We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rana S

Good place to stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 20, 2014via mobile
I was very happy with the service and the room, it a good place to stay, there's a beach 2 min from the motel and also a golf course across the street. I will come back again.theres also a great corner store 2mins away with great prices and liquor. This motel is better than most motels that I've stayed at.
Date of stay: May 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$298
C$258
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$258
  • Priceline
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$258
4.9 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
C$320
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$320
  • Algotels
    C$275
  • Hotels.com
    C$320
6.2 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$249
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$249
  • Hotels.com
    C$249
  • Priceline
    C$249
5.6 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$250
C$206
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$206
  • Hotels.com
    C$206
  • Priceline
    C$206
7.4 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$148
C$128
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$128
  • Priceline
    C$128
  • Expedia.com
    C$128
4.7 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$195
  • Priceline
    C$195
  • Agoda.com
    C$195
  • eDreams
    C$195
19.3 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Sized Bed
C$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$155
  • Vio.com
    C$155
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$154
19.8 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paradise Motel
C$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$198
  • Priceline
    C$209
  • Hotels.com
    C$198
20.0 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$278
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$258
  • Priceline
    C$258
20.7 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$177
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$177
  • Vio.com
    C$177
  • Agoda.com
    C$177
21.9 km from Traveller's Rest Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Salmon Arm
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
6
1
4
4
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
1
4
4
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 28 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place is the last motel headed East toward Alberta so rather than head back into Salmon Arm we decided to stay. One of the notes posted to the office door said knock on room #9 - a very messy, smokey room with a DRUNK guest who says he is the new manager. He took us inside the office, behind the counter in the laundry room! and wanted us to leave our credit card number with him, NOT! We gave him cash! Isn't there a law about the type of people who collect CC numbers?!!

This is the most run-down, poorly maintained accommodation I have ever seen and should be condemned by the city! Apparently the city of Salmon Arm doesn't respect it's tourists too much! There is mouse feces in the utensil drawer, water problems, mushrooms and the walls are paper-thin! Poor Business Practices!Disgusting!

Room tip: Do yourself a favor and stay!
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is the worst place I have ever stayed under no circumstance will they give your money back includeing bugs in the room illegal and unsafe kitchenetts a raw sewage pipe burst the smell was awful and there was no water for over 1 day so no showers or toilet flushing fungus was growing in the bathroom its right on the highway so its very loud both adults and childeren were pepper sprayed do to one unsatisfied man not being given his money back over the sewage incident. This hotel is awful and about a 5 min drive away from salmon arm it is not the cheapest place to stay even though they say it is.. In two weeks my beding and towels which were soaked after 1 day and would not dry due to the hummidity and the inabillity to leave the door open due to noise bugs and smell were changed only once,, and only at my request...Which took 7 days because the manager is lazy (has notes in the kitchen saying if you don't wash the dishes you use you'll be charged for excessive clean up) there was no one in office, nor would anyone answer any of the phone #s posted of which most did not work. Just do yourself a favor and stay as far away from this place as possible. If I could rate this place any lower I would !!!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaMike69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the Traveller's Rest Motel on Aug 29, 2013 and found the experience quite dissatisfying. Although it is a motel and most people would say "you get what you pay for," I have to say that Ive stayed at better ones that get 5 stars.

Now, the positive feedback:

-Friendly manager who showed me the couple of rooms available, which looked fine at a glance

Improvements:

-CLEANLINESS: Bed shoes had hairs and furniture was dusty, thus, sheets need to be changed every time the room is rented and furniture needs to be dusted here in then

Lastly, although they advertise "free internet," this one didn't work. I could probably let this one slip since you are in a mountainous zone.

Room tip: Ask manager to show you the room and check for things like clean bed sheets
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the travellers rest. As mentioned prior, the room was very basic but the new manager was very consciousness of our needs: ensuring we had ice for drinks, clean towels and enough coffee for our early morning departure!! The room was very clean, especially the bathroom, and shower which was very important. The highway is right out front which can be noisy but with chairs to sit outside and fresh mountain air, it can't get better than that. I will definitely be stopping in to this hidden spot next time I'm in BC; I appreciate developing a relationship with the hotel manager rather than just being another tenant in a motel!!Thanks Kelly!

Room tip: I would be specific on what you are looking for, the manager was very accommodating to our needs
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TayaNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My kids and I stayed there this past week and had a great time. The room was clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. The new manager went out of her way to ensure we had everything we required, and her friendliness and big smile made us very happy we had chosen the Traveller.s Rest Motel. The Motel is a little older and basic, but has everything you need for a comfortable stay, and the new management is certainly doing what it takes to make it better. I would recommend this Motel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable and friendly place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews