We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
september6
B.C.

Not Waterfront as advertised

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 16, 2021
Sunrise Ridge Resort is a lovely Hotel however they advertise it as waterfront their property runs to the water front but you can not see the water from the Hotel. You have to go down a fairly long gravel road to access the water They have a couple of condo's on the waterfront but you better make sure you are getting those if you are expecting waterfront. It is really false advertising. We went for a week and were very disappointed. Our next trip we stayed at the Beach Club which is truly waterfront.
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review
Responded Jul 19, 2021
Hi September6,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate our customers opinions and apologize that our Resort didn’t meet your expectations.

You are correct, the main lodge is not located on the waterfront. Our resort site is located on 10 acres, and as with many larger resorts some units are closer to the water than others. We do offer rooms with full or partial ocean views, and our Waterfront Villas look directly over the Strait of Georgia.

We hope you took some positive memories away with you as well from your visit.

Best Regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$349
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$349
  • Agoda.com
    C$254
  • Expedia.com
    C$349
4.1 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Coast Parksville Hotel Exterior
C$299
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$299
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$269
  • Official Hotel
    C$299
4.6 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
close to everything !
C$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
  • Priceline
    C$179
2.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,395
C$259
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$259
  • Hotels.com
    C$259
  • Priceline
    C$259
4.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Some rooms with two beds, some with kitchenettes. Free internet.
C$169
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$278
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$278
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$245
  • Expedia.com
    C$278
4.8 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfortable bed
C$319
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$319
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$287
  • Hotels.com
    C$319
4.2 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
  • Vio.com
    C$179
4.8 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Parksville
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
178
115
54
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
115
54
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor fireplace beach access hot tub one bedroom suite full kitchen washer and dryer long weekend vancouver island beds were very comfortable one night stay rathtrevor beach rathtrevor provincial park view of the ocean get away beach front tigh na mara bbq
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 399 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2021 via mobile

Bad experience from beginning to end.
Too many things to complain about.
Huge construction site in front of some units.
Going full speed Monday to Friday.
Those units should be closed off and not offered to paying guests until construction has been completed!
Units extremely hot with a horribly noisy air conditioner only in living room and a poor fan in bedroom.
Bathtub had sand in it and was gritty to sit in.
Beach is completely non accessible with preschool children. You have to jump down from a cement retainer wall. Was a really rocky beach and very slippery because of all the seaweed on the rocks.
We had to drive to the nice sandy beaches.
We will not be staying here again.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank W4076BQalexandrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2021

Hi W4076BWalexandrab,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to share the details about your experience at our Resort. We are disappointed to hear that you found your stay to be less than exemplary.

We are saddened to hear that our efforts regarding the construction status were not prominent enough for you on our webpage and within written communications. Our team will review to see if we have opportunities to improve our information.

We would have our General Manager contact you directly but due to the nature of this platform, we do not have enough information to determine who you are or how to contact you. If you haven’t already done so, please contact our General Manager, Tara Ryder by emailing tryder@truekey.ca. She will be more than happy to speak to you about your experience and work with you to remedy the situation.

Warm Regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2021

Most importantly, this resort is on the farthest end of the beach where it is quite rocky and requires a steep and graveled walk down to the water. It is not pre-school child friendly or convenient to the resort, so if you're travelling with littles who need to be carried or helped when walking on uneven terrain I would not recommend this resort. The pool is nicely located to the units, so that was a good alternative, but we had imagined easier access to the beach.

Biggest annoyance was when we arrived we were given the key to our room for early check-in and upon entry the unit had not been cleaned. And I mean garbage on the floor, food on the counter, beds unmade/dirty and sand in the bathtub. Given the COVID cleaning requirements between guests, we were not impressed. They were able to put us in a temporary room while they sorted it out.

The other major thing with this resort is lack of maintenance/attention to detail. Given the price point to stay here you would expect things to be kept in high standard. Unfortunately a number of items were broken in our room including the bathtub hand sprayer, the faucet in the shower (fell off when turned on), the dryer lint trap was held on by broken zap straps and would fall off while in use, living room TV did not work and the advertised AC unit (which was only in the living room, not the sleeping spaces) was coming out of the wall, so if we didn't place it just so it actually blew hot air into the room. Additionally, as mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are very dark and poorly sound proofed, so if sleeping in, getting children to be early or napping during the day is a vacation priority I would not recommend. You can hear everything above and beside you.

Ultimately, our holiday was nice and none of the above caused major issues for us, but given the cost of this resort and the above issues I would definitely not choose Sunrise Ridge again.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 177phillippar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2021

Hi 177phillippar,

Thank you for choosing to share your candid remarks.

We are very sorry to hear of your experience in the Resort was less than exemplary. We strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectations and clearly, we failed for you in multiple points for this visit. We have passed on your review to our General Manager so she can speak to the housekeeping team about the cleanliness concerns you’ve raised.

Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort has ongoing refurbishment programs every year to keep everything looking up to date and rejuvenated. We appreciate the observations you have made, as it will help up to improve for future guests.

We would have our General Manager contact you directly but the limited resources on this platform do not provide us with enough information to determine who you are or how to contact you. If you haven’t already done so, please contact our General Manager, Tara Ryder. She will be more than happy to speak to you about your experience and work with you to remedy the situation. Tara can be reached by emailing tryder@truekey.ca

Warm Regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2021

Sunrise Ridge is a great property located on one of the best beaches in Canada! We spent a bunch of time skim boarding, swimming, beach combing and taking pictures of the local wildlife ie Herons, Bald Eagles etc. The resort has a pool and the rooms are spacious and have all the amenities of your own home. The rooms were very clean and were excellent for a family of five and a dog (we managed to rent a pet friendly room which made the trip even better). There is an outdoor pool located centrally in the resort which is an excellent feature and not easy to find in other Parksville rentals. The staff at the resort was excellent, very friendly and helpful. The one area that they could improve is end of the path from the resort to access the beach needs to be made more accessible.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DarkoDurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2021

Hi DarkoDurden,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It sounds as though you had an outstanding vacation enjoying a number of outdoor activities in Parksville. We are pleased to that that you were able to benefit from our pet-friendly suite.

We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort in the future.

Warmest regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2021

The unit was so hot and an AC unit that didn't work we left after 2 days of our 5 nite booking. I asked about AC when the booking was make and told the unit had AC. The AC unit was a window type in the living room that did not cool. It was old and the maintenance people even said it needs replacing. Had to check to due to not being able to sleep. The unit itself was ok, with adequate amenities. This place would be good for families with small children, but would not recommend for an adult quiet getaway vacation. On a positive not, all staff that we interacted with were very friendly and accomodating to our needs. The manager was very kind. Time share owners of these units should have standards that should have to be met.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2021

Hi grg1,

Thank you for taking the time to supply your feedback regarding your recent stay. While are delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and accommodating, we are very sorry that you decided to leave early.

While we do our very best to ensure all items in each of our suites are in working order, we do experience some unexpected malfunctions.

If you would like to further discuss this matter with our General Manager, Tara Ryder, please feel free to contact her by emailing tryder@truekey.ca

We hope this experience does not place us in your permanent disfavor and we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort.

Warm Regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2021

Its too bad that our stay at this beautiful resort was ruined by some of the resident owners of adjacent units.

Unfortunately, the resort allows its long term condo owners to pretty much do what they want, including playing loud music late at night. We called repeatedly to the front desk, to be told that "there was nothing they could do, because they are owners".

There were lots of available units in the resort, but they put us directly below a resident owner, who were know to the resort staff to always have loud parties and music playing.

When asked about compensation for the sleepless night, the resort offered to waive the cleaning fee for our stay.....$25

We won't be staying at this resort again

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gboyachuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2021

Hi gboyachuk,

Thank you for taking the time to detail some of your experience. As per our conversation, we look forward to the opportunity to provide you with a future stay and experience at the Resort as it should have been on your last stay.

The concerns you have published have all been brought to the Strata managers and our Strata Council’s attention and they are working on resolving this issue.

Warm Regards,

Tara Ryder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews