We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okanogan September Road Trip 2016, Day 4”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel
Ranked #12 of 20 Revelstoke B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I found “ Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn “ on the Internet. After reading reviews and viewing pictures on their site, I booked the “ Eagles Nest “ . Rene was indeed gracious to allow us to rebook as weather changed our plans.

We called at 18:00 to announce a tardy appearance allowing us to dine in Revelstoke, arriving about 20:00 in the dark. Greeted by Rene, he showed us to our room, however upon arrival and viewing our accommodations, we were concerned the web pictures did not accurately portray the room nor the facility we had selected. A bit uneasy that night, the bedding smelled fresh, however we discovered some unexpected natures additives in our sheets and signs of extended usage of bedding, where items should have been replaced. The water on site is not recommended to drink, bottle water is provided. The sign announcing the advice may be better located in front of the sink rather than to the side as we missed it initially and Rene did not mention that at checkin.

The new day, allowing sunlight to better illuminate the facility, confirmed it was a wilderness retreat with natural beauty, accompanied with unexpected experiences.

Morning breakfast suggested a European theme, ample and enjoyable. We enjoyed conversation with the other guests at the property from Holland.

The facility has its beauty in surroundings, and in its day, possibly a gem. It now appears to suffer from maintenance and update issues that have taken a toll over the past years, understanding that returning the facility to its luster would be time consuming and costly.

Rene, a Swiss native is passionate about area, nature, and the facility he and his wife own. We truly applaud his knowledge, dedication and love of the facility.

We had reserved and paid for two nights upon arrival, but decided the B & B would not permit an extended stay based upon our observations. I politely asked what the policy was for refund, where Rene commented reimbursement was not possible. He would honour a future booking for ourselves or friends if we returned at a later date. As the Inn is “ FOR SALE “, not something we were aware of at time of booking, I am not sure how that might be accommodated should we ever decide to return.

Building and maintaining our own home, I understand rural properties and their challenges. We are familar with the ongoing upkeep as we also live in a rustic setting with nature at our doorstep and have so for many years. As we age, those chores become more difficult and daunting.

Our thanks for suggesting a dinner location in Revelstoke, it was an interesting choice.

We wish you all the best in selling your property and moving towards new adventures in life.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Property is located about 25 kilometres out of Revelstoke, so no restaurants close by to eat for tea, not even any food or drink facilities close by. Owner was flustered and unorganised we we and other guests arrived at their preferred book in time of 15:30. Breakfast was average and again was not ready at the owners pre-arranged time of 08:30. Bedrooms were out dated with very basic ammenities and an extremely small ensuite. No facilities to make your own hot drink. It was a struggle to get just a pot of black tea. Games Room down stairs was dark, cold and uninviting. Saying all that, at least we did get to see a Black Bear on the driveway on our way back after eating out in Revelstoke. Next time we would not bother to stay in Revelstoke at all, or would not recommend this accomodation to others, best advise is just drive on through to the next location.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodMartin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I Spend 3 days and 2 night, and had the time of my life! I loved the pool outside. Amazing staff with a great seance of humor. Breakfast at 8:30am was well organized and yammi. We followed the advised of the host and went to the near by waterfall and to check out the super big trees (as seen in pic section). This is a 5 star place! I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: bring swim wear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We had a wonderful room with a view of the mountains and the river. We stayed at the Inn for a total of 16 days. The time of year (March 5 -22) did not allow us to use the snowshoe trails etc. But with no snow there was ample areas to walk about and enjoy the beauty of the acreage It was a little inconvenient as it was 25 minutes from town.
The breakfast was excellent, we prefer a simple meal and that is what we received. One of the managers is a chef and he prepared a great lamb dinner for us on our anniversary! The lodge is somewhat dated, but has a wonderful character that more than makes up for any short comings, The bed was very comfortable and room was very cheerful! The hosts were very accommodating as we were ill for our last 5 days and they went out of their way to accommodate our needs for extra meals.
We would recommend this unique Inn to our friends and would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weswind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times now and am never disappointed. Beautiful location with a stunning waterfall. Food is terrific and Rene and Connie are knowledgeable kind hosts. So much to do in the area. There is a mountain bike cross country ski are within minutes. Skiing, water sports all within a short distance.
This place is quiet, lots of flowers, beautiful gardens and fruit trees.
Fully run off a decade old hydro plant from the waterfall.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank cheeno2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Everything was fine perfect hostfamily we Come aß gaest and Leave aß Friends.wunderful Area and Nice rooms Friends People we fehl very Welle herein and can really recommend for a long stay 3-7 days.also the smimming pool is great.the Service including the Good breakfast was fine.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ulbosshart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here two nights in the middle of July. Beautiful country mountain feel to it! The waterfall is also very fast and worth seeing. After enjoying some awesome treks in the Revelstoke National Mountain had a lovely relaxing afternoon lying back and enjoying the salt water pool... Followed by a nice hot tub in the evening! Breakfast is awesome in the mornings also! Although being some kms out of town id definitely recommend!!! Also for sale if you have a lousy 3m lying around and looking for a beautiful lifestyle!

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank misheej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Revelstoke
19 km away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 20 in Revelstoke
903 reviews
23 km away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 20 in Revelstoke
236 reviews
16.2 km away
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
#3 of 20 in Revelstoke
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
14.6 km away
Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast
40.2 km away
Halcyon Hot Springs
Halcyon Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Nakusp
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel

Address: 1220-4200 Highway 23 South, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Revelstoke
Price Range: $164 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet (16+ yrs) park-like setting with romantic chapel. Forested peninsula on Arrowlake. All rooms en-suite bathrooms, Honeymoon Suite; full breakfast included, gourmet cuisine for groups. Lounge, fireplace, library, billiards, darts. Sundeck, outdoor heated saltwater pool, hot tub, trails, 300 ft waterfall, free canoes, all quiet summer and winter sports (packages). Weddings, seminars, retreats, Xmas specials. Awards: several environmental and touristic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing