We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$123
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skylite Motel(Parksville)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
The Beach Club
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbutus Grove Motel(Parksville)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Resort(Parksville)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort(Parksville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
375
163
23
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
163
23
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool viewthe managersthe kitchenbeach toystwo bedroom unitgrassy arearathtrevor beachtide poolslow tideclamsgreat familyget awayhot tubenjoyed our staystayed nightsthe ground floorhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 571 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

this place was OK for it's age. the places were in pretty good condition and well equiped, however no service at all. had to bring used towels to office to ask for clean ones. had to ask for more toilet paper. was told the place was on the beach, but was high up on a bluff over-looking the beach. don't be fooled by the description.

Room Tip: very loud equipment began outside our window at 7:ooam. did not get a discount. nasty.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Critict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We travelled to Vancouver Island in May and my cousin let me know about the Ocean Sands Resort after I had already booked an inexpensive hotel in Nanaimo. We looked it up on the internet are were very pleased with the options for accomodations and the off-season pricing. We did not need the pool as we were setting out to explore new territory and would not likely use it even if it was open at that time of year. Check in was a breeze and everything they said on the website and in the confirmation email was exactly as represented. We had a second floor unit immediately adjacent to the water. Wow. It was an incredible view and you can walk out to the tide pools when the tide is out. Perfect location to site seeing as well. The unit had two bedrooms. One had two double beds, and the other a queen size bed. The kitchen was well equiped with everything you would need to cook breakfast to a turkey dinner - very much more than we had anticipated. It clean and well decorated not dated in any way. Very short walk to our vehicle. It was close to drive to several beautiful sites, grocieries were available close by, and we went to very quaint restaurants in Parksville. The only negative was no BBQ due to fire risk I suppose. Ground floor units have them but it was not a problem as se only cooked in for breakfast and some lunches. Had we been staying longer a BBQ would have been great. I could sit on the deck all day reading a book and taking in the beauty of the ocean. We loved staying here and will return again to take in some tranquil times on the deck.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruisinGrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We just love this resort! We have stayed in both oceanfront and poolside units and really enjoyed both. The oceanfront units have a spectacular view! We stayed in the poolside units this last time and it was perfect to be so close to the pool in summertime with children. The units have everything that you need! The ones that we have stayed in have been recently renovated and they were quite nice. It was also great to be right next door to the Tigh-Na-Mara, which is the nicest spa that I've been to. You are a few minute walk to the spa from Oceansands, but you're paying a fraction of the cost of staying at the Tigh-Na-Mara. The front desk is run by a really nice family who were always friendly and accomodating. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Look at all the pictures of the units online to pick a remodled one.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcwinter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I took our two young children to Ocean Sands and we had a wonderful time...highlights for us were the pool, being close to nature (deer, bunnies, eagles), the beach where my son loved digging with his toys and flying his kite, and of course, the view! We also appreciated the spacious units, simple, yet tastefully decorated...a great home base for exploring Parksville. I loved the full kitchen and the staff there are also very helpful and friendly... we definitely want to go back! Families seem to have the units closer to the pool, and while the sound of kids playing does carry a bit, they are usually gone by 8 and the pool closes around then anyways. Couples and seniors may find the units directly facing the ocean more quiet, but it really was not a problem for us where we were. In June in BC, the sun rises very early (5:45), so we brought cardboard to black out our baby's room so he wouldn't wake up early...I'm glad we did! All in all, a very good trip, looking forward to going back.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank lullabuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Was not informed until we arrived that the pool and hot tub were both not available. While we were staying our dishwasher started leaking everywhere, and we ended up having to switch rooms. It took us an hour to move our stuff as we had unpacked for a 5 day stay, and we were not offered any compensation for the hassle of having to do so.

You are required to pay up front, probably because at the end of your stay you don't feel like paying.

It is noisy in the condos, you can hear the people above you walking around. For daily housekeeping costs $25 a day, which is not mentioned until your confirmation email- after you book, and to cancel requires 30 days notice.

Would not stay here again. The view was lovely, but there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SunkizzedSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanSandsResort, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Ocean Sands Resort made a decision to open the pool later this year due to the predicted poor weather and lack of use last year between May long-weekend and when the kids get out of school at the end of June. The opening dates are clearly posted on the web site as well as included in the reservation confirmation sent to every guest upon booking. The hot tub was open during the guests stay and I am unclear as to why they thought it was unavailable.

The guests reported the leaking dishwasher to our front desk staff. The front desk staff told the guests that we would immediately send over our maintenance staff to have a look. The guests declined having the maintenance staff enter their unit. Therefore, the front desk staff upgraded the guests to an oceanfront condo from their poolside condo to try and accommodate them.

We do not offer daily housekeeping in our advertised rates as we prefer to give our guests the option of having the daily housekeeping or saving the money. Most our guests prefer to save the money. This again is clearly posted on the web page as well as included in the reservation confirmation sent to each guest upon booking. It is because of this, we can offer the rates of $50/Night for a Two Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen, which is the rate these guests paid.

Our cancellation policy is actually 72 hours prior to check-in, which again is clearly posted on our web page as well as included in the reservation confirmation sent to each guest upon booking. Our cancellation policy is only 30 days during the peak summer season, which is pretty standard with our competitors in the area.

It is great to see they did enjoy the amazing views we have at the resort, which is the main reason guests decide to stay with us here at Ocean Sands Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews