We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dramaguys
Lacombe, Canada

Identity Crisis

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 10, 2021via mobile
I feel like this place has an identity issue - it doesn’t know if it’s condos, an AirBnB or a motel/motor inn. We were invited to book a room with one of the condo owners. It was one of the “knock off” rooms do it was very simple - a queen bed, bar fridge, microwave snd single sink. There was a tiny table and two chairs - no space for anything else and a private bath. No maid service or cleaning service. Over $1300 for 6 nights which I thought was pricey.
The heated pool wasn’t heated - broken since June.
No air conditioning! Two large noisy fans were provided in the room. Construction blocked any potential view.
There is a path down to the ocean / when the tides out you can jump down a 3 foot wall and walk out on large rocks to the ocean. When the tide is in there is no access - just the wall stopping you from falling into the ocean.
All in all disappointing and I won’t stay again.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review
Responded Sep 16, 2021
Hi dramaguys,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort.

After some investigation from our guest services team, we found that you booked your stay privately through AirBnb. Your reservation was made through a private owner who rented their suite on their own and your booking was not through our resort rental program.

While we do our very best to ensure amenities within the resort such as the pool, are in working order, we do experience some unexpected malfunctions from time to time. We apologize for any frustration that this may have caused, however in this specific instance, the issue was out of our control.

We always recommend reserving directly, this gives customers and our team more flexibility to help guests when there are issues, cancellations or changes. We also offer a greater selection of room types that are not available through 3rd party bookings and you’ll often find our rates are much more competitive.

We hope that wherever your travels take you in the future that your expectations are fully met in every aspect.

Warm regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$349
No prepayment needed
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$348
  • Agoda.com
    C$248
  • Vio.com
    C$269
4.1 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
C$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
  • Hotels.com
    C$199
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$198
4.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Coast Parksville Hotel Exterior
C$299
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
    C$299
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$299
4.6 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,393
C$259
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$259
  • Hotels.com
    C$259
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$1,133
4.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
close to everything !
C$188
C$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$188
2.7 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfortable bed
C$319
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$319
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$274
  • Hotels.com
    C$319
4.2 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$278
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$278
  • Vio.com
    C$258
  • Hotels.com
    C$278
4.8 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
  • Vio.com
    C$179
4.8 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Some rooms with two beds, some with kitchenettes. Free internet.
  • Official Hotel Site
    C$169
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Parksville
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
178
115
54
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
115
54
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor fireplace beach access hot tub one bedroom suite full kitchen washer and dryer long weekend vancouver island beds were very comfortable one night stay rathtrevor beach rathtrevor provincial park view of the ocean get away beach front tigh na mara bbq
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 399 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2021 via mobile

If you're looking for a relaxing, affordable family hotel, I'd suggest sunrise is your spot. Accessible from Hwy 19, super convenient to rathtrevor park, your own private beach, local grocery stores and 30 min drive to other provincial parks. The pool is central to all the units and the beach is a 3 min walk from the property. It's actually the star of the resort as you can watch your kids from your room if they're old enough to go first. There's enough chairs and tables to enjoy and the hot tub comes in handy when it gets cool outside or in the pool.

Staff are friendly and amenities are a call away. We had some minor issues like a used towel and soap was not cleared from the previous guest, the towel hook fell, BBQ lighter was not fixed and toaster had to be held down to work but these were minor issues and we simply found our room relaxing.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Indotraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2021

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our Resort! We are so happy to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy the resort amenities during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Cheers,

Katie Wallace
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2021

When the pandemic hit us last year, we realized we needed to find a local vacation spot. Sunrise Ridge's 3-bed and 2-bed villas were selected for our family get-away. The villas offered us accommodations where we could drive up and unload without mixing with other guests. The view is awesome. The outside heaters helped to enjoy the evenings on the patio.

I recommend investing in water shoes, when the tide is out - the sand is full of shells. But with water shoes a family can play soccer or other type of sport on the sand. Not to mention hours of pleasant walking. My nephew and I walked from Sunrise Ridge resort to the Parksville Community Park where the rest of the family were enjoying time at the park. We loved our coastline walk. The location of this resort to kids' activities was a total bonus.

We found the place very clean and had everything we needed in the kitchen.

I cannot say enough about the staff - - they were fabulous and very professional! The staff (mainly Katie) responded to my many inquiry emails up until check-in. Sunrise Ridge send us an email in advance regarding the check-in and check-out procedure. Sunrise gave us a heads up regarding construction. And the construction did not affect our vacation in the least. They were also kind enough to mention their staff shortage and to be honest this also did not affect our time at Sunrise. NOTE: we have run into the same issues in the lower mainland, where businesses are having a hard time securing employees. Tara (???) was awesome and helped with resolving/finalizing the checkout bill.

The heater in the pool was not working, the part needed was on back-order however we understand these things happen.

The drive from the lower mainland to Parksville was so much easier than travelling to the Okanagan with young children.

I would definitely book this resort and the villas again. Totally recommend spending the extra money for the villas. Each bedroom had it's own adjoining bathroom. There was enough grass area for the kids to play while the adults sat on the patio.

I want to thank the staff for making our family get-away a success.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjarm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2021

Hi rjarm05,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy a family getaway in one of our waterfront villas.

We look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort.

Warm Regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2021

There is construction going on right now at this resort, but we still loved our stay! It's hard to walk to the beach, so I do recommend driving to Rathtrevor Beach if you stay here. What I really liked about it is that it's quiet, we had a kitchen and washer/dryer in our room, the pool and hot tub were so much fun, and the grounds were well kept. This is a very nice place to stay, absolutely!

Room tip: We liked the mainfloor room, as you can easily sit outside. It's good to ask for a garden view.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bibi569
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2021

Hi bibi569,

Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear that you loved your stay and enjoyed the amenities our resort offers!

You are correct, the bottom of our beach access can be a little tough for those who have mobility issues so we also recommend the access at Rathtrevor Beach, which is just down the road from us.

We hope to welcome you again!

Cheers,

Katie Wallace
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2021

Our room was very nice and clean. It lacked a few items, like regular coffee, dishwasher soap, extra toilet paper. Knowing the length of guest stay they could stalk the rooms accordingly. Good idea to have advance check-in but it was useless you still needed to check in for keys at the desk, and saved very little time. Times are tough and staff is short the cleaning ladies said they had 27 rooms to clean that day. Possibly with better management when times are so busy and under staffed, they could clean rooms based on time of expected arrival. If you know some guest will be arriving later than the 4 o'clock check-in you could get those rooms cleaned last. Also now bedding was found for pull-out bed, could have asked but chose to share from other beds.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go307745
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2021

Hi Go307745,

Thank you for choosing to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. While we are pleased to hear that your first impression was great, we are disheartened to hear that elements of your stay detracted from your overall stay experience.

For future reference, our reception is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for both complimentary room replenishments. One of our Guest Services Agents can be reached by dialing ‘0’ on your in-room phone.

We hope that you were able to take away some positive moments with your family.

Warmest regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2021

I would have given this resort 5 starts if I was basing my review on staff alone. They were amazing from start to finish. Mark made checking out a breeze. The main downfall was that the weather was quite hot while I was there and there is no air conditioning in the rooms. I was made aware of this prior to my visit, but had no idea how hot it really was in the rooms. My temp said 31 degrees. The staff did their best to accommodate me with a few fans to try and make it bearable. I would stay here again for sure, but not in the middle of summer, unless I could get a room with air conditioning.

Room tip: If you are travelling in the summer, be sure to find out if your room has a/c
Date of stay: August 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 783treasurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2021

Hi 783treasurers,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay.

When booking your next stay, we recommend booking direct as it gives our Guest Services team the opportunity to provide you information so that we can place you in a suite best suited to your preferences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort in the future.

Warm regards,

Rachel Aylesworth
Social Media & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews