We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Views”
Main deck with sweeping views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main deck with sweeping views
Hot tub with incredible views Main deck with sweeping views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
Main deck with sweeping views
Hot tub with incredible views
Main deck with sweeping views
Main entrance on lower level
Living room with views
Living room with views
Living room open plan
Main dining room open plan
Full and modern kitchen
and modern kitchen
Master bedroom upper main floor
Master bedroom upper main floor
Main floor bathroom
Main floor bathroom
Second bedroom upper main floor
Second bedroom upper main floor
Family room on lower level
Third bedroom lower floor
Third bedroom lower floor
Second bathroom
Second bathroom
Exercise room
Washer and dryer
Hot tub with incredible views
Hot tub with incredible views
Hot tub with incredible views
Incredible views from property
Outdoor shower
Main deck with sweeping views
Incredible views from property
Incredible views from property
Incredible views from property
Quiet sitting space on property
Steps to oceanside balcony
Ocean side balcony down below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rick K
Stewart, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and poor customer service”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I booked this property for a week stay, but upon seeing the state of the property, left after one night. It had not been well maintained or cleaned thoroughly before our arrival. The main floor of the house was okay. The furniture was very old, the carpet was stained, and the downstairs was dirty- there was even leftover food on the floor from previous tenants. For over $1,700.00/ week, we would at least expect a clean house. After refusing to issue us any sort of refund, we ended up booking a property through Life's A Beach rentals, for about $300.00 less and got a new, exceptionally clean home that was perfectly furnished.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
This review is completely false. We believe it is possible this guest booked another property in a different community on Vancouver Island and had no intent to stay for a week in this terrific property. This guest stated they needed a place close to the Victoria Airport to pick up their daughter flying in the next day. We believe this has the appearance to get a free place to stay overnight and and made the complaint due to the fact we have a no refund clause of unused days or early departures.

This guest decided to flip a couch in the TV room and look for what he called "dirty" proof. He sent us a picture of a couple pop corn kernels that may have been missed or had fallen through or could have been put there by this guest. We had told this guest we would send over the cleaner right away to review his complaint and fix it. He just left the property giving us no chance to verify his accusations while he was in the property or fix it if it were legitimate. He called our office at the minimum 8 times threatening staff and demanding his money back on the day he left. Our staff felt threatened by his aggressive and bullying demeanor to the point of contemplating the calling of the police. He threatened them he would come into the office to get his money.

Our head cleaner and another staff member came to the house to review it and found nothing wrong with the cleaning and the house was in good order. Even though there was nothing wrong with the property cleanliness we instructed the guest we would issue back his cleaning fee. He wanted to know how he would get it back. We said we would put it back on his credit card. He then told us all of his credit cards were missing and now canceled as he just lost his wallet. We found this odd and suspect has credit card fraud attempts in the past have tried to have us provide money back in cash or cheque rather than to the credit card used.

We have kept one of his very threatening voice mails where he stated if he didn't get his money back he would leave bad reviews about the property everywhere. We have seen a practice in the past where unprincipled guests attempt to use Trip Advisor as a weapon against accommodation providers for discounted stays or even free ones. Our company does not provide discounts to false accusations especially when the guest was as threatening as this one was. Even if this guest had a valid case, he did not allow us to verify and rectify the situation.

This property has many great reviews on our own website and HomeAway where most of the reviews reside.

Too bad these guests can not be rated as well. Do not book them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimGinBla...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Oceanfront Escape is very well situated close to the seaside town of Sidney. The Ocean views are breathtaking and the house itself is very comfortable and well equipped. The rental contract requires you to check in with a 'greeter' at a specified time, which is a bit of a pain, and I felt the suggestion to tip the greeter was a bit unnecessary. Shortly after we completed the check in process we discovered that the TV wasn't working, so we called her and she, somewhat reluctantly, came back. After an hour of trying to sort it out, to no avail, we were told they would contact the home owner and get him to sort it out. We heard nothing for a couple of days so we called back, because now the fireplace wasn't working either, and again were told that they would contact the owner. Later that day a relative of the home owner arrived and fixed the fireplace and he promised to call the owner to sort out the TV. Finally, a week after we arrived, the owner's nephew dropped by and he quickly sorted it out. Aside from these issues, we did enjoy our stay very much though. The peace and quiet is just what the doctor ordered and you will never tire of gazing from the decks at the views, with abundant wildlife, marine life and boats, coming and going across the bay. Sidney is a short drive away and has plenty of shops, cafes and some very good restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
Thank you for your terrific review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelTip...
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great views, onerous rental agreement”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I booked a week here and stayed with friends and family in September 2012. The four of us found the house clean, spacious and well situated. The highlight of our stay was the large, south-facing deck where we enjoyed spectacular views of the nearby marina, neighboring islands and sea life. We were captivated by a couple of beautiful sunsets and sunrises, and gazed at the stars while soaking in the hot tub after dark.

The house has three bedrooms and two large bathrooms with full showers. Two bedrooms are on the main floor (one is a fold-out double bed in the study), the third has twin beds and is located on the lower floor with a mini kitchen, entertainment room and walk-out to the hot tub. The hot tub is clean and well maintained. It overlooks the ocean from a more private location below the main sun deck.

The house is close to Sidney, Butchart Gardens and nearby beaches, but not within walking distance. If you want to explore, shop or walk along any of the large beaches in the vicinity, you’ll need a car to get there.

Although we enjoyed our stay, I found the onerous, one-sided rental agreement detracted somewhat from the overall experience. In fact, it was the source of a fair bit of stress and several questions throughout the booking process. I have stayed in other rental properties and never experienced anything as strict as this one.

We paid top price for our stay and were surprised when the final documents suggested tipping the greeter who basically meets your party, does a quick walk-through and turns over the keys. The same greeter, who was very pleasant, returned at check-out time to walk through the house and recover the keys. We pointed out the lack of bath/shower mats and the missing bathtub plug. We forgot to mention that the propane tank was not connected to the barbeque and was likely empty. I suggest future guests ensure the propane tank is full and connected to the barbecue prior to confirming their booking.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The ocean views
Liked least: The rental agreement
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. We are glad to know you enjoyed the property. We hope very much to see you again in the future. Please come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing