We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alofoz
Brisbane, Australia

4 stars for 3 star price and great views and staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 6, 2024
Great reception and helpful staff, comfy room and huge bed, beachfront views of the Strait. This resort has put a great deal of care into room refurbishment and upgrading, bravo. Now to finish the job the gym and pool need some new gear and repair of elliptical, exercise gear and cycles. Onwards. I’d recommend this well priced gear.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Ask for executive suite.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Terrillon, Marketing at Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Alofo for taking the time to leave a detailed review. We will take your notes to heart and discuss the rest of our upgrades. Glad you've enjoyed what we've done with the space up until now. Your recommendation means everything to us to thank you, hope to host you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$419
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$239
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$184
  • Destinia.com
    C$163
  • Hotels.com
    C$184
0.2 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Coast Parksville Hotel Exterior
C$269
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
    C$269
  • Expedia.com
    C$269
  • Hotels.com
    C$269
0.3 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$347
C$329
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$329
  • Tripadvisor
    C$329
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$399
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$399
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$399
  • Tripadvisor
    C$399
4.8 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$245
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$245
  • Algotels
    C$240
  • Expedia.com
    C$245
0.3 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$189
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$189
  • Hotels.com
    C$189
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
close to everything !
C$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
  • Tripadvisor
    C$179
2.0 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfortable bed
C$319
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$298
  • Destinia.com
    C$263
  • Expedia.com
    C$298
0.5 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Some rooms with two beds, some with kitchenettes. Free internet.
C$259
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$268
  • Agoda.com
    C$242
  • Hotels.com
    C$259
4.8 km from Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Parksville
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
133
156
76
33
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
133
156
76
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the bay an older property bald eagles an ocean view room room was spotless on site restaurant beds were comfortable an update qualicum beach ocean front vancouver island patio tide sand bc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 424 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2024

What a great find! We wanted a short getaway, and this was perfect. We booked the one bed suite (King executive). It was lovely and spacious, like a small apartment. Very clean. Although it didn’t have a kitchen, we had a bar fridge, sink, and microwave and lots of cupboard space. Luckily we had a picnic basket (plates & cutlery, bread knife, etc) in the car, so this is what I’d recommend if you want to make light meals. The staff were friendly and helpful and great amenities.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Terrillon, Marketing at Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2024

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the King Executive suite and found it spacious and clean. It's great that the bar fridge, sink, and microwave were useful for your light meals. We appreciate your recommendation to add cutlery into the rooms for added convenience. Our friendly staff and excellent amenities are here to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back for another perfect getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2024

Having seen an advertisement on TV for the Bayside Resort my partner and I decided to book a 3-night getaway at this resort. We phoned to make a reservation and were told that there was currently a promotion offering a 25% discount if we booked before the end of February so we took advantage of this and booked a pet friendly room with an ocean view. When we arrived to check in we were immediately impressed by the spacious and immaculate lobby and the staff at reception were very friendly and welcoming. We were given a room on the 2nd floor with an amazing view of the ocean and overlooking the hotel grounds. The first thing we noticed upon entering the room was the dog bed and water and food bowls that had been set out - that was a first. Next, the TV had been left on with some relaxing music playing which was another added touch. There was a king sized bed with lots of pillows and they even had an extra blanket stored in a cupboard, although we didn't need it. The bathroom was spotless and had all the little extra toiletries that you get at most hotels. There was a separate area that had a mini fridge, Nespresso coffee maker and kettle and unlike the Harrison Hot Springs hotel that used paper cups and powdered milk, the Bayside provided ceramic coffee mugs and real cream that was in the fridge. The corridors were quiet and we didn't hear any noise from any of the other surrounding rooms. The first day we arrived we decided to check out the restaurant for dinner. There had been mixed reviews as to the food and service so we went with an open mind. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful. We ordered calamari for an appetizer and I had the seafood linguine for my entree, which was delicious. My partner ordered the slow-braised short ribs. He hadn't had much to eat all day, so when his plate arrived he was disappointed in the small portion size. Although he said it tasted good he wasn't close to being full so he asked our server if he could get a side of pasta or something similar to fill him up. She was more than happy to check with the chef to see what he could do and shortly after came back to say they could give him a plate of linguine with some sauce, which he was more than happy to order. The resort offers 2 swimming pools - an outdoor one (which was closed for the season) and an indoor one that is partially covered and partially outdoors and they did have a hot tub which unfortunately is no longer in working order due to a leakage and age. They also had a reasonably equipped gym although we didn't take advantage of it. After talking to the staff we were informed that there are plans to update the outside of the building, fully enclose the indoor pool and hopefully replace the hot tub. We suggested that a sauna would be a great addition and they agreed! Compared to several of the other "resorts" in Parksville that we looked into, the Bayside far outweighed them in terms of views, accommodation and price and we definitely hope to go back again. and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone looking for a relaxing and comfortable getaway.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jet59571469181
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Terrillon, Marketing at Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2024

Thank you so much for your detailed and positive review of your stay at the Bayside Resort! We're thrilled to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your 3-night getaway, especially with the pet-friendly amenities and ocean view. It's wonderful that you appreciated the welcoming touches like the dog bed and food bowls, as well as the relaxing music upon entering your room.

We're glad to know that the in-room facilities, such as the mini fridge, Nespresso coffee maker with ceramic mugs, and real cream, met your expectations. It's also great to hear that you had a quiet and restful stay, without any disturbances from neighboring rooms.

Your dining experience sounds delightful, especially with the friendly and helpful service. We're pleased that you enjoyed your calamari appetizer and seafood linguine, and that the staff was accommodating with your partner's request for an additional side of pasta.

While we regret that the outdoor pool was closed and the hot tub was out of service, we're glad you found the indoor pool and gym facilities satisfactory. We appreciate your suggestions for future improvements, including the sauna, and we're happy to hear that the staff agreed with your ideas.

It's fantastic to know that you found the Bayside Resort to be a great value compared to other resorts in Parksville, and that you plan to return. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing and comfortable stay.

Thank you once again for choosing the Bayside Resort and for sharing your wonderful experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2024

Where do I even start…

Staff are amazing and super friendly. By happenstance they were outside when we arrived and greeted us by name (never been here before, but they just knew somehow)!

The room was also great (two queen). It overlooked the ocean and we had an impeccable view.

Overall the place was well kept and clean (resort and room itself). It was also not noisy (day or night) and we felt extremely relaxed.

We will definitely need to come back in the summer time!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kseb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Terrillon, Marketing at Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2024

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a perfect weekend getaway at the Bayside Resort.

It's wonderful that our staff made such a positive impression on you with their friendly and personalized service. We aim to create memorable experiences for our guests, and it sounds like we succeeded in making you feel warmly welcomed.

We're also glad that you enjoyed your room with the two queen beds and the impeccable ocean view. Ensuring our rooms are well-kept and clean is a top priority, so we're happy to hear that you found the resort and your room to be in excellent condition.

It's great to know that you had a peaceful and relaxing stay, without any noise disturbances, which allowed you to fully unwind.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer for another fantastic stay. Thank you for choosing the Bayside Resort and for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2024

After a fantastic night of pickleball (yup!) we went with friends to the lounge for a post-game drink. Anthony was the consummate host: chatting, friendly, personable and professional. Plus, happy hour to boot! It was a perfect evening in the perfect location with the perfect company and host!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Terrillon, Marketing at Bayside Resort Parksville, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2024

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our lounge! We're delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time after your pickleball game.

It's great to know that Anthony provided excellent service and made your visit memorable with his friendly and professional demeanor. We pride ourselves on creating a welcoming atmosphere, and it sounds like Anthony perfectly embodied that spirit.

Happy hour is always a special time, and we're thrilled that you enjoyed it in the company of friends at our beautiful location. Your kind words will certainly be passed on to Anthony and the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again soon for more happy hours and memorable moments. Thank you for choosing our lounge and for sharing your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2023

We stayed overnight at the bayside resort in Parksville and were very impressed. The room was spotless and well appointed, the bed comfortable and the view from the balcony was spectacular. The staff on reception and in the restaurant were outstanding; very friendly and helpful, as well as efficient. The food at dinner in the evening and at breakfast was delicious and delivered quite quickly. We will certainly stay here again when next in the area.

Room tip: Well worth booking an ocean view room
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews