick; only a 1 hour and 35 minute crossing! As an islander myself, I travel frequently and I always find it difficult to choose which meal to eat as there are so many delicious options! Enjoying a Crispy Chicken burger from the Coastal Cafe and watching the views go by is my favourite way to spend time on the ferry.

We look forward to welcoming you aboard in the near future,

Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The ferry is ok, food is alright but really could be better. I am very happy with how well they sort recycling and food waste/compostables! Waiting for ferries though is ridiculous, it's a total gamble without a reservation and they could use some kind of better system to track busy times so they could implement additional sailings. My suggestion as Van Isle resident; make a reservation if you plan to travel Thursday, Friday afternoon/evening, Sunday any time and even Monday can be nuts.

Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Sarah O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I'm happy to hear that you are impressed with our recycling and waste management on our vessels as the environment and minimizing our footprint is very important to us.

It's definitely getting busier and busier on our routes between Vancouver and Vancouver Island, and travelling with a reservation is a great way to ensure a spot on your desired sailing. At this time, we are operating as much as we can with the vessels we have, but we are looking to procure 5 new vessels in the future to assist with the increase in volume.

We look forward to sailing with you again soon!

Best,
Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Their is no expectations any time you travel with them. Sometimes it’s a total desaster. It’s not clean and the staff can be so rude.

Thank georgia005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi georgia005,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I'm sorry to hear this has been your experience when traveling with us. With the nature of ferry travel things unfortunately can and do happen, but know we always strive to provide the very best service we can. As we strive to provide both a safe and comfortable crossing for all of our passengers, the cleanliness of our terminals and vessels is very important to us. Although we clean and maintain our passenger areas on a regular basis, the high volume of traffic can sometimes cause some areas to become dirtied shortly after a staff member has attended to them. If when traveling, you notice an area that requires attention, please notify a crew member or the Chief Steward immediately and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you aboard again.

Kind Regards
Alex - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently travelled extensively in coastal and northern BC and used BC Ferries several times. All sailings were professional, safe and on time, including our Inside Passage from Prince Rupert to Port Hardy in early October. It is highly recommended to book early, so we submitted a reservation request in late March which then had to be transformed into a confirmed booking. After submitting the reservation request BC Ferries let us know that due to a systems upgrade the confirmation would take several weeks, but after several mails and no response it took them 5 (!) months, the worst reservation experience we have ever made. It is very difficult to plan a journey on these grounds.

Thank 726johannesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi 726johannesk,

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed sailing with us in coastal and northern BC as we strive to provide consistent, professional, and reliable service. I sincerely apologize for your experience when trying to reserve your trip on the Inside Passage for travel in October. With the introduction of a new reservation and payment system in April, along with mechanical difficulties with our Northern vessels, reservations on the Northern Routes took much longer to process than we originally planned. We recognize how frustrating this must have been for you when trying to confirm other crucial travel plans and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the near future.

We are glad to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we lived on Vancouver Island, we used BC Ferries often. Maintaining a regular schedule with weather challenges is not easy but the ferries are well run. The little shop is a bit expensive as to be expected but the food is good and so is the service. I really enjoy the ferries.g

Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Sales and Service Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Wayne W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review!

I'm happy to know that you enjoy the service we provide and appreciate the sailing schedules, as we strive to provide consistent and reliable service for customers travelling to and from BC's coastal communities. I'm also glad to hear you like the food served on board in the Coastal Cafe; next time you travel, make sure to try the Crispy Chicken burger!

We're glad to hear from you.

Sincerely,
Melanie - Customer Care
BC Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews