We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing winter getaway”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We recently spent a week at Ocean Sands in blustery, "wet coast" weather and it was great. Clean, comfortable condo overlooking Craig Bay, long walks on the beach or under the trees at neighbouring Rathtrevor Park, warming up in front of a fireplace. Reasonably priced and well maintained. We'll go back again.

Room Tip: overlooking the water is worth a few bucks extra, especially in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were in Parksville putting on an art show for my wife, Jill Louise Campbell so did not get the ocean front room (there was a tsunami warning that night as it turned out). Our small condo type unit was OK but beds pretty hard. The two staff we met were on the bubbly side. I might try one of the Ocean front rooms next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

room 206 has the best view- a bit older decor, but its amazing -sleeps 6 pple no problem
Darcy and Kristy are Amazing and the hot tub rocks,, so close to town for food, shopping etc etc,,, wow wow wow

Room Tip: 206 best view- sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

What a great place to stay! From the reservation to the check out, the Inn keepers were friendly & knowledgable about the area. I had a wonderful stay. I loved the view and the room was clean and bright. With easy access to the beach I spent many of my hours combing the beach. I can't wait to stay again :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is an extraoridinary location. The oceanfront condos provide an intimate setting for business or pleasure. Centrally located within minutes of all that Parksville has to offer. Very clean and well organized. The Manager is friendly, attentive and very helpful. Spacious room complete with queen bed, cable TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free wifi, local calling. On site there is a kids playground, walking paths, sauna & hot tub, outdoor pool (seasonal) and an elevator from parking area. I really enjoyed my 2 day stay at this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We just returned from another stay at Ocean Sands and it was once again a great time. On the Labour Day weekend we stayed in an ocean front unit (#218). The view was terrific and the kitchen was incredibly well stocked. We love to cook and usually need to bring some of our own utensils and gadgets from home, but this unit had everything we needed and more. The two bedrooms gave us plenty of room and the beds were super comfy. Over the Thanksgiving weekend we stayed in a poolside condo (#24) that had ocean views. We loved it. The ground floor unit allowed our three-year-old to walk right out to the play area and the large green space. This is a big advantage when you have a kid on the move! Again, we found the kitchen to be really well stocked and the beds were great. While the decor is basic in most units, it's functional, comfortable and all you need to have a great time. The units we stayed in also had new gas fireplaces, flat-screen tvs, DVD players and wireless internet. While the location, beach and park-like setting are all great, it's the service that truly sets this place apart. So friendly and accommodating in a really relaxed, but also professional, way. This is definitely our pick for Parksville stays. Have fun!!

Room Tip: Check out the website for photos/bed configurations of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

we stayed there in September 2012 (just out of season) is was peaceful and pretty, the rabbits and deer came out and grazed all around. we stayed in unit 24 highly recommended for the view, although may be a bit noisy in the high season as it is near the play area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKDK72e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.9 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
585 reviews
120.9 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
4.9 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.4 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
4.2 km away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 km away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Parksville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#2 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $134 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing