We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value-beats Tigh-na-mara”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I don't usually leave feedback but I felt compelled to rave about this place. With 3 young kids, we thought this weekend was excellent. We are literally 100 ft from Tigh-na-mara. or twice the price, you get more. Our kitchen had a oven, stove, full fridge, dishwasher, vacuum when the kids trekked in sand. We stayed at 216 which from the pictures did not dissappoint. There is an elevator which we used to easily move our bags in. Tim at the front desk was VERY accomodating, always able to provide extra dishwasher tablets, plastic bags. They recycle paper, plastic, metal and glass which other facilities do not. Everyday our kids would walk downhill 5 minutes to the beach. our suite was very clean. Fridge looked like it was cleaned frequently and extra towels were always available. We had friends who stayed at Tigh-na-mara and they paid twice as much. our place was bigger and much brighter. Security was never a problem with special codes to get in and out. $1.25 (5 quarters) for a wash and dryer, important. The pictures at their website are recent and descriptions are accurate. Staff was professional. Grounds were well manicured. Bring a kite for kids and lots of beach toys. Fire place in the suite will keep you warm at night. Bring stuff to BBQ.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rutwalul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

I can't say enough great things about this place. We stayed over the Christmas week. The staff was always available and so helpful, the location was great, the suite was extreemly clean and the view was amazing. When they said "fully stocked" kitchen, they weren't kidding. There was every appliance needed, and then some. If we needed anything we just took a quick jog over to the office and was always met with smiling faces and alot of instant help. My son is four and he had the time of his life running up and down the beach. It was a 2 min drive to town for groceries or anything else we needed. Best of all, it was quiet! So close to town but so close to nature! At night all you could hear is the ocean, comming in from a city, this meant alot. Great value for your money. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ModelT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We just spent 2 weeks here in a lovely 1 bedroom condo - oceanfront, on the ground floor. It was perfect. Automatic replenishment of coffee, tea, salt, pepper, toilet paper, paper towels and garbage bags. Great access to a beautiful beach. Would love to stay here again. A great family spot.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merit51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Just spent 2 nights & 3 days at Ocean Sands Resort with my 5 year old and her Grandma and we had a great time! Very comfortable and well equipped accomodation (kitchen made food prep easy and reasonble in terms of cost), great pool and access to the beach (elevator takes you most of the way down the bluff!), and very helpful management staff. My daughter, Mother and I had a blast with the sun and surf, a holiday on Rathrevor beach is just the best, so restorative. Would definitely book this accomodation again, probably for longer the next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We stayed at Ocean Sands Resort over the May long Weekend. Wow what a fabulous time. We were ground floor poolside with our two year old son and had such a good time, it was quiet with beautiful garden, clean cool quiet rooms, with am amenities with in walking distance. The pool was heated and great for my husband and I as well as our son. Parksville town had a great park, but Oceans Sands does have one on site as well. Ate at green Sushi place on the old Island Hwy was great food, and kid friendly. Staff at Ocean sands were helpful will all our needs and we will be back to stay again. Oh! and the beach was great as well, much better than the public one.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGrantPortAlberni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I stayed at Ocean Sands Resort this past Victoria Day weekend and had a fabulous time. The relaxed atmosphere, open field, ocean views and outdoor pool were a few of my favorite things. Looking out of my condo seeing kids, young adults and older seniors sharing the same space playing with toys, bocci ball or just reading a book in the sun made me realize I had made the right choice in picking Ocean Sands Resort. I noticed another reviewer was down on the fact that you have to take your own garbage out and such, but one must remember that those things are why Ocean Sands is able to offer their great prices. The staff there, Kristy and Tim, were extremely friendly and helpful. I completely recommend staying here, and will enjoy vacations there for years to come. Well done!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cammie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

For the past two winters, my wife and I have abandoned the snowbird tendency to migrate south and have migrated west to beautiful Vancouver Island. We prefer to leave the cold winters in Alberta (February and March) and seek out a long term vacation resort which provides the comforts of home. Ocean Sands Resort is one of the most economical places to stay for a two month period. Having several different units to accomodate you, we prefer the beachfront condos which offer a spectacular view of the Straits of Georgia. Our unit which has been recently renovated, is very comfortable having two bedrooms with king and queen beds, hardwood floors, a cosy natural gas fireplace with comfy furniture to boot. The kitchen has all the amenities you could possibly want including the all important dishwasher. Each unit has a modest sized balcony with a table and chairs. In the three level complex that we occupy, an elevator is a very convenient feature, particularly those of us in our senior years.
For the two holidays we have spent here, the staff have been wonderful ensuring that our needs are being met. For example, this year our unit did not have a blender so I mentioned it to Darcy(manager) and the next day a brand new one was delivered to my door. Additional linen and towels were also provided for our lengthy stay.
One minor inconvience, is the sound-proofing between floors. Most of time it is quiet, but if a bunch of heavy walkers moves in above, you can hear their coming and goings.
We intend on returning next year and have already recommended to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeregrineSt_Albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
4.9 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
247 reviews
0.9 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
554 reviews
5.0 km away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,467 reviews
4.2 km away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 km away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: $170 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing