We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marie J
Vancouver, Canada

Great little motel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 22, 2019
Visiting Vancouver Island and ended up in Parksville for the night unexpectedly. The Arbutus Grove Motel was a great find - the grounds are lovely (including the big black bunnies who seem to make themselves at home in the green grass!) and the motel is great. The room was exceptionally clean and the linens are like new
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this review
Responded Sep 23, 2019
Hi Marie,
I would like to thank-you for taking the time to write this great review for the Arbutus Grove Motel in Parksville. We always appreciate you letting others know about us. We put a lot of effort into keeping the motel and the grounds in top condition for the enjoyment of our valued guests. The bunnies appreciate it too. Thanks so much and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Coast Parksville Hotel Exterior
C$159
C$139
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$159
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
4.7 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$139
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$99
  • Hotels.com
    C$117
4.8 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$170
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$170
  • Algotels
    C$159
  • Hotels.com
    C$170
4.9 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfortable bed
C$159
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Agoda.com
    C$144
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
4.3 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$139
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$139
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$139
4.9 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$339
  • Agoda.com
    C$233
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$299
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$209
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$209
0.3 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$199
  • Hotels.com
    C$199
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
    C$399
  • Hotels.com
    C$399
0.5 km from Arbutus Grove Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Parksville
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
147
40
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
147
40
7
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 199 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2019

Had to book last minute on the labour day weekend. Found this place by chance. beautiful little motel. Well maintained, immaculate inside and out, pet friendly great hosts with pride in ownership showing in every detail. Did not gouge on price.

Room tip: All ground level great parking
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbgsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate you letting others know about your stay at the Arbutus Grove Motel here in beautiful Parksville. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Booked at last minute and was accommodated with a great room. Friendly owners rooms very clean. If you love coffee across the street is Serious Coffee which is fantastic. I would recommend this motel to anyone who has a pet.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jdag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Thanks so much for the great review. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Really enjoyed my stay at the Arbutus Grove Motel again. The staff at check-in was thoughtful, friendly and accommodating. The linens and towels always smell fresh and clean.The beds are comfortable and they have the best pillows ever. No stairs to deal with. Parking right in front of your room. Superior wifi and large flat screen TV's with lots of movie channels. But the best of all was all the little black bunnies hopping all around the property. This is my home away from home when I am in town.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Perri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about the Arbutus Grove Motel. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2019

We stayed there for a week while celebrating a friend's wedding. Many of the guests stayed at the motel. The first day we had a problem with a smell but the staff quickly dealt with the issue and it never recurred. The kitchenette was well-stocked and we were able to self cater easily. The only quibble we had was the sign indicating the entrance was not easy to see which lead us to drive by a couple of times until we got used to the location.

Room tip: This is an old-fashioned strip motel. All the rooms face the main road but it is quiet at night so location was not an issue.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rchernia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Thanks for the great review. We enjoyed having all the wedding guests stay at our motel. So glad everyone enjoyed their stay with us and hope to see you all again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2018

we had a very clean room, the beds were very comfy, the location was great and easy to find right on the main drag. the large front hedge blocked the traffic noise and added a quiet peaceful nights rest.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

Hi Lynn,
Thanks for writing this great review of the Arbutus Grove Motel. We work hard to provide our guests with a restful and enjoyable stay at our little motel. So glad to hear your comments on the cleanliness and comfort. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews