We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sam M
Winnipeg, Canada

Poor cleanliness/Friendly Staff

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 5, 2013
I stayed at the Traveller's Rest Motel on Aug 29, 2013 and found the experience quite dissatisfying. Although it is a motel and most people would say "you get what you pay for," I have to say that Ive stayed at better ones that get 5 stars.

Now, the positive feedback:

-Friendly manager who showed me the couple of rooms available, which looked fine at a glance

Improvements:

-CLEANLINESS: Bed shoes had hairs and furniture was dusty, thus, sheets need to be changed every time the room is rented and furniture needs to be dusted here in then

Lastly, although they advertise "free internet," this one didn't work. I could probably let this one slip since you are in a mountainous zone.
Date of stay: August 2013
Room Tip: Ask manager to show you the room and check for things like clean bed sheets
Trip type: Travelled solo
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$279
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$279
4.9 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
C$312
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
6.2 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$156
C$147
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$147
  • Trip.com
0.0 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$160
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.7 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$229
  • Fairfield Inn
    C$229
5.6 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
  • Algotels
5.7 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
6.8 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
8.5 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Office
    6.8 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Salmon Arm
    Reviews (28)
    Filter reviews
    28 results
    Traveller rating
    6
    1
    4
    4
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    6
    1
    4
    4
    13
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 28 reviews
    Reviewed August 17, 2013

    I recently had the pleasure of staying at the travellers rest. As mentioned prior, the room was very basic but the new manager was very consciousness of our needs: ensuring we had ice for drinks, clean towels and enough coffee for our early morning departure!! The room was very clean, especially the bathroom, and shower which was very important. The highway is right out front which can be noisy but with chairs to sit outside and fresh mountain air, it can't get better than that. I will definitely be stopping in to this hidden spot next time I'm in BC; I appreciate developing a relationship with the hotel manager rather than just being another tenant in a motel!!Thanks Kelly!

    Room tip: I would be specific on what you are looking for, the manager was very accommodating to our needs
    Date of stay: August 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank TayaNaples
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 16, 2013

    My kids and I stayed there this past week and had a great time. The room was clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. The new manager went out of her way to ensure we had everything we required, and her friendliness and big smile made us very happy we had chosen the Traveller.s Rest Motel. The Motel is a little older and basic, but has everything you need for a comfortable stay, and the new management is certainly doing what it takes to make it better. I would recommend this Motel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable and friendly place to stay.

    Date of stay: August 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Jerry D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 14, 2013

    My family and I stayed at the Travellers Rest motel this past weekend and had a great experience. Our room was clean, comfortable and very well maintained. The new management is doing an excellent job, and any inquiries we had were met with genuine concern for our comfort. This motel is working hard to pick up their reputation and I would say that are succeeding vastly. The rooms are basic, but if that's all you're looking for, this motel has my full recommendation.

    Date of stay: August 2013
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    3  Thank Lindset
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed April 26, 2013

    we had a great time.we was with family and room rates were so reasonable.everything was well positioned.service was really good.location is quite good far from city so you can enjoy some peaceful family moments.looking forward to come back again and surely gonna recommend to friends nd family.

    Date of stay: April 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank darren1150
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed April 20, 2013

    This was my worst experience in a hotel. The room was dirty, there were hairs in the bed, the blankets were stained. The kitchenette had very few dishes, and what was there were filthy. The coffee cups were stuck to the cupboard, and one had ashes in it. The pullout coach was full of bugs. The staff was unavailable most of the time, and were unwilling to assist. Do not stay here.

    Date of stay: April 2013
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Cybelle S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews