We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hribard

Awesome Beach Vacation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 12, 2021
Sunrise Ridge is a great property located on one of the best beaches in Canada! We spent a bunch of time skim boarding, swimming, beach combing and taking pictures of the local wildlife ie Herons, Bald Eagles etc. The resort has a pool and the rooms are spacious and have all the amenities of your own home. The rooms were very clean and were excellent for a family of five and a dog (we managed to rent a pet friendly room which made the trip even better). There is an outdoor pool located centrally in the resort which is an excellent feature and not easy to find in other Parksville rentals. The staff at the resort was excellent, very friendly and helpful. The one area that they could improve is end of the path from the resort to access the beach needs to be made more accessible.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review
Responded Jul 13, 2021
Hi DarkoDurden,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It sounds as though you had an outstanding vacation enjoying a number of outdoor activities in Parksville. We are pleased to that that you were able to benefit from our pet-friendly suite.

We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort in the future.

Warmest regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$421
C$349
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
4.1 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
C$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,375
C$259
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
4.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
close to everything !
C$188
C$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
2.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$278
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$266
  • Booking.com
4.8 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance for foot traffic from Resort Drive
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Coast Parksville Hotel Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$258
  • Official Hotel
    C$299
4.6 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfortable bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$274
  • Expedia.com
    C$319
4.2 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • eDreams
4.8 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Parksville
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
178
115
54
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
115
54
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor fireplace beach access hot tub one bedroom suite full kitchen washer and dryer long weekend vancouver island beds were very comfortable one night stay rathtrevor beach rathtrevor provincial park view of the ocean get away beach front tigh na mara bbq
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 399 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2021

The unit was so hot and an AC unit that didn't work we left after 2 days of our 5 nite booking. I asked about AC when the booking was make and told the unit had AC. The AC unit was a window type in the living room that did not cool. It was old and the maintenance people even said it needs replacing. Had to check to due to not being able to sleep. The unit itself was ok, with adequate amenities. This place would be good for families with small children, but would not recommend for an adult quiet getaway vacation. On a positive not, all staff that we interacted with were very friendly and accomodating to our needs. The manager was very kind. Time share owners of these units should have standards that should have to be met.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2021

Hi grg1,

Thank you for taking the time to supply your feedback regarding your recent stay. While are delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and accommodating, we are very sorry that you decided to leave early.

While we do our very best to ensure all items in each of our suites are in working order, we do experience some unexpected malfunctions.

If you would like to further discuss this matter with our General Manager, Tara Ryder, please feel free to contact her by emailing tryder@truekey.ca

We hope this experience does not place us in your permanent disfavor and we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort.

Warm Regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2021

Its too bad that our stay at this beautiful resort was ruined by some of the resident owners of adjacent units.

Unfortunately, the resort allows its long term condo owners to pretty much do what they want, including playing loud music late at night. We called repeatedly to the front desk, to be told that "there was nothing they could do, because they are owners".

There were lots of available units in the resort, but they put us directly below a resident owner, who were know to the resort staff to always have loud parties and music playing.

When asked about compensation for the sleepless night, the resort offered to waive the cleaning fee for our stay.....$25

We won't be staying at this resort again

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gboyachuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2021

Hi gboyachuk,

Thank you for taking the time to detail some of your experience. As per our conversation, we look forward to the opportunity to provide you with a future stay and experience at the Resort as it should have been on your last stay.

The concerns you have published have all been brought to the Strata managers and our Strata Council’s attention and they are working on resolving this issue.

Warm Regards,

Tara Ryder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2021

The room was very cold on arrival, and was barely warm the next day with the infloor heating. The front desk staff member came to make sure the heater was turned on and said the room would take quite a while to heat up; knowing guests are coming you'd think the heat would have been turned on a bit. When we asked about a room change, we were told other rooms would be at about the same temp. There was only one chair in the room, a tall sofa table, 2 bedside tables. No table suitable for eating at, surprising since there is a kitchenette. There was a kitchen sink, but no dish rack, dish cloth or towel; when asked, the front desk gave us a cloth & towel. One packet of regular coffee for a multi-day stay, front desk gave us more. Bedside light wall switch only on one side of the bed. There was an adjoining entry way which was quite noisy. No closet, just a small wardrobe suitable for shirts, but nothing longer. One mirror in the bathroom, no makeup/magnifying or full length mirror. Large balcony. Very large shower. Hot tub was out of service. Beach access down a gravel road. As others have mentioned, the beach nearest the access is full of boulders.
Would not stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanTravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2021

Hi CanTravel12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort. We are disheartened to hear that certain elements of your stay took away from your overall experience.

UPDATE: After some investigation from our guest services team, we found that you booked your stay privately through AirBnb. We couldn’t move you to another room because your reservation was through a private owner who rented their suite on their own and your booking was not through our resort rental program.

We always recommend reserving directly, this gives customers and our team more flexibility to help guests when there are issues, cancellations or changes. We also offer a greater selection of room types that are not available through 3rd party bookings and you’ll often find our rates are much more competitive.

Again, we are sorry to hear about your experience and wish you well in your future travels.

Warm Regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2021

Loved the beautiful accommodations, hot tub and all within a short walk to the ocean!
The contactless check in and covid measures were terrific.
Huge shout out to our wonderful front desk attendants Robert and Michael. They made sure our stay was comfortable and gave great local suggestions for dining and touring.
The only tiny improvements would be a king size bed in our unit and the beach access could use some enhancements.

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank CheriandKenHann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2021

Thanks CheriandKenHann,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted to hear that you felt our enhanced health and safety protocols were 'terrific.' I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Robert & Michael.

Warm Regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2021

Beach access to one of the best beaches on Vancouver Island (Rathtrevor Provincial Park). Room very comfortable with excellent amenities. Kitchen best stocked I have every seen. Fitness room, pool and hot tub adequate.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H0lidayMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2021

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort!

While we are delighted that you felt as though your room was very comfortable with excellent amenities, we are disheartened to hear that you thought that our amenities were just adequate. We welcome the opportunity to hear your feedback on how you feel we can improve the amenities at our resort. Please contact our guest services team at reservations@sunriseridge.ca or by calling 1-877-977-8669

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Cheers,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews