We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
19
19
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
19
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice breakfast one night stay there again muffins lobby highway motel fridge shower canada vancouver train
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Stoke Hotel is a unique boutique hotel offering affordable accommodation and pet friendly rooms. We were greeted by very friendly staff at the front desk and in the hotel itself. The hotel grounds are nicely landscaped and both the hotel and our room was very clean. The colour scheme throughout is funky (love the turquoise accents). The beds are really comfortable and the bedding is wonderful. Love the crisp sheets, puffy duvet and lots of pillows. The bathtub is a nice size and the shower was good. Cutest ever shower curtain in there too.
The hotel is located near the Columbia River and there was a nice walking trail along the river for our dog. The views of the river and mountains are stunning. It’s a short drive into town and there are many fabulous restaurants there to enjoy, as well as a large grocery store.
Continental breakfast is included from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. and we always get a kick out of the automatic one minute pancake machine! Topped with fresh strawberries, syrup and whip cream – great way to start the day.
They have done a good job of the recent renovations, but a little more attention to detail for the finishing touches in the room would be nice. There was an old defunct smoke detector no longer mounted correctly into the ceiling (there was another working smoke detector in the room), old and new switch plates, the ceiling in the bathroom was cracking and has an interesting stalactite look, the toilet seat was very loose, wires hanging around the TV and some random screws above the valance. Although the metal chairs in the room look good, they are uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time. Fabric chairs would be much better. A few hooks in the room are needed to hang jackets on, and in the bathroom as well for hand towels or cloths. The room was on the warmer side and the halls are very stuffy. I’m sure all these issues will be addressed in time.
We will be back to the Stoke Hotel! It’s affordable, clean and the staff are friendly. Thanks for a great stay! Cheers.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 533kells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, General Manager at Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so thrilled to read about your stay! Thanks for providing such a detailed review. We understand that this is time consuming and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you so much!! :) We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed overnight on the way to Calgary. Initially, although the room was quite small, it appeared updated. However, the shower was poorly designed, with a very low lip, and the shower curtain was too short, allowing water to flood the floor. We also encountered a large horde of sugar ants, which was very unpleasant very early in the morning. Management was most understanding however, and comped the room. The breakfast was fine, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank michaelbkolsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, General Manager at Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are very sorry to read this review and that we did not meet your expectations. We are also disheartened that our efforts to remedy the situation was not enough. If there is anything we can do to make things better for you now, please do not hesitate to call us. We would love a chance to talk more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Recently spent a night here on route to Kelowna! The hotel is very welcoming with great staff and modern rooms!
Its close to the town centre and other attractions! Would highly recommend a stay here, if you are looking for an overnight pit stop!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank beads85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, General Manager at Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Thanks for the awesome review on Stoke Hotel! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us again soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel and stylish reception area.

Rooms were modern and clean.

We accidentally left our iPad in our room before travelling on to Banff and the hotel (thanks Jeannie- you were great) arranged to have it sent on to us via courier.

Amazing!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hmsy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, General Manager at Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words on Stoke Hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us and we agree, Jeannie is truly a gem to have on our team! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

How this place can describe itself as a boutique hotel beats me! This was just another boring motel with brick internal walls painted white, like zillions of others all over the place... the staff were lovely, super friendly and helpful and it is just off Highway One.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Escape796015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, General Manager at Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

We apologize that our hotel did not satisfy your expectations. We strive hard to provide simplicity and value for our guests and we are sad to hear that was not noticed. We are happy that you thought our staff were lovely and friendly! Thanks for providing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews