We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel(Sidney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites(Sidney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Maison Aupres De La Mer B&B(Sidney)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites(Sidney)(Great Value!)
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
31
9
3
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
9
3
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslieutenant governorsummer homeunder new managementfreshly baked croissantsworking harddelightful breakfastvancouver islandvalentine's dayshort noticebritish columbiacontinental breakfastvictoria airportfrancishostsmarinasuitefurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 48 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2015

this Inn was built in 1926 and has old victoriana charm. If you are looking for modern steel and glass, this is not the place for you, The Latch and it's owner/ hosts offer quiet graciousness and old world charm along with clean comfortable rooms and excellent food

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coastalroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2015

My husband and I spent 3 nights and LOVED it! The friendly host couple run the B & B and restaurant downstairs, and were very accommodating. The building is tucked back behind some condos and a marina, and the rooms overlook the harbor. Latch Inn is on the list of historical places and not full of fancy amenities, but is full of charm, warmth and antique beauty. Lots of woodwork and carvings and interesting decor down and up stairs. We had the WC Nichol Suite, which is one of the smaller rooms, but it still had plenty of room with a small couch, table, chairs, and a queen bed. No fridge, but the hosts provided coffee, tea and ice out in the large comfortable lounge area. There were quality linens and a very comfortable bed. Our room had original wall panel paintings signed by the artist. The bathroom is small, and hot water took awhile to get to the shower, but it met our needs. Our only complaint would be that just one window had a screen, so because there's no AC we opened windows to get a breeze and gnats came in. We also had no access to the wraparound porch.
The continental breakfast in the AM had a fresh fruit plate, croissants, muffins, toast, juice, homemade jams, yogurt, tea and coffee served in the restaurant downstairs.
The hotel was very quiet, even when there were restaurant guests. On our last full day the hosts told us they were going smelt fishing, and that evening they brought a plate of fresh fried smelt to our room. When we and another hotel guest had early flights, the hosts left us food so we could eat.
I can't say enough about how special these folks are, and what a treat it was staying at the Latch Inn. If ever in Sydney again we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2015

We stayed at The Latch Inn on our last night on Vancouver Island, choosing it for its location close to the airport. Had we realized it was such a unique spot, we would have stayed longer and used it as a base for exploring Victoria and the surrounding area. The hosts were friendly and welcoming (even though we arrived close to 10:30 at night) and served us a delicious breakfast (fresh-baked croissants worthy of a Paris bakery, good coffee and a plateful of fresh fruit), accompanied by stories of the house's unique history. Our room was immense, with two balconies overlooking the harbour, and a very large, immaculate private bathroom. Full of antiques, interesting paintings, photographs and knick-knacks, this is a place well worth a visit for those who enjoy something a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SeeTee-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2015

We spent one night here. The place was away from the city and difficult for us to find without a GPS. The note on the door advised to come through the basement to get key. We were taken upstairs to our room. The first thing I noticed was the smell as we walked in the building, like dust and old. The room was clean and the bathroom was new, beds ok. We were told we could make coffee in a common room. The coffee was old as the flavor was gone. This room had dirt on the floor and needed attention to the room. The place was quiet on a dead end street. One side has a harbor view of a boat storage area. The other side has a water view. Not sure if the other rooms had the view of the water. Breakfast was a fruit tray, homemade yogurt, coffee, toast and homemade croissants.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2015

My wife and I recently spent our Memorial Day weekend abroad (if you want to call it so). We stayed at The Latch. Room was spectacular with lake-view balcony, fully supplied bathroom. The dinner was just truly a trip down the Italian Lane: no menu, we let the hosts create a meal for us. Savory cold cuts with home made mozzarella, followed by a crab risotto that was second to none, closing with local fish cooked with an array of vegetables. To top it all off, Luigi opened a great bottle of Brunello di Montalcino (Luigi and Valeria, the hosts, have a long history of Italian cooking). Breakfast was just amazing with their own jam. If you are going to venture in/around Victoria or Vancuver make sure you pay a visit to this great Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews