We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
140
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel rooftop terrace upstairs lounge mini bar never stay anywhere else two nights in a row exposed brick wonderful addition hot tub hotel owner granola top floor heart of downtown nice feature local tips british columbia beautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were stunned by this ultra-stylish and welcoming hotel in the appealing British Columbia town of Revelstoke. A married couple (Stephen & Rebecca Jenkins), relocated from Seattle, have spared no expense in transforming a sturdy old downtown building into a hotel that seems transported from some hipster haven like Portland, Oregon. Bare concrete walls, recessed overhead lighting, ultra-posh linens, a perfect bed with a handsome decorative wool blanket and a high-tech bathroom with a turbo-charged hair dryer are just some of the features that stood out to us. But perhaps most surprising of all: A mini-bar that features tasty local treats and top-end drinks all at such moderate prices that one is left with sticker shock. Don't mind if I do....Nothing seems to have been left to chance at this hotel or over-looked when it comes to comfort or style. There is even a spacious top-floor lounge open only to guests where the delicious free breakfast is served and there is also access to outdoor seating and large hot tub with panoramic views. The lounge includes bookcases filled with art, history and style books that invite browsing, although the big screen television seems decidedly misplaced since the TV-addicted can surely watch in their rooms. Every staffer we encountered at Explorers Society, as well as its fine restaurant, was personable and helpful. When I walked into the restaurant to make a reservation for dinner, the woman at the front desk suggested having drinks and an appetizer delivered to the top-floor lounge prior to dinner -- yes indeed! A very nice touch. Revelstoke seems to be on the rebound these days as a ski and outdoor destination with its glorious setting of river and mountains. But the Explorers Society Hotel surely deserves considerable credit for the important part that it is playing in Revelstoke's revitalization. One final tip for future guests: We were upgraded from a heritage king room to the largest suite in the hotel, perhaps in part because of our Seattle connection, but mostly because we had booked through the hotel's website and offered some favorable comments about the hotel prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah J, Owner at The Explorers Society Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for this very thorough and informative review of your experiences staying with us. You are an excellent story teller! Your comments will be helpful to future travelers considering a stay or meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn’t fault this hotel at all! It’s an amazing place to stay in Revelstoke! All staff were helpful and polite. Room was superb! The little touches to the hotel really made it. Netflix was in our room and was free of charge which is a first and such a nice touch! The bed was amazing and so comfy! Not a bad word to say.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah J, Owner at The Explorers Society Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms comfortable. We designed our beds to deliver restful and restorative sleep for our active "explorers" that visit us. Glad you found them so comfortable. Like you, we also enjoy "binge-watching" Netflix before going to sleep! So much better than standard television. Thanks for reviewing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in October while exploring this part of the Rockies. A great little boutique hotel, well thought out and really comfortable rooms. Right in the heart of town, walkable to everything and a short drive to several trails and activities.

The staff is super helpful and very eager to share local tips. One team member suggested a hike at nearby Moses Falls which was gorgeous.

Breakfast is yummy and if you enjoy bagels, the ones they get from the local French bakery are awesome! The common space/rooftop lounge is a nice feature and hot tub was awesome on a cold night.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LeftCoastTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah J, Owner at The Explorers Society Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thanks for visiting us and experiencing Revelstoke in the Fall! We're very happy you enjoyed our boutique hotel, our breakfast and roof lounge, and your interactions with our hotel employee team. We hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Charming hotel with amazing breakfast in the heart of town. Amazing views all around and scenic walk to Columbia River. The staff were incredibly helpful and courteous. The room was clean and modern. Highly recommend it!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ShashiNMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah J, Owner at The Explorers Society Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thanks for your recommendation. We're glad you enjoyed your room, rooftop breakfast, and interactions with our hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

I booked this hotel based on reviews and we were absolutely delighted with our experience. We reserved the corner room and found it to be extremely comfortable. We were just sorry our stay was for only one night while enroute from BC to Banff. Revelstoke itself is a quaint town, and this hotel seems perfectly suited to the mountain atmosphere. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was enthusiastic and professional, for both check in and check out. The breakfast was lovely on top floor and we also enjoyed visiting the "lounge" on top floor after our dinner. Parking was handled by staff at check-in, and ready for departure when we checked out. The room amenities, such as shampoo and robes were all top of the line. The shower was great and the bed was probably the most comfortable of our 3 week trip. We ate at the hotel restaurant which I have reviewed separately but want to note here, as we were delighted with both hotel and restaurant. You won't regret booking a stay here!

Room Tip: Corner Suite was quiet, large and sunny when shutters were opened.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CA_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah J, Owner at The Explorers Society Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thanks for this very thoughtful review! Super helpful for anyone learning about our boutique hotel and spending time in our fantastic mountain town. We look forward to welcoming you again (hopefully for a multi-night stop!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews